HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Midshipman's hope av David Feintuch
Laddar...

Midshipman's hope (urspr publ 1994; utgåvan 1994)

av David Feintuch

Serier: Seafort Saga (1)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
7961221,205 (3.68)18
First in the military science fiction series that does "an excellent job of transferring Hornblower to interstellar space. A thoroughly enjoyable read" (David Drake). In the year 2194, seventeen-year-old Nicholas Seafort is assigned to the Hibernia as a lowly midshipman. Destination: the thriving colony of Hope Nation. But when a rescue attempt goes devastatingly wrong, Seafort is thrust into a leadership role he never anticipated. The other officers resent him, but Seafort must handle more dangerous problems, from a corrupted navigation computer to a deadly epidemic. Even Hope Nation has a nasty surprise in store. Seafort might be the crew's only hope . . .   This page-turning science fiction in the vein of Robert Heinlein and Orson Scott Card--with a dash of Horatio Hornblower--marks the captivating debut adventure in Feintuch's hugely popular Seafort Saga.… (mer)
Medlem:torgnye
Titel:Midshipman's hope
Författare:David Feintuch
Info:New York : Warner Books, 1994.
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:****
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

Midshipman's Hope av David Feintuch (1994)

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 18 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 12 (nästa | visa alla)
Lent to me by a friend

A long time since I have read sci fi

A rollicking read

Has encouraged me to go and try the c s forester series tonwhich it appears to have some resemblance

Big ship

21 August 2017 ( )
  bigship | Aug 21, 2017 |
This book is the first in a (too) long series about a man who rises through the interstellar navy due to circumstance and random opportunity. This book was a fun read, but do not go into it expecting much depth or intellectual thought. Taken for what it is, a fun sci fi novel, its a good one. ( )
  Hexum2600 | Feb 28, 2014 |
A fun, if a bit heavy transposition of the traditional British seagoing novel into a spacefleet of the future. A fascinating comparison to the Starfleet universe. ( )
  verbafacio | Apr 21, 2013 |
The cover blurb says this book is

In the triumphant tradition of Starship Troopers and Ender's Game

I disagree. Midshipman's Hope is nothing like either of those books, other than being military science fiction. What Midshipman's Hope is really like is Mr. Midshipman Hornblower or Master and Commander. Each of these works is about the Napoleonic British navy, and tell the tale of a young lad who grows to the fullness of command through daring and luck.

Feintuch's favorite period is apparently the Victorian, however. Whereas the Napoleonic navy offered plentiful opportunities for glory and treasure, the Victorians bestrode the world like a colossus, and consequently their navy had glorious traditions, but little to do other than swab the deck one more time. Enter Nicholas Seafort, first middy of the Hibernia. Space travel manages to be even slower than sail, with voyages of up to 18 months between worlds. This provides ample time to polish the bulkheads and study regulations.

The United Nations world government is a firm ally of the Yahwehist Reunification Church, a rather toothless low church version of the Church of England. While blasphemy is officially a capital offense, it is rarely invoked. In fact, the Reunion Church is broadly tolerant, not only of other sects, but also of every sexual vice and hedonistic practice imaginable, with the exception of carelessly procreating and smoking tobacco. Is is refreshing to see a reminder in fiction that theocratic societies aren't uniformly grim and repressive, but in fact can run the gamut from laxity to strictness.

The central psychological drama comes from Seafort's own rather Puritan upbringing. He is grim, loyal to a fault, and incapable of breaking an oath. This makes him simultaneously fascinating, and a bit depressing. Through a series of misadventures, Nick finds himself in command of the Hibernia, and he manages to do more right than wrong as Captain. But he cannot forgive himself for his failures, or sometimes even for his successes. Nick has no greater critic than himself, and in space, you have far too much time inside your own head.

There are not quite as many books in this series as either Hornblower or the Aubrey-Maturin collections, but 7 books should be enough to keep most people occupied for a while, if you can stand Nick Seafort. ( )
1 rösta bespen | Apr 4, 2013 |
The first time I picked this up I was just a young teenager who loved Science Fiction, but I didn't have the stomach for the story at the time. I was used to Hardy Boys and Star Trek novels. Books that had very straight forward morality and 90 percent of the time ended exactly how I knew they would. This book threw me for a loop.

But, when I went back and started it again, a few years later, I found that it is an engaging story that never shies away from an uncomfortable topic, from cancer (albeit cancer in the future) to unfaithfulness, to the fun stuff (mechanical/science fiction geeky fun and explosions at inopportune times). ( )
1 rösta DanieXJ | Mar 17, 2012 |
Visa 1-5 av 12 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (1 möjlig)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
David Feintuchprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Puckey, DonOmslagsformgivaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Youll, StephenOmslagmedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Being the first voyage of Nicholas Seafort, U.N.N.S., in the year of our Lord 2194
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
To Ragtime Rick of Toledo, and Ardath Mayhar, who made it possible, and to Jettie, who makes it worthwhile.
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
"Stand to!" I roared, but I was too late; even as Alexi and Sandy snapped to attention, Hibernia's two senior lieutenants strolled around the corridor bend.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

First in the military science fiction series that does "an excellent job of transferring Hornblower to interstellar space. A thoroughly enjoyable read" (David Drake). In the year 2194, seventeen-year-old Nicholas Seafort is assigned to the Hibernia as a lowly midshipman. Destination: the thriving colony of Hope Nation. But when a rescue attempt goes devastatingly wrong, Seafort is thrust into a leadership role he never anticipated. The other officers resent him, but Seafort must handle more dangerous problems, from a corrupted navigation computer to a deadly epidemic. Even Hope Nation has a nasty surprise in store. Seafort might be the crew's only hope . . .   This page-turning science fiction in the vein of Robert Heinlein and Orson Scott Card--with a dash of Horatio Hornblower--marks the captivating debut adventure in Feintuch's hugely popular Seafort Saga.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.68)
0.5 1
1 4
1.5 4
2 11
2.5 3
3 28
3.5 11
4 53
4.5 6
5 33

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 162,546,475 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig