HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

Positively Izzy

av Terri Libenson

Serier: Emmie & Friends (2)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
2441082,762 (3.66)Ingen/inga
Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson. Middle school is all about labels. Izzy is the dreamer. There's nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. The downside? She can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done. Bri is the brain. But she wants people to see there's more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to "break out of her shell" and join drama club. The girls' lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.… (mer)
Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

Visa 1-5 av 9 (nästa | visa alla)
My review of this book can be found on my Youtube Vlog at:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aNoviqOja4

Enjoy! ( )
  booklover3258 | Oct 17, 2020 |
A readable middle school graphic novel hybrid featuring characters first introduced in Libenson's first book Invisible Emmie. I didn't think this one was as strong as the first and the twist ending here left me a bit confused. An enjoyable read but not as successful as the first. ( )
  scout101 | Sep 15, 2020 |
Izzy can't seem to focus on school but absolutely loves things that use her creative side, so she cannot wait for the school's talent show. On the flip side, Brianna is nicknamed "the Brain" and would much rather be studying than on stage. Both girls are put to the test when their mothers interfere and push them outside their comfort zones.

This was an engrossing middle-grade read that deals with a lot of common issues tweens deal with (balancing school work, making new friends, having crushes, etc.). It does so deftly, highlighting positive responses without being overly didactic. The two stories converge in an epilogue that is rather surprising. If you really want the big spoiler, here it is: It turns out the two stories are not happening simultaneously as the reader is lead to believe, and that in actuality Izzy is Brianna's mother. However, I think working towards that conclusion is much better.

The illustrations are great. I keep seeing this book referred to as a "hybrid" between chapter book and graphic novel, and that seems fair. Brianna's story is told more in a traditional comics panel style, while Izzy's story looks like a hand-written diary accompanied by some sketches.

This book is a sort-of sequel to Invisible Emmie, although I did not feel lost without having read that book prior. (There may be some Easter eggs that readers of both books might spot.) In terms of diversity, there are definitely secondary characters of color, although the main ones appear to be Caucasian. Izzy's mother is a single parent while Brianna is being raised by divorced parents. ( )
  sweetiegherkin | Nov 13, 2019 |
This was enjoyable for 2 reasons. The first reason was because of the message of friendships and the issues surrounding it as they focus on how to better understand others. For example, there is a pivotal moment in the book where the characters are working together by comforting and motivating each other through their hardships. It really allows the message of friendship and how to better understand others shine. The second reason why this book was so enjoyable was because of the illustrations, mainly the color. Terri Libenson does a phenomenal job of incorporating color to narrate different characters. It is always very easy to see when the perspective is shifted to another character solely based on the pigment of colors and the variety of color choices. For example, Izzy’s perspective is always more minimalistic and less colorful while Brianna’s perspective is always bold and pigmented with color as she fills the whole page with her words and actions. ( )
  Mting1 | Nov 13, 2019 |
This is not a sequel to Invisible Emmie, but it is in that stories world, and Emmie shows up a few times. Izzy loves to act, sing, and be creative. That leaves very little time for standard academics, at which Izzy does not excel. She will have to buckle down and defy some laws to show that she can come out on top. Bri is a brain. She loves to study and hates the stage. That is not a good thing when your mom is the drama coach. To make mom happy she takes the stage, and learns that it may not be for her, but there are ways to be close with her mom. If you have read Invisible Emmie, you will know what to expect. There is a “surprise” ending that you will see coming. It’s expected, and maybe can be figured out. However, it is also a bit confusing because time. To understand what I mean, pick up the book and read it for yourself.
#MountTBR
#KillyourTBR #Bourghtatlocalbookstore ( )
  LibrarianRyan | May 29, 2019 |
Visa 1-5 av 9 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
To all you readers, who should never be branded as anything except "awesome".
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
I don't like labels
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson. Middle school is all about labels. Izzy is the dreamer. There's nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. The downside? She can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done. Bri is the brain. But she wants people to see there's more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to "break out of her shell" and join drama club. The girls' lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.66)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 11
3.5 6
4 9
4.5
5 6

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 157,012,537 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig