Bild på författaren.

Linda Newbery

Författare till Posy

62 verk 1,723 medlemmar 49 recensioner

Om författaren

Serier

Verk av Linda Newbery

Posy (2008) 208 exemplar
Set in Stone (2006) 206 exemplar
The Shell House (2002) 112 exemplar
Sisterland (2003) 98 exemplar
At the Firefly Gate (1675) 87 exemplar
Polly's March (2004) 71 exemplar
Andie's Moon (2007) 61 exemplar
Flightsend (1999) 59 exemplar
Lost Boy (2005) 58 exemplar
Nevermore (1600) 57 exemplar
Catcall (1868) 54 exemplar
Girls at War / Girls on the Up (2019) 44 exemplar
Lucy and the Green Man (2010) 44 exemplar
Lob (1780) 40 exemplar
The Sandfather (2009) 31 exemplar
Smoke Cat (1995) 27 exemplar
Some Other War (1990) 26 exemplar
A Dog called Whatnot (2005) 18 exemplar
Cat Tales: Rain Cat (2008) 17 exemplar
Tilly's Promise (2014) 15 exemplar
Cat Tales: Shop Cat (2009) 15 exemplar
The Key to Flambards (2018) 13 exemplar
Star's Turn (1900) 13 exemplar
The Treasure House (2012) 13 exemplar
The Shouting Wind (1995) 12 exemplar
Break Time (2001) 11 exemplar
The Kind Ghosts (1991) 11 exemplar
The Nowhere Girl (1997) 10 exemplar
Cat Tales: Ice Cat (2009) 10 exemplar
A Fear of Heights (1996) 10 exemplar
The cat who wasn't there (2009) 9 exemplar
The Cliff Path (1995) 9 exemplar
Windfall (2002) 8 exemplar
Fairground Surprise (2011) 7 exemplar
The Damage Done (2001) 7 exemplar
Rescue Dog (2011) 7 exemplar
The Wearing of the Green (1992) 7 exemplar
Until We Win (2017) 6 exemplar
No Way Back (2001) 6 exemplar
The Big Animal Magic Book (1998) — Bidragsgivare — 5 exemplar
Riddle Me This (1993) 5 exemplar
The Brockenspectre (2014) 5 exemplar
Run with the Hare (1988) 3 exemplar
Graveney Hall (2013) 2 exemplar
Hard and Fast (1990) 2 exemplar
Duman Kedi (2016) 1 exemplar
Lost boy 1 exemplar

Taggad

Allmänna fakta

Födelsedag
1952-08-12
Kön
female
Nationalitet
UK

Medlemmar

Recensioner

Cute cute 5000.
 
Flaggad
LibrarianDest | 8 andra recensioner | Jan 3, 2024 |
This book started well, to the point I didnt realise that it was a Young Adult book. It is a story much in the vein of Jane Eyre, Northhanger Abbey and Wilkie Collins - young peniless artist joins a family as a teacher, only to find mysteries abound and it is the governess and art teacher (neither family or housefold staff) that end up investigating. [return][return]However, I got bored halfway through (any sense fo the dramatic is too laboured) and I skipped ahead, only to find topics never to be approached in even the most racy Wilkie Collins book - incest, suicide, homosexuality, murder, adultery, children out of wedlock.....on one hand it's too subtle, on the other hand the book is covering stories never covered in the very stories it's attempting to emulate, so fails on both counts.[return][return]Gave up halfway through, so disappointing… (mer)
 
Flaggad
nordie | 14 andra recensioner | Oct 14, 2023 |
Barrington Stoke novel set in 1914 when 17 year old Lizzy has a job working in an office but dreams of something bigger. Into her life comes Julia and Elsie who are part of the Suffragette movement, fighting for the right for women to vote and immediately Lizzy is captivated by the cause. She starts doing more and more illegal and dangerous stunts to help the others in the cause and eventually she is arrested and thrown into Prison. Here she goes on a hunger strike but is let out when war breaks out. Lizzy loses her job but signs up instead to help in the war effort.
Short historical book. Easy to read on sepia paper.
… (mer)
 
Flaggad
nicsreads | Jun 5, 2022 |
This book was an interesting idea, but for me it didn't work.

One of the reasons was how the narrative changed between characters, with only small (easily missed) print at the top of the page pointing this out. There were a few instances in the story where one character found things out before the other, and explanations of events were repeated. It would have read so much better in third-person. The characters were also lacking in personality and I found it difficult to empathise with them.

I also thought the writer was trying too hard with the writing style, to make it sound like a period piece. At some points the writing got so flowery that events of the story got lost in it and I had to re-read bits. In other instances there were entire passages devoted to nothing in particular. I can understand why some reviewers got bored with this book.

I found this book hard work to get through and I skipped quite a few pages out of the last twenty or so. I was glad when I'd finished with it.

… (mer)
 
Flaggad
Triduana | 14 andra recensioner | Jan 25, 2022 |

Listor

Priser

Du skulle kanske också gilla

Associerade författare

Statistik

Verk
62
Medlemmar
1,723
Popularitet
#14,914
Betyg
½ 3.6
Recensioner
49
ISBN
190
Språk
6

Tabeller & diagram