HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

Gillespie and I

av Jane Harris

Andra författare: Se under Andra författare.

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner / Omnämnanden
7407131,261 (3.96)1 / 424
Fiction. Literature. HTML:From the Orange Prize-nominated author of The Observations comes an absorbing, atmospheric exploration of one young woman's friendship with a volatile artist and her place in the controversy that consumes him. Jane Harris's Gillespie and I presents a strongly voiced female protagonist evocative of Moll Flanders and Becky Sharp, who offers a keen sensibility, deeply felt observations, and poignant remembrances of the world of a young artist in turn-of-the-century Glasgow in this fantastic work of historical fiction. London's Sunday Times calls Gillespie and I "a literary novel where the storytelling is as skilful as the writing is fine." Fans of The Piano Teacher and The Thirteenth Tale will find it irresistible and unforgettable.
.
… (mer)
  1. 40
    The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher: A Shocking Murder and the Undoing of a Great Victorian Detective av Kate Summerscale (alalba)
    alalba: There are some similarities in the stories, that include the murder investigarion and trial.
  2. 30
    Florence and Giles av John Harding (alalba, Phlox72)
    alalba: These two books have the same kind of female narrators.
  3. 31
    Arthur & George av Julian Barnes (shelfoflisa)
  4. 31
    Alias Grace av Margaret Atwood (souloftherose)
    souloftherose: It's difficult to explain this recommendation without revealing spoilers for either novel. Both are set in the 19th century, feature strong female narrators and concern a crime - and that's all I can say!
  5. 20
    The Sealed Letter av Emma Donoghue (JoEnglish)
  6. 21
    Dimmornas lek av Kate Morton (shelfoflisa)
  7. 10
    The Strays av Emily Bitto (doryfish)
    doryfish: An outsider is drawn to a bohemian family with tragic results.
  8. 00
    The Unseeing av Anna Mazzola (JoEnglish)
  9. 00
    See What I Have Done av Sarah Schmidt (Anonym användare)
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Grupp DiskussionMeddelandenSenaste inlägget 
 Orange January/July: Gillespie and I by Jane Harris27 olästa / 27Her_Royal_Orangeness, september 2012

» Se även 424 omnämnanden

engelska (69)  katalanska (1)  italienska (1)  Alla språk (71)
Visa 1-5 av 71 (nästa | visa alla)
This expansive novel follows Harriet Baxter, as an aging woman in 1933 and her younger self in Glasgow in 1888. It tracks her relationship with an artist named Ned Gillespie, and his family. She becomes very attached to all of them. After a tragedy occurs, Harriet finds herself in the center of a notorious criminal trial. I was surprised how much I enjoyed this book. The writing is very good and the characters are well drawn. ( )
  msf59 | Jul 23, 2022 |
I find something so cozy about reading a chunky historical fiction during the colder months. You can just wrap up in a blanket, have a hot drink nearby, and just lose yourself in it.

Even if it turns out to be not so nice.

Gillespie and I is one of those books that I find difficult to talk about because too much information would spoil it. So I'll just start with this:

Harriet Baxter is an elderly spinster living in London in the 1930's. She has taken it upon herself to write her memoirs, specifically about the period she was acquainted with Ned Gillespie, a forgotten Scottish artist and - according to Harriet, an unfairly neglected genius. Part of the reason for Gillespie's obscurity is that he destroyed most of his work before tragically taking his own life. Harriet describes him as her "dear friend and soul mate," revealing that she was closest to him and knew him better than members of his own family. She then looks back to the spring of 1888, when she first met Gillespie and his family at the International Exhibition in Glasgow.

And I'll say no more for now.

At first, this novel reads like something like [b:The Remains of the Day|28921|The Remains of the Day|Kazuo Ishiguro|https://images.gr-assets.com/books/1327128714s/28921.jpg|3333111] - as the story unfolds, the reader notices flaws and quirks that the narrator stays blissfully unaware of. For instance, Harriet considers herself a kind and generous person. But she can be quite cruel in her descriptions of others - Ned's sister, for instance, would be quite a beauty if her jaw did not "put one in mind of a frying pan." This streak of nastiness running through Harriet's narration hints at more sinister things to come. If you liked [b:The Little Stranger|7234875|The Little Stranger|Sarah Waters|https://images.gr-assets.com/books/1407105269s/7234875.jpg|5769396], you will enjoy Gillespie and I. ( )
  doryfish | Jan 29, 2022 |
I have just this minute finished this book.

It is beautiful. It is deft. It is as well-constructed as anything I have read. It is thrilling. It has no easy answers. It is funny. It is, at times, cruel. It makes me despair that I have never visited Glasgow, and it makes me want to write more carefully, because it was obviously done with such great attention to its craft.

It's a really, really, really good book. ( )
  lloydshep | Nov 4, 2021 |
It's hard to write a review of this book without giving away too much. At first it seems to be a fairly average Victorianesque novel with a maybe a whiff of family scandal in the offing. In fact about a quarter of the way in I began to wonder what all the great reviews were about. Then there was a little detail that seemed a bit strange. And another. Before you quite realize it things have taken a definite turn, and it becomes clear this is not the story that you thought you were reading. ( )
  riemerreads | Jul 10, 2021 |
Loved this book. The characters, especially the character of Harriet. This becomes a creepy story and one wonders if it is a tale of evil or self delusion. very enjoyable ( )
  scot2 | Nov 26, 2020 |
Visa 1-5 av 71 (nästa | visa alla)
Like The Observations, Gillespie and I is, at heart, a book about loneliness and obsessive love. If The Observations drew on Gothic romance and sensation fiction for its inspiration, Gillespie and I follows the tradition of Henry James, using the first-person narrator to explore questions of consciousness and perception....From the vantage point of the 1930s Harriet writes enviously of the freedoms of the modern woman – her right to vote, to work, to own property – but it is the freedom of self-knowledge, the deeper psychological understanding that was to be the legacy of Freud and his peers, that Harriet, as a Victorian woman, lacks most. It is her failure to recognise this that forms the heart of this absorbing novel.
 

» Lägg till fler författare (5 möjliga)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Jane Harrisprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Bentinck, AnnaBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For Tom
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
It would appear that I am to be the first to write a book on Gillespie.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Fiction. Literature. HTML:From the Orange Prize-nominated author of The Observations comes an absorbing, atmospheric exploration of one young woman's friendship with a volatile artist and her place in the controversy that consumes him. Jane Harris's Gillespie and I presents a strongly voiced female protagonist evocative of Moll Flanders and Becky Sharp, who offers a keen sensibility, deeply felt observations, and poignant remembrances of the world of a young artist in turn-of-the-century Glasgow in this fantastic work of historical fiction. London's Sunday Times calls Gillespie and I "a literary novel where the storytelling is as skilful as the writing is fine." Fans of The Piano Teacher and The Thirteenth Tale will find it irresistible and unforgettable.
.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Deltog i LibraryThing Förhandsrecensenter

Jane Harriss bok Gillespie and I delades ut via LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.96)
0.5 2
1 5
1.5
2 10
2.5 3
3 37
3.5 18
4 85
4.5 37
5 64

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 207,547,786 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig