HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

As vinhas de La Templanza (Portuguese…
Laddar...

As vinhas de La Templanza (Portuguese Edition) (urspr publ 2015; utgåvan 2018)

av María Dueñas (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1799120,535 (3.55)7
"New York Times bestselling author Maria Duenas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah. Mauro Larrea's fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the widow of a London wine merchant who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her family's legacy. Before long, Mauro finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory, propelling himself toward a future that he never could have imagined. From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, when the wine trade with England transformed the Andalusian city, Maria Duenas' new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, the sophistication of the Mexican capital, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion"--… (mer)
Medlem:zemac
Titel:As vinhas de La Templanza (Portuguese Edition)
Författare:María Dueñas (Författare)
Info:Porto Editora (2018)
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

The Vineyard av María Dueñas (2015)

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 7 omnämnanden

engelska (4)  katalanska (2)  spanska (2)  tyska (1)  Alla språk (9)
Visa 1-5 av 9 (nästa | visa alla)
Cheesy predictable soap opera.
At times it feels like a unpolished draft. Characters make unexplained leaps and details are lacking when other places they are explicit. The man character flips between stoic self-made high class businessman and impulsive, selfish renegade. He has a trusted advisor whom he repeatedly ignores and a 15 yr loyal servant who he treats like a rookie. His decisions are not logical but the author treats them as if there are no alternative options.
At other times, the story reads like the author is hoping her story will be made into a movie. There are many locations and scenes that would be big budget but impactful and entertaining on screen. Mexico to Cuba to Spain, plenty of saloons, balls, mansions, sweeping vistas and cultural locations to keep it interesting. Plus a lot of drama at every turn. Obviously there is a love story to cap it all off.
Read A Time in Between by this author and give this one a pass. Or take it to the beach, where it does work. ( )
  LDVoorberg | Nov 22, 2020 |
Mayores de 18 años
  Alba26 | Aug 23, 2019 |
Don't be fooled by the rather romantic cover. Agreed, it is a slightly romantic novel, but this is so much more. It all starts when the Spanish-born widower Mauro Larrea gets into financial trouble and loses his wealth in Mexico. He thinks up a plan to regain his fortune but things work out rather differently than planned. I loved this book because Mauro is such a character, the historical setting is genuine and original, the story is excellent and the style is lovely. I'm very much looking forward to reading other books by Maria Dueñas because she seems to be an author who can tell a story! Loved it. ( )
  Trifolia | Mar 15, 2018 |
Mauro Larrea wollte in Mexiko sein Glück machen, nachdem er als Witwer mit zwei kleinen Kindern Spanien verlassen hat. Er hat es mit viel Einsatz und Glück auch geschafft. Doch dann trifft er eine falsche Entscheidung und steht nun vor dem Nichts. Er regelt noch einiges und macht sich auf nach Kuba, um dort wieder zu Geld zu kommen, denn er hat nicht viel Zeit, um seine Schulden zu begleichen. Aber dann bringt ihn das Schicksal zurück nach Spanien und dort verliert er sein Herz an Soledat Montalvo.
Das Buch hat mich begeistert. Der bildhafte Schreibstil lässt sich wundervoll lesen und man kann sich dadurch alles sehr gut vorstellen. Ich finde es faszinierend, wie jemand wie Mauro versucht, immer wieder auf die Beine zu kommen und sich von Widrigkeiten nicht schrecken lässt.
Mauro Larrea geht bei seinen Geschäften auf volles Risiko, sonst wäre er auch nicht zu einem angesehensten Silberminen-Besitzer in Mexiko geworden. Sein Freund und Prokurist Elías Andrade berät ihn und versucht gegenzusteuern, aber Mauro handelt oft impulsiv und geht trotzdem Risiken ein. Auch nach seine Fehlentscheidung geht er so vor, denn sonst wäre wirklich alles verloren. Chancen, die sich ihm bieten, ergreift er, und so gerät er von einem Problem zum nächsten und die Frauen tragen ihren Teil dazu bei. Dabei ist er aber keineswegs unsympathisch. Gut gefallen hat mir auch sein Diener Santos, der treu zu ihm steht. Aber daneben gibt es noch eine ganze Reihe von Personen, die alle sehr individuell und gut dargestellt sind.
Es ist eine sehr abenteuerliche Geschichte, die wir mit Mauro Larrea, der nach dem Motto „Wer nicht wagt, der nicht gewinnt“ handelt, erleben dürfen.
Mich hat das Buch von Anfang an gefesselt. ( )
  buecherwurm1310 | Jan 9, 2018 |
The Vineyard by María Dueñas is a fictional book set in the mid 18th Century in Mexico, Cuba, and Spain. Ms. Dueñas was born in Spain and is a university professor of English and Literature, this is her third novel in English.

Mauro Larrea has built his fortune with his own two hands, first toiling at mines and then owning them. But Larrea’s fortunes come tumbling down along with the Mexican economy and he sees his hard work being wiped away almost overnight.

In a last ditch effort to save his fortune and good name, Larrea puts it all on the line on a daring move that he believes can reinstitute his fortune. In an unplanned move, he somehow finds himself owning a vineyard in Spain, fighting for both his good name, his fortune and, of course, a woman.

It took me awhile to figure it out, but once I started reading this novel I immediately realized that I read the author’s previous book Time in Between, a novel following the life of a Spanish woman’s journey from her humble beginnings as a poor seamstress, to an English spy during World War II. I enjoyed The Time in Between very much which set the bar for The Vineyard by María Dueñas in a high plain.

María Dueñas’ narrative is delicious, she takes her time building her story and acquainting the readers with her characters. I truly felt, almost, as if I was reading this book in Spanish (I wish I would be able to) because I feel that I missed a lot of the character’s expressions and geographical speech patterns which are missing from English translation.

This book is long, but it’s a satisfying read – something which I rarely say about translated books (which I love) because something is always missing. The author beautifully weaved the diverse cast, a lyrical narrative, and painted scenery to achieve a complex picture through words.

For more reviews and bookish posts please visit: http://www.ManOfLaBook.com ( )
  ZoharLaor | Nov 2, 2017 |
Visa 1-5 av 9 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (1 möjlig)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
María Dueñasprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Caistor, NickÖversättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Garcia, LorenzaÖversättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Ramer, NadiaÖversättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den spanska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den spanska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den ryska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den spanska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"New York Times bestselling author Maria Duenas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah. Mauro Larrea's fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the widow of a London wine merchant who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her family's legacy. Before long, Mauro finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory, propelling himself toward a future that he never could have imagined. From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, when the wine trade with England transformed the Andalusian city, Maria Duenas' new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, the sophistication of the Mexican capital, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion"--

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.55)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5
3 6
3.5 2
4 8
4.5
5 3

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 163,200,816 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig