HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Across the Universe av Beth Revis
Laddar...

Across the Universe (2011)

av Beth Revis

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner / Omnämnanden
3,0283534,332 (3.74)1 / 105
Science Fiction. Science Fiction & Fantasy. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:Book 1 in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica and Prometheus!

WHAT DOES IT TAKE TO SURVIVE ABOARD A SPACESHIP FUELED BY LIES?
Amy is a cryogenically frozen passenger aboard the spaceship Godspeed. She has left her boyfriend, friends??and planet??behind to join her parents as a member of Project Ark Ship. Amy and her parents believe they will wake on a new planet, Centauri-Earth, three hundred years in the future. But fifty years before Godspeed's scheduled landing, cryo chamber 42 is mysteriously unplugged, and Amy is violently woken from her frozen slumber.
Someone tried to murder her.
Now, Amy is caught inside an enclosed world where nothing makes sense. Godspeed's 2,312 passengers have forfeited all control to Eldest, a tyrannical and frightening leader. And Elder, Eldest's rebellious teenage heir, is both fascinated with Amy and eager to discover whether he has what it takes to lead.
Amy desperately wants to trust Elder. But should she put her faith in a boy who has never seen life outside the ship's cold metal walls? All Amy knows is that she and Elder must race to unlock Godspeed's hidden secrets before whoever woke her tries to kill again.
"Entirely original, deeply compelling, and totally unputdownable??I've found a new favorite!" ??Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth
"A murder mystery, a budding romance, and a dystopian world gracefully integrated into a sci-fi novel that blows away all expectation." ??Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wic
… (mer)
Medlem:stucke
Titel:Across the Universe
Författare:Beth Revis
Info:Razorbill (no date), Hardcover, 416 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verksinformation

Across the Universe av Beth Revis (2011)

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

» Se även 105 omnämnanden

engelska (349)  italienska (2)  tyska (1)  Alla språk (352)
Visa 1-5 av 352 (nästa | visa alla)
I can tell you that overall it was quite an engaging read. I pretty much devoured it in 24 hours, which is hard to do for a book well over 400 pages and you know, work and stuff. I enjoyed the story, there was a lot of suspense and the writing minus a few minor flaws was solid. Ms. Revis definitely knows how to tell a compelling story that will keep the reader guessing until the last page. There are quite a few surprises near the end, and as a reader I find that I am pretty hard to take by surprise. So Revis gets bonus points for keeping me on my toes!

You can read the rest of this review and more at ( )
  muffinbutt1027 | Apr 26, 2023 |
CW: Sexual content, attempted rape, people drugged to keep them docile, suicide
2.5 Stars ( )
  Mrs_Tapsell_Bookzone | Feb 14, 2023 |
Rather like Leviathan, I read these two books, back to back and thus I'm going to talk about them all in one (which means you get one of your reviews from this coming weekend early).


I'm still not quite over wrinkling my nose at a number of situations set up in this book, BUT I have to give the woman some grand credit. Every single novel in this trilogy will be an entirely different living/political system with completely different pitfals and triumphs. And it's so rare to see that handled anywhere, that I'm very much hanging on to see where this story goes. ( )
  wanderlustlover | Dec 26, 2022 |

As a novel meant for young adult readers, this is good. Really good, in fact. I liked the scientific aspect in this book, but I absolutely hated the romance (it was shallow and unnecessary). Luckily, it was not the primary genre of the novel. Definitely a page-turner, and the pacing was perfect, in my opinion. The book had many different elements in it: mystery, ethics, philosophy, psychology, and many others. All were discussed VERY lightly, though, and I wish the author had gone a bit deeper. There were some REALLY interesting ideas that got me thinking, I'm not sure if they are original or not, but it's the first time I come across them.

I will be eagerly waiting for the sequel.

P.S.

I'M DONE WITH MY CHALLENGE!
( )
  womanwoanswers | Dec 23, 2022 |
On a spaceship headed to a distant planet meant for colonization, Amy wakes up from cryogenic sleep long before the ship and its frozen cargo of scientists, military officials, and other chosen colonizers are due to arrive. Unable to be re-frozen, she begins living onboard alongside the ship's crew, a population of labourers led by the mysterious Eldest and his young protege Elder.

This book is essentially a gripping murder mystery in a thought-provoking sci-fi framework. The story progresses at a fairly steady pace with many reveals and plot twists so it made for an engrossing read. Some of the plot twists were a little predictable so it dampened the overall impact of the reveal, however the plot was intriguing overall.

The plot drew me into the story but the characterization left something to be desired. I didn't get a strong sense for Amy's personality and thought her scenes/memories while frozen could have revealed more about her. Her characterization was also inconsistent-- she claims to like history but couldn't recall some important things about American history, despite being an American teen who probably would have learned this stuff in school, then later she reveals a sudden interest in genealogy which is clearly a contrived plot device for the author to conveniently put certain things into motion.

Still, I think the author did a good job of making her and Elder seem like believable teenaged characters. Elder especially seemed like a typical teenage boy, so much that I was rather skeptical of his ability to be a leader. Another character cites his ability to think for himself but I didn't really see any evidence of that. His character development near the end of the book also seemed rather sudden, which seems to be the author's m.o. for much of the book-- developments seem to happen only for the convenience of the plot.

Still, this was a really riveting read. I loved the description of the cryogenic process in the story-- there was kind of a horror element to it and added an interesting dimension to the "science" used in the book. In fact, a lot of the science and technology mentioned in the book and how they are used is kind of scary to contemplate. Overall, this was a great addition to non-dystopian YA sci-fi, which so far seems like a rather small genre. ( )
  serru | Oct 6, 2022 |
Visa 1-5 av 352 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (3 möjliga)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Beth Revisprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Ambrose, LaurenBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Frost, MichaelOmslagmedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Järvinen, OutiÖversättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Osborne, EmilyOmslagsformgivaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Santos, CarlosBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Daddy said, "Let Mom go first."
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Science Fiction. Science Fiction & Fantasy. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:Book 1 in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica and Prometheus!

WHAT DOES IT TAKE TO SURVIVE ABOARD A SPACESHIP FUELED BY LIES?
Amy is a cryogenically frozen passenger aboard the spaceship Godspeed. She has left her boyfriend, friends??and planet??behind to join her parents as a member of Project Ark Ship. Amy and her parents believe they will wake on a new planet, Centauri-Earth, three hundred years in the future. But fifty years before Godspeed's scheduled landing, cryo chamber 42 is mysteriously unplugged, and Amy is violently woken from her frozen slumber.
Someone tried to murder her.
Now, Amy is caught inside an enclosed world where nothing makes sense. Godspeed's 2,312 passengers have forfeited all control to Eldest, a tyrannical and frightening leader. And Elder, Eldest's rebellious teenage heir, is both fascinated with Amy and eager to discover whether he has what it takes to lead.
Amy desperately wants to trust Elder. But should she put her faith in a boy who has never seen life outside the ship's cold metal walls? All Amy knows is that she and Elder must race to unlock Godspeed's hidden secrets before whoever woke her tries to kill again.
"Entirely original, deeply compelling, and totally unputdownable??I've found a new favorite!" ??Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth
"A murder mystery, a budding romance, and a dystopian world gracefully integrated into a sci-fi novel that blows away all expectation." ??Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wic

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Deltog i LibraryThing Förhandsrecensenter

Beth Reviss bok Across the Universe delades ut via LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.74)
0.5 1
1 23
1.5 1
2 60
2.5 14
3 234
3.5 58
4 366
4.5 29
5 208

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 197,806,290 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig