Författarbild

Yulin Kuang

Författare till How to End a Love Story

1 verk 258 medlemmar 4 recensioner

Verk av Yulin Kuang

How to End a Love Story (2024) 258 exemplar, 4 recensioner

Taggad

Allmänna fakta

Kön
female

Medlemmar

Recensioner

I was a fan of many of the YouTube projects Yulin created and/or directed some years ago -- I liked her storytelling and her storytelling priorities -- so I was excited to see she had written a romance novel.

Helen Zhang arrives in Hollywood to work on the TV adaptation of her YA novels and recognises one of the lead screenwriters. Grant is the former highschool classmate who was driving the car which killed Helen’s sister thirteen years earlier. Helen knows Grant wasn’t responsible for Michelle’s death but she’s really not happy about working with him.

It’s an emotionally fraught situation and I found that immediately compelling. I also felt a sense of connection to Helen, despite differences in culture and profession and life experience -- we’re the same generation and we’ve some similar interests. But to my surprise, my feelings about the romance narrative were mixed. There were parts of the story I really liked, yet other times it didn’t quite appeal to me and I wasn’t sure why.

(I mean, I am well aware that the romance genre can include details and descriptions which are not really (or really not) my cup of tea but that doesn’t always bother me! IDK. I really don’t.)

That said, Yulin Kuang definitely knows how to end a love story. I wonder if this novel will be one of those that I enjoy more on a reread (when I can appreciate it for what it is, undistracted by my expectations of it being something different). I’m also curious to see what she writes next.
He isn’t even sure which of his own ideas he would want to develop into something real. He has old pilot samples that, combined with his list of credits on other people’s shows, have been good enough to get him meetings. He remembers being excited about those pilots once, years ago, when he wrote them. But when he scans them now, they feel like an outdated snapshot of his brain and he isn’t sure he could re-create that version of himself if he tried.
… (mer)
 
Flaggad
Herenya | 3 andra recensioner | Jul 9, 2024 |
Again, I'm waiting too long to write the reviews and I forget what the book is about, but after reading a synopsis, it's starting to come back. What a fun twist that this girl's book is adapting to TV or movie. And a writer on the team is the guy who killed her sister. She really committed suicide and walked out in front of his car, so he really didn't do anything wrong. But her family has not forgiven him. He was kicked out of the funeral. But she learns that it was equally tough on him. And they have a connection. And now she must confront her family about it who are they are not amused when they find out he's working on the show. I know she gets into a car accident and then her family eventually comes around on him and they do end up together. I do remember enjoying the ride on this one. However, it's sad I can't remember more of this. I'm still rating it 4 stars because I know I have a good feeling about the book. I also just learned that this author is the screenwriter for an upcoming Emily Henry film.… (mer)
 
Flaggad
Mav-n-Libby | 3 andra recensioner | Jul 3, 2024 |
2024 read. A lot of feelings in this one, and a lot of issues covered, from cultural backgrounds, guilt, and grief, to foreplay and intimacy. (Bear in mind I read this while both of us had COVID and had no chance to explore if everything described could actually be done that way. Wowzer.
½
 
Flaggad
bookczuk | 3 andra recensioner | Jul 2, 2024 |
When my friends at Avon Books reached out and asked if I was interested in an early copy of How to End a Love Story by Yulin Kuang I couldn’t reply YES fast enough! While this is Kuang’s debut novel she’s the screenwriter for Emily Henry’s People We Meet On Vacation, as well as the director for the upcoming Beach Read feature Film. Yes please, and thank you!!

This is the story of Helen and Grant, two young professionals in LA. Helen has worked hard to get the opportunity to have her book made into a series, while Grant is at a standstill in is career but can’t go backwards so agrees to sign on as a writer on the series. Sounds fine? Notsofast. They are tied by a seismic event in their teens.

Don’t let this breezy romcom setup fool you into thinking this is a lighthearted summer read. Much like Beach Read, Kuang balances heavier elements with modern romance. There’s joy among grief, attraction lives beside pain. Khang serves up a smart, nuanced look at how trauma both propels us forward and anchors us in time. How do we forgive imperfect people who are no longer here, and moreso ourselves?

I think this is an outstanding choice for fans of Emily Henry, Abby Jimenez, and Katherine Center. Read if you love romance that also touches on deeper themes. I’ll be watching to see what Yulin Kuang does next, and can’t wait for the other projects she’s working on!
… (mer)
 
Flaggad
FlowerchildReads | 3 andra recensioner | Apr 3, 2024 |

Statistik

Verk
1
Medlemmar
258
Popularitet
#88,950
Betyg
½ 3.7
Recensioner
4
ISBN
6
Språk
1

Tabeller & diagram