Bild på författaren.

Robert Marasco (1936–1998)

Författare till Burnt Offerings

5+ verk 656 medlemmar 30 recensioner

Om författaren

Inkluderar namnet: Marasco Robert

Foto taget av: Photo by Alan Carey

Verk av Robert Marasco

Burnt Offerings (1973) 579 exemplar, 28 recensioner
Parlor Games (1979) 42 exemplar, 2 recensioner
Child's Play (1970) 33 exemplar
Sacrificis d'estiu (2023) 1 exemplar

Associerade verk

Best Mystery and Suspense Plays of the Modern Theatre (1971) — Bidragsgivare — 55 exemplar

Taggad

Allmänna fakta

Födelsedag
1936-09-22
Avled
1998-12-06
Kön
male
Nationalitet
USA
Födelseort
The Bronx, New York, USA
Dödsort
Manhasset, New York, USA
Bostadsorter
High Falls, New York, USA
Utbildning
Fordham University
Yrken
playwright
novelist
teacher (high school English, Latin, Greek)
Kort biografi
Robert Marasco (1936-1998) was an American horror writer best known for the 1970 Broadway play Child's Play.

Medlemmar

Recensioner

Considering this was first published in the 70s(?), this holds up pretty well if you squint. It's a haunted house story more in the vein of House of Leaves or Amityville Horror and less like, say, Rebecca or The Shining. That is, something is terribly wrong with the house itself vs. an entity haunting it per se.

This book may have been stronger if the main character 'felt' the weight of her choices more and if they all were more likable and relatable. That is, if there had been more investment in the marriage, family, or mother/child relationship so that there's more impact and emotion driving the plot/climax. There's a sort of, I dunno, simmering ennui to their lives and I didn't find myself particularly invested in what happens. But, maybe that's of its time - and captured the 70s well.

This is subtly scary - far more unsettling than terrifying. There's no gore, no jump scares, no drama - it builds slowly and nothing much happens until the end when something does. I've not seen the movie, but there are a couple of scenes in the book that I could see being standout scenes in film.

This has been on my list awhile as a grandaddy in the genre, I finally got around to it, and although it wasn't a favorite, and won't be a re-read, I'm not disappointed I did.
… (mer)
½
 
Flaggad
angiestahl | 27 andra recensioner | Jan 22, 2024 |
A skillful writer, but a boring story teller. The pacing is agonizingly slow. The characters are one dimensional and formulaic. Marion a housewife who constantly spends outside her means gets the house of her dreams. Ben a stick in the mud pragmatist has to pretend he is OK with everything. And their only precocious child David likes endangering himself. Their only "character traits" are just vehicles to move the plot along. Marion, the housewife is obsessed with making this obviously evil,decrepit house feel like her own. Ben, the pragmatist tries to dissuade her from the allusion. David is kindling waiting to be tossed into the fire. Technically they all are. The sense of ominous, foreboding supernatural dread lurking behind every corner I was expecting was non-existent. The ending was uneventful. I'm really glad word runner was available otherwise it would have been a even more difficult to finish without it.… (mer)
 
Flaggad
OnniAdda | 27 andra recensioner | Nov 22, 2023 |
“How could three weeks - less even - wipe out nine years?”

When an offer is too good to be true, well…

The first 55 pages or so of this book are VERY slow, and a bit tedious. And the next hundred didn't really heat things up. Basically, a family of three rent a mansion for the summer, and something is wrong with the deal. Especially with regards to the mom. And an old lady may, or may not, also be in the mansion. And something happens at the end, but I'm not quite sure what. But I'm pretty sure that nothing was ever 'burnt'. I think...… (mer)
½
 
Flaggad
Stahl-Ricco | 27 andra recensioner | Oct 23, 2023 |
Read for a Haunted House graduate seminar at CU Boulder.

I love how the creepy factor in this novel wasn't created from a tangible sense of anything really creepy. To me, this is more of a psychological haunted house than the canonical "hungry house." Though I'm not an avid fan of horror - this one wasn't terrible. I'd recommend giving it a read!
 
Flaggad
BreePye | 27 andra recensioner | Oct 6, 2023 |

Listor

Priser

Du skulle kanske också gilla

Associerade författare

Statistik

Verk
5
Även av
1
Medlemmar
656
Popularitet
#38,461
Betyg
½ 3.6
Recensioner
30
ISBN
23
Språk
7

Tabeller & diagram