HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey: The…
Laddar...

Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey: The Lost Legacy of Highclere… (utgåvan 2012)

av Countess Of Carnarvon (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1,2006012,068 (3.49)60
Tells the story behind Highclere Castle, the real-life inspiration and setting for Julian Fellowes's Emmy Award-winning PBS show, and the life of one of its most famous inhabitants, Lady Almina, the 5th Countess of Carnarvon.
Medlem:LadyMack
Titel:Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey: The Lost Legacy of Highclere Castle
Författare:Countess Of Carnarvon (Författare)
Info:Hodder Paperbacks (2012), 320 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

Lady Almina och verklighetens Downton Abbey av Fiona Carnarvon

  1. 30
    Lady Catherine, the Earl, and the Real Downton Abbey av Fiona Carnarvon (Taphophile13)
    Taphophile13: Almina Wombwell and Catherine Wendell both married into the Herbert family and each in turn became Countess of Carnarvon and mistress of Highclere Castle.
  2. 20
    Life Below Stairs: True Lives of Edwardian Servants av Alison Maloney (BookshelfMonstrosity)
Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 60 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 60 (nästa | visa alla)
Fascinating!
  Lweb80 | Nov 23, 2020 |
This book was fascinating. I really enjoy watching Downton Abbey and when I saw this book I just had to have it. The details about the people living at Highclere Castle are amazing. It was definitely interesting to learn how even the upper class was affected so much by the First World War. The inner workings of the castle staff and the grounds and how much everything costs is just astounding. I found it rather interesting that the 5th Earl was one of the people who found the Tomb of King Tut. I really enjoy Egyptian history, so I may just have to check out the discovery of his Tomb. ( )
  BelindaS7 | Apr 14, 2020 |
A deeper look into one of the mistresses who "ran" Highclere Castle at the turn of the century and through World War I. Instantly recognizable as the setting of Downton Abbey one of the descendants and current occupants recounts some of the lost history of the estate. Lady Almira married the 5th Earl of Carnarvon and with it came the beautiful estate of Highclere. Lady Almira's family was a bit of a scandal BUT she was an heiress so her marrying into the family was a godsend for the estate. She knew how to throw lavish parties and always looked for a challenge. She turned the castle into a hospital during the war and considered it one of the highlights of her life. Her husband was infamous himself, he was the man who financed the King Tut excavation and discovery. A fascinating history that focuses more on the family than the house. There are a lot of parallels from the show to the real story which is cool. There are also TONS of photos which is nice. A must read for fans of Downton Abbey and Edwardian England! ( )
  ecataldi | Mar 30, 2020 |
not terribly thrilled with the book. It started out interestingly enough, though it seemed a little scattered. The book comes off as being somewhat superficial; giving basic facts, but not all of the truths. It was obvious Almina had no idea the amounts of money she was spending and the men around her didn't have the courage to tell her and pull the purse strings. Perhaps it was normal for people of her stature to sell their Van Dykes or antique furniture to pay their ridiculous debts?
There's a slight mention of her second husband after the death of her first husband the 5th Earl, but it was all sugar coated that Almina was friends with the first wife and everything was cordial. Not so. Almina convinced her second husband to take her "friend", his first wife to court for black mail.
There's also a question as to how much money she actually had. According to this book, she made a "sharp" deal with the Metropolitan Museum and the King Tut antiquities founded with her money, but the 5th Earl of Carnarvon was in partnership with Mr. Carter. According to another source, her only son considered his mother a "scheming swindler."
I wouldn't recommend buying this book, but if you're interested in the history of the WWI, then borrow it from the library. ( )
  VhartPowers | Dec 27, 2018 |
De levensgeschiedenis van de 5de graaf van Carnarvon en zijn schatrijke vrouw Almina, onwettige dochter van Alfred Rothschild. ( )
  joucy | Nov 8, 2018 |
Visa 1-5 av 60 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Fiona Carnarvonprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
McCaddon, WandaBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For my husband and son, who I adore, and my beloved sisters
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
On Wednesday 26 June 1895, Miss Almina Victoria Marie Alexandra Wombwell, a startlingly pretty nineteen-year-old of somewhat dubious social standing, married George Edward Stanhope Molyneux Herbert, the 5th Earl of Carnarvon, at St Margaret's, Westminster.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska (1)

Tells the story behind Highclere Castle, the real-life inspiration and setting for Julian Fellowes's Emmy Award-winning PBS show, and the life of one of its most famous inhabitants, Lady Almina, the 5th Countess of Carnarvon.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.49)
0.5
1 1
1.5 2
2 22
2.5 4
3 85
3.5 18
4 77
4.5 7
5 25

Tantor Media

En utgåva av denna bok gavs ut av Tantor Media.

» Förlagets informationssida

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 159,052,628 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig