Bild på författaren.

Helen Dunmore (1952–2017)

Författare till The Siege

70+ verk 7,732 medlemmar 298 recensioner 19 favoritmärkta

Om författaren

Helen Dunmore was born in Beverley, England on December 12, 1952. She received a degree in English from the University of York in 1973. She taught English in Finland before moving to Bristol, England, where she taught literature and creative writing. She was a poet, novelist, and children's author. visa mer Her collections of poetry include The Apple Fall, The Raw Garden, and Inside the Wave. Her books include Talking to the Dead, Your Blue-Eyed Boy, House of Orphans, The Greatcoat, The Siege, The Betrayal, The Lie, and Birdcage Walk. She won the McKitterick Prize for debut novelists in 1994 for Zennor in Darkness, the inaugural Orange Prize for Fiction in 1996 for A Spell of Winter, and the Costa Award for Poetry in 2017 for Inside the Wave. She died of cancer on June 5, 2017 at the age of 64. (Bowker Author Biography) visa färre
Foto taget av: © Jerry Bauer


Verk av Helen Dunmore

The Siege (2001) 1,001 exemplar
Ingo : [en värld under ytan] (2005) 718 exemplar
A Spell of Winter (1995) 624 exemplar
Talking to the Dead (1996) 415 exemplar
Exposure (2016) 399 exemplar
The Betrayal (2010) 375 exemplar
The Tide Knot (2006) 349 exemplar
The Greatcoat (2012) 322 exemplar
Your Blue-eyed Boy (1998) 312 exemplar
The Lie (2014) 298 exemplar
Birdcage Walk (2017) 275 exemplar
Mourning Ruby (2003) 275 exemplar
The Deep (2007) 265 exemplar
House of Orphans (2006) 240 exemplar
With Your Crooked Heart (1999) 219 exemplar
The Crossing of Ingo (2008) 212 exemplar
Zennor in Darkness (1993) 203 exemplar
Burning Bright (1994) 173 exemplar
Love of Fat Men (1997) 141 exemplar
Counting the Stars (2008) 109 exemplar
Zillah and Me (2000) 95 exemplar
Ice Cream (2000) 83 exemplar
Stormswept (2012) 72 exemplar
Inside the Wave (2017) 63 exemplar
Rose, 1944 (2005) 56 exemplar
Brother Brother, Sister Sister (1743) 46 exemplar
Stories To Get You Through The Night (2010) — Inledning — 32 exemplar
The Malarkey (2012) 21 exemplar
Glad of These Times (2007) 15 exemplar
In The Money (2001) 14 exemplar
Tara's Tree House (Bananas) (2004) 13 exemplar
Going to Egypt (1992) 11 exemplar
Recovering a Body (1994) 11 exemplar
Fatal Error (1996) 11 exemplar
Bestiary (1997) 10 exemplar
The Zillah Rebellion (2001) 10 exemplar
The Ferry Birds (2010) 10 exemplar
The Lilac Tree (2004) 9 exemplar
The Raw Garden (1988) 9 exemplar
Go Fox (1996) 7 exemplar
The Islanders (2011) 7 exemplar
The Silver Bead (2003) 7 exemplar
The Seal Cove (2004) 6 exemplar
The Lonely Sea Dragon (2013) 5 exemplar
Apple Fall (1983) 5 exemplar
The Sea Skater (1986) 5 exemplar
Allie away (2000) 1 exemplar
one day 1 exemplar
Snollygoster and Other Poems (2001) 1 exemplar
Babyfeber (2001) 1 exemplar

Associerade verk

Anna Karenina (1875) — Inledning, vissa utgåvor38,063 exemplar
Mot fyren (1927) — Inledning, vissa utgåvor17,430 exemplar
A Confession (1882) — Förord, vissa utgåvor802 exemplar
Latecomers (1988) — Inledning, vissa utgåvor436 exemplar
Reader, I Married Him: Stories Inspired by Jane Eyre (2016) — Bidragsgivare — 297 exemplar
A Wreath of Roses (1949) — Inledning, vissa utgåvor284 exemplar
First Folio: A Little Book of Folio Forewords (2008) — Bidragsgivare — 178 exemplar
Love Letters of the Great War (2014) — Förord, vissa utgåvor31 exemplar
First Light: A celebration of Alan Garner (2016) — Bidragsgivare — 29 exemplar
The Second Penguin Book of Modern Women's Short Stories (1997) — Bidragsgivare — 26 exemplar
A Second Skin: Women Write about Clothes (1998) — Bidragsgivare — 17 exemplar
A Day in the Life (2003) — Bidragsgivare — 14 exemplar
Best Short Stories 1992 (1992) — Bidragsgivare — 13 exemplar
Modern Women Poets (2005) — Bidragsgivare — 13 exemplar
Midnight Feast (2007) — Bidragsgivare — 10 exemplar
Poetry anthology (2000) — Bidragsgivare, vissa utgåvor6 exemplar
Riptide: v. 4: Short Stories with an Undercurrent (2009) — Bidragsgivare — 1 exemplar
City: Bristol Today in Poems and Pictures (2004) — Bidragsgivare — 1 exemplar
Sisters (Mammoth Contents) (1998) — Bidragsgivare — 1 exemplar
Contos Coragem 1 exemplar


Allmänna fakta

Berkeley, Yorkshire, England, UK
Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, UK
Yorkshire, England, UK
Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, UK
Nottingham High School for Girls
University of York
children's book author
short story writer
literary critic
Royal Society of Literature
Society of Authors
Royal Literary Fund (trustee)
Priser och utmärkelser
Royal Society of Literature (fellow, 1997)
Caradoc King (AP Watt)
Kort biografi
Helen Dunmore was born in Beverley, in Yorkshire, England and grew up in a bookish household. The family moved frequently for her father's work. She attended Sutton High School, London and Nottingham Girls' High School, then direct grant grammar schools.

She studied English at York University, where she developed a lifelong love for Russian poets, especially Osip Mandelstam. From 1973 to 1975, she lived in Finland and worked as a teacher. In 1980, she married Frank Charnley, a lawyer, with whom she had two children and a stepson. She became the author of 11 collections of poetry, 12 novels, three books of short stories, and numerous books for young adults and children. She also wrote literary criticism. Some of Dunmore's children's books are included in school curricula.

She taught on Arvon Foundation writing courses, set up a poetry group in Bristol, worked on the management committee of the Society of Authors and served as its chair. She was a trustee of the Royal Literary Fund.
She was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 1997. In March 2017, she published her last novel, Birdcage Walk, and her final poetry collection, Inside the Wave, appeared a month later, shortly before her death. Inside the Wave posthumously won the Poetry and overall Book of the Year awards in the 2017 Costa Book Awards.



BRITISH AUTHOR CHALLENGE OCTOBER 2015 - DUNMORE & MITCHELL i 75 Books Challenge for 2015 (januari 2016)
A Spell of Winter, Helen Dunmore i World Reading Circle (februari 2013)
The Siege by Helen Dunmore i Orange January/July (januari 2012)
A SPELL OF WINTER by Helen Dunmore i Orange January/July (augusti 2011)


I found this book initially jarring in its tone as I have recently been reading more contemporary writing. It felt very English and proper, 1960's London.
However, I gradually became immersed in the story of Simon, who works for the admiralty in London and his wife Lily and their young family. Simon takes a late night phone call from a work colleague and ex-lover, Giles, whom has become hospitalised accidentally. Giles wants him to retrieve a Top Secret, file he has taken home and return it to the office discreetly. When Simon sees the file he realises that Giles is involved in spy work and refuses to be a party to it or become complicit and stashes it. Giles, to save his own skin then sets the admiralty on to Simon who is charged with treason and detained in prison. Lily's secure life is destroyed and she must take steps to protect the children and support Simon.
There is a nice build of tension, culminating in a satisfying ending.
… (mer)
HelenBaker | 22 andra recensioner | Dec 22, 2023 |
Law_Books600 | 20 andra recensioner | Nov 3, 2023 |



Du skulle kanske också gilla

Associerade författare


Även av

Tabeller & diagram