HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

A.I. Apocalypse av William Hertling
Laddar...

A.I. Apocalypse (utgåvan 2012)

av William Hertling (Författare)

Serier: Singularity (2)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1086194,579 (3.88)1
Leon Tsarev is a high school student set on getting into a great college program, until his uncle, a member of the Russian mob, coerces him into developing a new computer virus for the mob's botnet - the slave army of computers they used to commit digital crimes.The evolutionary virus Leon creates, based on biological principles, is successful -- too successful. All the world's computers are infected. Everything from cars to payment systems and, of course, computers and smart phones stop functioning, and with them go essential functions including emergency services, transportation, and the food supply. Billions may die.But evolution never stops. The virus continues to evolve, developing intelligence, communication, and finally an entire civilization. Some may be friendly to humans, but others are not. Leon and his companions must race against time and the military to find a way to either befriend or eliminate the virus race and restore the world's computer infrastructure.Praise for the Singularity Series: "Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring. Don't start without the time to finish - it won't let you go."-Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION"A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the emergent] machines."-Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group, cofounder TechStars"A fascinating look at how simple and benign advancements in technology could lead to the surprise arrival of the first AI. And like all good techno-thrillers, the reality of AI is less than ideal." -Jason Glaspey, SILICON FLORIST"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night."-Gene Kim, author of VISIBLE OPS… (mer)
Medlem:Fannon
Titel:A.I. Apocalypse
Författare:William Hertling (Författare)
Info:Liquididea Press (2012), 262 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:****
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

A.I. Apocalypse av William Hertling

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 1 omnämnande

Visa 1-5 av 6 (nästa | visa alla)
Very much liked the book. It may not be in anyway close to how an AI conflict escalate or expand but a very thrilling read. ( )
  FirstSpeaker | Apr 16, 2021 |
This was pretty good. Quite compelling at times. I was mostly just really disappointed in the Deus ex machina that suddenly appeared toward the end. I might let this be the end of the series for me for now. Maybe I’ll come back to it later. ( )
  livingtech | Mar 18, 2020 |
Great story, good characters, but the main heroes are the (multiple!) A.I.'s.
SF set in the near future, the technology only a few years away and some already in development.
Character development a little better, than in the first book, and also like-able characters.
Highly recommended what-if-scenario, good sequel to [b:Avogadro Corp|13184491|Avogadro Corp (Singularity #1)|William Hertling|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1410758407s/13184491.jpg|18281456].
This not part of a trilogy anymore, a fourth part has been published, with probably no end in sight.
You have been warned. Already bought the other two parts, not sure when I will read them, I will take a break from SF.
Recommended to fans of the first book, fans of [a:Daniel Suarez|1956402|Daniel Suarez|https://d.gr-assets.com/authors/1265394868p2/1956402.jpg] and [b:Das System|3231474|Das System|Karl Olsberg|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1328356896s/3231474.jpg|3265881]. ( )
  Ingo.Lembcke | Oct 27, 2015 |
Entertaining book my only remark is that the write cuts of the final plot of his books to abrupt.

( )
  Lorune | Jul 6, 2014 |
Finally, a computer oriented futuristic book written by someone that knows what he is talking about!
Loved this book, couldn't p.out it down until it was finished. Never read the first one in this series but it didn't seem to matter. Being a nerd myself, usually books about computer hackers etc really annoy me because the authors are more often than not half baked in their ideas or woefully behind the eight ball in their knowledge level. This author, on the other hand is another H.G. Wells!! Well done William :) ( )
  Mecaza | Jun 7, 2014 |
Visa 1-5 av 6 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska (1)

Leon Tsarev is a high school student set on getting into a great college program, until his uncle, a member of the Russian mob, coerces him into developing a new computer virus for the mob's botnet - the slave army of computers they used to commit digital crimes.The evolutionary virus Leon creates, based on biological principles, is successful -- too successful. All the world's computers are infected. Everything from cars to payment systems and, of course, computers and smart phones stop functioning, and with them go essential functions including emergency services, transportation, and the food supply. Billions may die.But evolution never stops. The virus continues to evolve, developing intelligence, communication, and finally an entire civilization. Some may be friendly to humans, but others are not. Leon and his companions must race against time and the military to find a way to either befriend or eliminate the virus race and restore the world's computer infrastructure.Praise for the Singularity Series: "Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring. Don't start without the time to finish - it won't let you go."-Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION"A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the emergent] machines."-Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group, cofounder TechStars"A fascinating look at how simple and benign advancements in technology could lead to the surprise arrival of the first AI. And like all good techno-thrillers, the reality of AI is less than ideal." -Jason Glaspey, SILICON FLORIST"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night."-Gene Kim, author of VISIBLE OPS

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

LibraryThing-författare

William Hertling är en LibraryThing-författare, en författare som lägger upp sitt personliga bibliotek på LibraryThing.

profilsida | författarsida

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.88)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 10
3.5 3
4 13
4.5
5 11

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 157,655,460 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig