Författarbild

Andrea Cheng (1957–2015)

Författare till The Year of the Book

28 verk 2,159 medlemmar 96 recensioner

Om författaren

Andrea Cheng was born on September 19, 1957. After receiving a BA in English from Cornell University, she went to Switzerland, where she apprenticed to a bookbinder, attended a school of bookbinding called The Centro del Bel Libro, and learned French. Upon her return, she received an MS in visa mer linguistics from Cornell University. She taught English as a Second Language and children's literature at Cincinnati State Technical and Community College. She was a children's author and illustrator. Her books included Grandfather Counts, Marika, The Key Collection, Honeysuckle House, Where the Steps Were, The Bear Makers, Brushing Mom's Hair, and the Year of... chapter book series. She died after a long illness on December 26, 2015 at the age of 58. (Bowker Author Biography) visa färre

Serier

Verk av Andrea Cheng

The Year of the Book (2013) 710 exemplar
Marika (2002) 260 exemplar
The Year of the Baby (2013) 182 exemplar
The Year of the Fortune Cookie (2014) 143 exemplar
Anna the Bookbinder (2003) 75 exemplar
Honeysuckle House (2004) 57 exemplar
Only One Year (1800) 56 exemplar
The Year of the Three Sisters (2015) 55 exemplar
Shanghai Messenger (2005) 50 exemplar
The Year of the Garden (2017) 46 exemplar
Goldfish and Chrysanthemums (2003) 45 exemplar
Where the Steps Were (2008) 38 exemplar
The Lemon Sisters (2006) 36 exemplar

Taggad

Allmänna fakta

Medlemmar

Recensioner

Fourth grader Anna Chang loves reading so much that she’s often caught with her nose in a book, whether that’s in the classroom, at recess, on the bus, or even when walking! But as the school year progresses from fall to spring, she learns that some of the best memories are made in the here and now, with family and friends by her side.

This is a sweet book about the everyday adventures of childhood, from creating a homemade Halloween costume to sewing lunch bags from donated fabric scraps to making paper airplanes and taking them for a spin. Although a few heavier topics come up (such as some casual racism and a divorce that is far from amicable), the book remains optimistic overall.

Anna and her family are endearing, as are the myriad of folks in their lives from a caring teacher to a chatty crossing guard to an elderly neighbors with a penchant for giving away things he's no longer using. I could easily see why readers would want to progress on to the rest of the series to spend more time with these characters.

There is a great deal of diversity in the book; Anna's family is of Chinese descent, with her mother being an immigrant; her mother is also a nontraditional college student; there is the friend whose parents are going through a divorce; there's use of wheelchairs for both temporary and permanent disabilities; and so on.

This book is perfect for fans of Beverly Cleary’s Ramona series, especially if readers are ready to move on to a slightly older protagonist but not quite ready for the darker "problem novel" titles that pepper middle grade literature.
… (mer)
½
 
Flaggad
sweetiegherkin | 24 andra recensioner | Jun 5, 2023 |
What a wonderful, sweet little book about kindness and friendship. It was full of goodness, and I highly recommend it to kids and grownups who love children's literature.
 
Flaggad
Harks | 24 andra recensioner | Dec 17, 2022 |
Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
 
Flaggad
fernandie | Sep 15, 2022 |
4th grader Anna Wang is often reading a book. She likes them, but it's also an escape from complicated friendship dynamics. What I particularly like about this book is that Anna doesn't jump at befriending another girl when she gets the chance -- she takes her time and the friendship grows based on real connections. Her immigrant parents work very hard, but still make space for Laura (the new friend) to have a safe place to be as her parents separate and her father becomes threatening. There are lots of kind adults in Anna's life as well -- Mr. Shepherd, who struggles with asking for help getting in and out of his wheelchair since his wife passed away, Ray, the crossing guard, who checks in with her every day, Teacher Zhen at Chinese school and Ms. Simmons in her classroom. The book has a quiet energy to it -- many things happen day to day, and Anna reads many excellent books and altogether it's just a really nice book in itself. Like a slighly less zany Ramona with craft projects and reading.… (mer)
 
Flaggad
jennybeast | 24 andra recensioner | Apr 14, 2022 |

Listor

Priser

Du skulle kanske också gilla

Associerade författare

Patrice Barton Illustrator
Abigail Halpin Illustrator
Nicole Wong Illustrator
Ed Young Illustrator

Statistik

Verk
28
Medlemmar
2,159
Popularitet
#11,910
Betyg
3.8
Recensioner
96
ISBN
90
Språk
1

Tabeller & diagram