HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The Eden Plague: Book 0 (Plague Wars Series)…
Laddar...

The Eden Plague: Book 0 (Plague Wars Series) (utgåvan 2014)

av David VanDyke (Författare)

Serier: Plague Wars (prequel), Plague Wars: Decade One (0)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1184179,914 (3.82)1
BOOK 1 OF THE SERIES. Rule#1: Don't shoot your future wife. When veteran combat medic Daniel Markis finds armed invaders in his home and it all goes sideways, he must find out why. On the run from the shadowy Company, Daniel turns to his brothers in arms to fight back, to get the answers he needs. Soon they take possession of a secret that threatens the stability of the world, as together they lead a conspiracy to change everything. The Eden Plague is a science-fiction military techno-thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Dean Koontz, Vaughn Heppner and B.V. Larson. Also from David VanDyke: The Plague Wars Series: - The Eden Plague - Reaper's Run - The Demon Plagues - The Reaper Plague - The Orion Plague - Comes the Destroyer PG-13 for language, violence and adult situations (non-explicit) See more from this author at davidvandykeauthor.com This book is free of DRM (Digital Rights Management)...because it's in print Loan it, sell it, let your dog chew on it Keywords: alien, virus, phage, special operations, humor, scientist, microbiologist, medical, action, gun, Virginia, nuclear, radiation, disease… (mer)
Medlem:savnac
Titel:The Eden Plague: Book 0 (Plague Wars Series)
Författare:David VanDyke (Författare)
Info:David VanDyke (2014), Edition: 6, 302 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:default, to-read

Verkdetaljer

The Eden Plague av David VanDyke

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 1 omnämnande

Visar 4 av 4
Interesting concept.. A "plague" that actually heals people ! Great characters and well done action scenes. Read this one after the Reaper book but did not impact my enjoyment. ( )
  Mecaza | Aug 2, 2016 |
ABR's original The Eden Plague audiobook review and many others can be found at Audiobook Reviewer.

This one was the most difficult book that I’ve read, or in this case listened to, in a long time. I felt so disconnected from the story. The good thing about a book is being able to go back in a paragraph or page if you’re not catching something, but with audio, it is much more difficult if you miss something.

That said, I feel like I missed an entire book. I did not resonate with any of it. I thought I would really enjoy it since it is dystopian but I did not connect with the characters. Had I purchased the book and not requested it I probably would have set it aside. Well, I did set it aside, multiple times, but kept going back to it so I could get the audio review done. Nothing worked for me other than the audio was perfect and the narration was great.

This is much more militaristic than I imagined. That may have been my first hiccup. The way the Eden Plague actually works was very interesting and did peak my curiosity for a while, but then I would lose my place and get mired in the lack of wanting to read it!

So, in short I chalk this up to this book just not being for me. I think someone that enjoys Sci fi with a militaristic view would love this. The ending was rushed a bit but overall it wound up okay.

Audiobook purchased for review by ABR. ( )
  audiobibliophile | Nov 13, 2015 |
Good military science fiction. The author's military background is evident, but he also does a good job of keeping the science plausible, with the exception of the coda. Characters are also good, again with a single exception - the token black guy (if you have to include a token black guy, you can at least make him more than just a stereotype). ( )
  Audacity88 | Aug 10, 2014 |
The premise of the story is interesting. I enjoyed reading about all the characters. Once I entered the story, I was hooked! As I kept reading frantically - page after gripping page - I felt the suspense building with such severe intensity that I was biting my nails to the quick! As I anxiously turned the pages, the plot unexpectedly twisted. The storyline was so enticing that I couldn't put it down; I just had to know what happened next!

It’s a very well thought out story and in a way what happened in the book is not totally impossible, and the characters are very believable. Well written in a profession style. The pace and timing of 'events'.. Spot on. And just when I thought the 'prologue' was a harmless and innocuous little forerunner... WOW! The cover art... an image that's attractive and eye-catching. Nicely hinting at things to come.

If you want to try a new author and to step out of the box, make it this guy, you won't be disappointed. Highly recommended. ( )
  MaryAnn12 | Sep 9, 2013 |
Visar 4 av 4
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

BOOK 1 OF THE SERIES. Rule#1: Don't shoot your future wife. When veteran combat medic Daniel Markis finds armed invaders in his home and it all goes sideways, he must find out why. On the run from the shadowy Company, Daniel turns to his brothers in arms to fight back, to get the answers he needs. Soon they take possession of a secret that threatens the stability of the world, as together they lead a conspiracy to change everything. The Eden Plague is a science-fiction military techno-thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Dean Koontz, Vaughn Heppner and B.V. Larson. Also from David VanDyke: The Plague Wars Series: - The Eden Plague - Reaper's Run - The Demon Plagues - The Reaper Plague - The Orion Plague - Comes the Destroyer PG-13 for language, violence and adult situations (non-explicit) See more from this author at davidvandykeauthor.com This book is free of DRM (Digital Rights Management)...because it's in print Loan it, sell it, let your dog chew on it Keywords: alien, virus, phage, special operations, humor, scientist, microbiologist, medical, action, gun, Virginia, nuclear, radiation, disease

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.82)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 4
3.5 3
4 7
4.5 1
5 2

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 159,076,128 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig