Bild på författaren.

Christina Soontornvat

Författare till A Wish in the Dark

24+ verk 1,762 medlemmar 122 recensioner 1 favoritmärkta

Om författaren

Inkluderar namnet: Christi Soontornvat

Serier

Verk av Christina Soontornvat

Associerade verk

You Are Here: Connecting Flights (2023) — Bidragsgivare — 65 exemplar
Calling the Moon (2023) — Bidragsgivare — 20 exemplar

Taggad

Allmänna fakta

Födelsedag
1980
Kön
female
Nationalitet
USA

Medlemmar

Recensioner

This is a non-fiction book that follows the rescue of the Thai soccer team that were trapped in a cave after a giant storm. There are many images and diagrams showing the rescue and the cave system they were stuck in. There were also many images describing the concern of oxygen levels and the water leaking through the limestone. I think this would be a good individual read for 6th-8th grade students to learn about the what happened and the dangers of flooding. Within the class, a lesson could be taught about what is non-fiction and what is fiction and this could be a book that students could view and decide if it was fiction or non-fiction.… (mer)
 
Flaggad
haraki21 | 38 andra recensioner | Feb 26, 2024 |
Adventure on the sea. Nicely woven YA. 3.75
 
Flaggad
ben_r47 | 26 andra recensioner | Feb 22, 2024 |
Plum lives with her grandparents on their farm on a small island - until she receives a letter summoning her to Lotus Island to become a Guardian. After a month of training, Plum will either pass a test to become a Novice, or fail the test and return home. Plum isn't sure what she wants, but becomes convinced that being a guardian was her mother's dream for her, and she is determined to fulfill it.

Along the way she meets Cherry, a feisty friend; Hetty and Rella, from Nakhon Island; and standoffish Sam. As the potential guardians learn about Hand, Heart, and Breath, their test draws nearer, and Plum is unable to settle into the meditative state she needs - except when she's doing chores in the garden. Ultimately, it's Sam who helps Plum realize her transformation into a roan (Sam is a wulfhund; Cherry is a gillybear), just in time. Rella, who achieved her transformation via a forbidden shortcut, is sent home - but receives an offer of employment from Sam's mother, Lady Ubon.

This series opener is complete in itself, but readers will likely want to continue on to see what happens next!

See also: Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch by Julie Abe

Quotes

"There is no shortcut to becoming what you already are." (Master Sunback to Plum, 90)

"If you care for your people, you must care for the world they live in. Without the plants and animals of our islands, we humans will not last very long." (Master Sunback to Lady Ubon, 115)
… (mer)
 
Flaggad
JennyArch | 1 annan recension | Feb 5, 2024 |
Enjoyed this new graphic novel by award winning Christina Soontornvat. Based on her own experiences in middle school, this is a relatable graphic novel about courage and competition, friendship and belonging, and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. Set in Texas in the 1980s, Christina navigates middle school and tries to fit in with her predominantly white peers by trying out for the middle school cheerleading squad. Thought illustrations by Joanna Cacao are great -- looking forward to see what the author and illustrators do next. Good recommendation for readers who enjoyed New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.
… (mer)
 
Flaggad
AnnesLibrary | 9 andra recensioner | Jan 28, 2024 |

Listor

Priser

Du skulle kanske också gilla

Associerade författare

Greta Jung Narrator
Sura Siu Narrator

Statistik

Verk
24
Även av
2
Medlemmar
1,762
Popularitet
#14,608
Betyg
4.2
Recensioner
122
ISBN
105
Språk
1
Favoritmärkt
1

Tabeller & diagram