HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Island Of A Thousand Mirrors av Nayomi…
Laddar...

Island Of A Thousand Mirrors (utgåvan 2016)

av Nayomi Munaweera (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner / Omnämnanden
2421887,215 (4)1 / 25
"Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara's and her siblings' lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents' ambitions, teenage love and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodhara's family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodhara's life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girl's... Saraswathie is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka, and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoid - a conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways. In the tradition of Michael Ondatjee's Anil's Ghost and Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things, Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to come"--… (mer)
Medlem:sunshani
Titel:Island Of A Thousand Mirrors
Författare:Nayomi Munaweera (Författare)
Info:Griffin (2016), Edition: Illustrated, 288 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

Island of a Thousand Mirrors: A Novel av Nayomi Munaweera

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Visa 1-5 av 18 (nästa | visa alla)
I registered this book at BookCrossing.com!
http://www.BookCrossing.com/journal/12549026

Two women grow up in Sri Lanka during the Sri Lankan civil war: Yasodhara grows up in a thriving Sinhalan community, privileged and forward-looking. Saraswathi, from a desperately poor Tamil family, works hard at her small school, hoping to replace the teacher eventually. Yasodhara ultimately leaves Sri Lanka for the United States, while Yasodhara suffers a fate that defines her life and that of others from then on.

I wanted to like this more than I did. It was hard for me to connect with any of the characters until I was well into the book, over halfway through. The story of Saraswathi begins well into the book as well, almost seems an afterthought at the time, and we don't get to know her as well as we get to know Yasodhara.

Although I didn't love the book I recommend it. It illuminates part of the conflict from the ground, making it clear that it is an age-old story. It further illustrates the point that it is hard to hate someone when you know their story. ( )
  slojudy | Sep 8, 2020 |
Surprised this has such high ratings. I had come across the author Nayomi Munaweera via another book of hers but this sounded interesting. Two families eventually come together in a tragedy during the civil war in Sri Lanka. The book follows two girls and eventually women as they grow up in the shadow of conflict in Sri Lanka. One eventually flees the country and goes back to the United States. Another stays but is irrevocably changed after being sexually assaulted by soldiers and is cast out of her family. The choices the characters make ends in a horrible, violent end for some leaving the survivors to best pick up the pieces and go on.
 
Or something like that. The book splits between two characters (I can't stand this device!) and one is infinitely more interesting and better-developed than the other. Many of the other criticisms also hold too: there are too many characters and even with the help of the family tree in the front of my book I didn't find it very helpful or interesting telling people apart or their relationships with each other. The civil war is in the background but it's somewhat difficult to understand what it is that we're supposed to care about or why this is important.
 
Also, I personally found the writing to be very frustrating. It was skimmable but not particularly engrossing. Time flows forward but I found it interesting that one character seems to adjust (mostly) after fleeing Sri Lanka without much emotional upheaval or development. For some reason that comes later in the form of a silly plot device of an unfaithful spouse and a decision to return to Sri Lanka. And as mentioned another character is raped but I didn't quite understand her drive to become a soldier other than being cast out by her family. I didn't feel much sense of sadness after reading how she stuffs a gun into a soldier's mouth and pulls the trigger without much feeling behind it.
 
Overall I'd say there was some great potential but it wasn't something that would drive me to read any more of the author's work. This was her first book but the other I've read by Munaweera 'What Lies Between Us' also wasn't exactly a page-turner for me either.
 
It's too bad because I'm not sure if I've read much by any other Sri Lankan author but I guess this just wasn't for me. Borrow from the library if you're really interested but I wouldn't rush out to read either this or 'Between'. ( )
  HoldMyBook | Feb 11, 2018 |
If you're wondering how someone could possibly become a terrorist, this would be the book for you. ( )
  CydMelcher | Feb 5, 2016 |
If you're wondering how someone could possibly become a terrorist, this would be the book for you. ( )
  CydMelcher | Feb 5, 2016 |
If you're wondering how someone could possibly become a terrorist, this would be the book for you. ( )
  CydMelcher | Feb 5, 2016 |
Visa 1-5 av 18 (nästa | visa alla)
It's hard to comprehend the toll Sri Lanka's civil war took on the South Asian country. The United Nations estimates that between 80,000 and 100,000 people lost their lives in the conflict — all on an island just slightly larger than West Virginia.

Ethnic tensions between two main ethnic groups in Sri Lanka — the majority Sinhalese and minority Tamils — simmered through the '60s and '70s. The civil war officially began in 1983 and continued until 2009
 
In one of the many startling scenes in “Island of a Thousand Mirrors,” Nayomi Munaweera’s first novel, a Sri Lankan girl riding the train to school is suddenly surrounded by a machete-wielding mob, who demand proof she isn’t Tamil. In her panic, she recites the Buddhist sutras “preaching unattachment, impermanence, the inevitability of death,” an unholy trinity that could apply to all civil wars. ... Still, Saraswathi’s voice never rings true; her experiences are heart-rending, but they seem to smother any glimpse of what distinguishes her from other girls weaponized by the Tamil Tigers.
 
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara's and her siblings' lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents' ambitions, teenage love and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodhara's family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodhara's life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girl's... Saraswathie is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka, and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoid - a conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways. In the tradition of Michael Ondatjee's Anil's Ghost and Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things, Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to come"--

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 2
3 10
3.5 2
4 18
4.5 4
5 14

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 163,417,347 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig