HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

Blue Plate Special: An Autobiography of My Appetites

av Kate Christensen

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
2181493,595 (3.45)9
"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap. A mouthwatering literary memoir about an unusual upbringing and the long, winding path to happiness. For Christensen, food and eating have always been powerful connectors to self and world. In this passionate feast of a memoir she reflects upon her journey of innocence lost and wisdom gained, mistakes made and lessons learned, and hearts broken and mended. And food-- eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it-- becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life.… (mer)
  1. 00
    Blood, Bones, and Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef av Gabrielle Hamilton (baystateRA)
    baystateRA: Food memoirs that both start out with the authors' relationships to their mothers and childhood family mealtimes.
Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 9 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 14 (nästa | visa alla)
This memoir made for both good reading and incredibly hard reading at the same time. The reason for this, I suspect, is that I might be too similar to the author and relate a little too much to her failing, her self-loathing, her struggle to find confidence in herself. This is an extremely honest memoir, and it makes for hard reading in the same way that looking in the mirror and acknowledging one's own faults is a hard thing to do. On the brighter side, like the author, I also love food and the descriptions of food here are amazing. Also, there are recipes! I actually tried the "Dark Night of the Soul" soup and it was wonderful. A good read, but know what you're getting yourself into before starting this one. ( )
  wagner.sarah35 | May 24, 2020 |
I have very mixed feelings about this. I was so horrified by the father's violence and then the abuse at the Waldorf School that I never quite got pas t that - so the NY years and the marriages all felt a bit like chatter and the food, totally trivial. I also read the essay she'd written for Elle about coming to terms with the abuse and how she didn't even realize the impact of it until after she'd written the memoir. So I mostly felt discombobulated and upset.

I'm not sure how much you really learn about her as a writer but as a survivor, yes. ( )
1 rösta laurenbufferd | May 19, 2018 |
I'm of mixed minds about this book.

It's very readable, and well-written with that as a criterion. The subtitle- "An Autobiogrpahy of My Appetites" is appropriate; her main appetites are food, lust, and writing. Christensen has lead a very eventful life, and her accounts of it are fascinating.

However- as she got older, but emphatically refused to gain insight into the same aspects of her life that were making her miserable, I grew impatient. Every new love is her Forever Soulmate!!!! until it blows up, of course. She seems like the sort of difficult person who enjoys being difficult; even as it makes her miserable, she will not consider another approach. She's stuck- and thus so are we, the readers.

The food writing- which I read this for- is excellent, and I am going to try several of the recipes. ( )
  cissa | Jan 18, 2016 |
I almost stopped reading this memoir several times, but something kept compelling me forward. The woman depicted here, though real, almost seems like a character from a novel (and indeed, though I have never read anything else by this author, her descriptions of her own fiction protagonists seem modeled on aspects of herself). Careening from adversity to
adventure and back again, at an almost dizzying pace, Kate Christensen's life seems like a whirlwind, informed by her relationships with food and the place eating has in her life. The book is punctuated by recipes for dishes that hold a particularly important place in her life. The straightforward manner of her prose is almost a little off-putting, as if she wants to recount as much of her roller-coaster life and intimate relationships while still keeping the reader at arm's length; an odd voice for such a tale. ( )
  karenchase | Aug 20, 2015 |
Author Kate Christensen's memoir of life growing up in the 70's and 80's, loving food, struggling with romance and sense of self, and coming to terms with her complicated interaction with family including a father lost to her while young. All of this strikes a resonant chord with me. While there are references to food and recipes throughout, this is not a 'foodie' memoir, a la Michael Ruhlman, Anthony Bourdain, Gabrielle Hamilton, et al. Food takes a subsidiary role, not a primary one. The focus here is largely on relationships and personal growth. I would love to read any memoir of her mother -- a fascinating character. ( )
  michigantrumpet | May 20, 2015 |
Visa 1-5 av 14 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap. A mouthwatering literary memoir about an unusual upbringing and the long, winding path to happiness. For Christensen, food and eating have always been powerful connectors to self and world. In this passionate feast of a memoir she reflects upon her journey of innocence lost and wisdom gained, mistakes made and lessons learned, and hearts broken and mended. And food-- eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it-- becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.45)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 21
3.5 4
4 20
4.5 2
5 4

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 157,051,302 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig