Författarbild

Ji Hyeon Lee

Författare till Pool

4 verk 285 medlemmar 29 recensioner

Om författaren

Inkluderar namnen: Lee Jihyeon, Chi-hy©Œon. Yi

Verk av Ji Hyeon Lee

Pool (2014) 207 exemplar
Door (2018) 69 exemplar
We Need Soil! (2016) 7 exemplar
Bubble, Bubble! (2017) 2 exemplar

Taggad

Allmänna fakta

Kön
female

Medlemmar

Recensioner

This wonderful, whimsical book by JiHyeon Lee is a wordless picture book that perfectly illustrates the nature of anxiety and friendship for a highly sensitive little person. A lot of thought went into this delicate little book, and color is highly important! We begin at a crowded swimming pool rendered in soft black and white images, were our little hero is overwhelmed by the Sendak like mob of swimmers that quickly crowd the pool. Our brave hero eventually decides to dive in past the crowd where he is meets a like minded little swimmer and together they explore the depths of the poor, away from the noise, allowing their imaginations to soar! Quickly the images are rendered in full color as the pool becomes full of life with various sea creatures galore! Fans of Sendak, Pixar, Selznick, and Miyazaki will be charmed. And this is the perfect book to browse through with your anxious, and overwhelmed little one.


JiHyeon Lee is a treasure. I'll be on the look out for more of her work
… (mer)
 
Flaggad
ryantlaferney87 | 21 andra recensioner | Dec 8, 2023 |
A great story about imagination and bravery and friendship.
 
Flaggad
colingrogan | 21 andra recensioner | Dec 1, 2022 |
 
Flaggad
NyNy_ | 6 andra recensioner | Nov 22, 2021 |
The action is easy to follow in this wordless picture book; color draws the eye to important figures, starting with the tiny bug on the title page (who has just dropped a key that a young boy picks up). Pencil gives way to colored pencil as the boy follows the bug and uses the key to open a spiderweb-covered door; he passes through and discovers a world peopled with unusual creatures who speak an unfamiliar language. At first the boy is frightened, but the creatures are friendly. This world is full of doors, and people come and go from all over; it's a happy world, full of picnics and even a wedding. When the boy (now in color, with rosy cheeks) waves goodbye, he leaves the door open and unlocked behind him.

See also: Beekle by Dan Santat, The Lost Book by Margarita Surnaite, Chirri & Chirra by Kaya Doi, Du Iz Tak? by Carson Ellis, Journey by Aaron Becker
… (mer)
 
Flaggad
JennyArch | 6 andra recensioner | Jul 18, 2021 |

Priser

Du skulle kanske också gilla

Statistik

Verk
4
Medlemmar
285
Popularitet
#81,815
Betyg
4.0
Recensioner
29
ISBN
25
Språk
5

Tabeller & diagram