Bild på författaren.

Tasha Alexander

Författare till And Only to Deceive

28+ verk 7,482 medlemmar 373 recensioner 34 favoritmärkta

Om författaren

Tasha Alexander is a graduate of Notre Dame. Following graduation, she traveled for several years, eventually settling with her family in Tennessee. When not reading, she can be found hard at work writing. She is the author of the bestselling Emily Ashton Series. She also wrote the novelization for visa mer Elizabeth: The Golden Age. (Bowker Author Biography) visa färre

Inkluderar namnen: Tasha Alexander, by Tasha Alexander

Inkluderar även: Tasha (1)

Foto taget av: Carrie Schechter


Verk av Tasha Alexander

And Only to Deceive (2006) 1,774 exemplar
A Poisoned Season (2007) 1,028 exemplar
A Fatal Waltz (2008) 843 exemplar
Tears of Pearl (2009) 573 exemplar
Dangerous to Know (2010) 449 exemplar
A Crimson Warning (2011) 402 exemplar
Death in the Floating City (2012) 347 exemplar
Behind the Shattered Glass (2013) 320 exemplar
The Counterfeit Heiress (2014) 295 exemplar
The Adventuress (2015) 214 exemplar
Death in St. Petersburg (2017) 211 exemplar
A Terrible Beauty (2016) 199 exemplar
Uneasy Lies the Crown (2018) 166 exemplar
In the Shadow of Vesuvius (2020) 123 exemplar
The Dark Heart of Florence (2021) 101 exemplar

Associerade verk


Allmänna fakta

Chicago, Illinois, USA
University of Notre Dame, BA English w/ Medieval Studies focus
Grant, Andrew (husband)
Authors Guild, Mystery Writers of America, ITW
Priser och utmärkelser
Lovey Award for Best Historical(2009)
Bruce Alexander Nomination
RT Reviewers' Choice Nominee
Anne Hawkins (John Hawkins & Associates)
Kort biografi
Tasha Alexander attended the University of Notre Dame, where she signed on as an English major in order to have a legitimate excuse for spending all her time reading. She lived in Amsterdam, London, Wyoming, Vermont, Connecticut and Tennessee before settling in Chicago.



Excellent historical mystery.

Although this is the 17th in a series, this is only the second one I have read. Now I find that I want to go back and start from the beginning. I love the character of Lady Emily and her husband, Colin Hargreaves, as well as their extended family and friends. The 3 sons are a lot of fun and make for some humorous moments in the story.

In this installment, in the summer of 1905, the family visits an old friend Jeremy, Duke of Bainbridge, at Cairnfarn Castle in the Scottish Highlands. After a welcoming Ceilidh that lasted into the wee hours, the Duke's gamekeeper, Angus Sinclair, is found dead along the banks of the loch. Although the women of the village wanted to marry him, he certainly had some secrets and at least one enemy. Some strange clues are found during the investigation that lead back to 1676 when the madness of witchcraft trials reached the castle and a previous occupant, Lady MacAllister. Told in alternating points of view and shifting in time periods 1905 and 1676, the secrets and lies are revealed.

I like the writing style and the characters in this novel and the plot was complex but interesting. There were some surprises along the way as Lady Emily and her husband talk with the villagers and try to find the truth. I listened to the audiobook that I got from my local library while also reading along in the e-book ARC provided by the publisher and I liked the narrator very much, especially the Scottish accent and proper pronunciation that enhanced the atmosphere and setting of the story.

I'd recommend the series and I plan to continue reading additional installments.
… (mer)
CelticLibrarian | 9 andra recensioner | May 4, 2024 |
Meh, it was ok. Doubt I’ll bother reading any of the sequels. None of the characters were particularly interesting, and the story was very ho-hum.

The part where we were supposed to believe the protagonist’s suspicions of the obvious love-intererests nefariousness was tedious to say the least. Absolutely no twists, turns or surprises at all.

The writing was ok, though a couple of Americanisms had snuck into the text and felt jarring. All in all, meh.
73pctGeek | 81 andra recensioner | Mar 5, 2024 |
Not quite as exciting or gripping as the past Lady Emily books for some reason, but still fun and a solid read.
ardaiel | 11 andra recensioner | Mar 4, 2024 |
This historical mystery actually contains two parallel mysteries and the chapters alternate between the two. The Scotland setting adds to the brooding nature of the storyline. During a visit, Lady Emily,her husband Colin, and their sons become embroiled in helping to investigate the death of a gamekeeper. However, this man is not who he claimed to be, which complicates their investigations. Now they are not only seeking to uncover his killer, but also to find out his true identity. The best part of the story for me was the antics and comments of her three sons. The book includes author notes and a bibliography at the end.

I have read many of the Lady Emily mysteries, and I did not like this one as well as some of the previous offerings. I found the alternating narratives to be confusing, even though they were tied together at the end of the novel. I would have preferred to read these as two separate stories, as I felt the alternating viewpoints detracted from the overall storyline. There was just too much going on.

I received this novel from the publisher and from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.
… (mer)
LadyoftheLodge | 9 andra recensioner | Oct 21, 2023 |



Du skulle kanske också gilla

Associerade författare


Även av
½ 3.7

Tabeller & diagram