HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Die Poeten der Nacht av Barry McCrea
Laddar...

Die Poeten der Nacht (urspr publ 2005; utgåvan 2008)

av Barry McCrea, Bettina Stoll, Barry McCrea (Författare), Bettina Stoll (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
2331488,233 (3.41)7
This memorable debut novel explores Dublin's every corner, including a first-of-its-kind portrayal of its thriving gay nightlife, through the eyes of a young man seduced by a secret society's ancient reading rituals, based on the sortes virgilianae. In brilliant prose, author Barry McCrea gives readers a psychologically gripping tale set within the intertwining worlds of literature and the living. When freshman Niall Lenihan moves to Trinity College, he dives into unfamiliar social scenes, quickly becoming fascinated by a reclusive pair of students--literary "mystics" who let signs and symbols from books determine their actions. Reluctantly, they admit him to their private sessions, and what begins as an intriguing game for Niall becomes increasingly esoteric, dramatic, and addictive. As Niall discovers the true nature of the pursuits in which he has become entangled, The First Verse traces a young man's search for identity, companionship, and a cult's shadowy origins in the pages of literature and the people of a city. Fans of Donna Tartt's The Secret History or Patricia Highsmith's The Talented Mr. Ripley will be mesmerized by the strange, page-turning world of this astonishing first novel from a dazzling new literary voice.… (mer)
Medlem:Taavia
Titel:Die Poeten der Nacht
Författare:Barry McCrea
Andra författare:Bettina Stoll, Barry McCrea (Författare), Bettina Stoll (Författare)
Info:Aufbau-Verlag (2008), Edition: 1, Gebundene Ausgabe, 427 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

The First Verse av Barry McCrea (2005)

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 7 omnämnanden

engelska (8)  spanska (4)  tyska (2)  Alla språk (14)
Visa 1-5 av 14 (nästa | visa alla)
A wonderful, weird novel that I found absolutely riveting. Niall Lenihan, newly arrived at Trinity College, Dublin, gets involved with a group of students who open books at random and let their eyes fall on a line on the page. They treat these lines as a kind of Ouija board, and follow their cryptic "instructions" all over Dublin, and into all kinds of acts. Whether Niall's increasing obsession with the game is a descent into madness or is being driven by other forces, is not...exactly...decided for the reader. JMO, but I could not put it down. ( )
  nickelshrink | Nov 14, 2015 |
This book is mesmerising, intoxicating and haunting. I felt drawn into the disturbing world of bibliomancy much like the young protagonist of the book, Niall. Perhaps unsurprisingly there are dangerous shadows of spirituality in what they undertake and I found that very unsettling. The reader is drawn deeper and deeper into their world just as they are drawn deeper.

I do not fully understand this book and although it has the pace of a thriller there is no comforting resolution, despite what some of the other reviewers have said here. This adds to the unsettling nature of this book. I feel as if I should be able to understand what it all means and that somehow I've missed the code to unlock the secret. It makes me want to read it again and I want others to read it so that we can talk about it! ( )
1 rösta NeilDalley | Apr 6, 2012 |
Cuando Niall inicia su estancia en el Trinity College de Dublín, se siente fascinado de inmediato por una pareja de estudiantes algo extraños e introspectivos. Poco a poco intima con estos peculiares amigos y descubre que siguen un insólito culto literario que al principio parece un juego inocente y que se revela como una intrigante y peligrosa adicción ( )
  kika66 | Dec 16, 2010 |
Der Roman verspricht eindeutig mehr als er hält. Zwar ist die Idee der Sortes nett und irgendwie bekommt man Lust darauf, selbst auszuprobieren, ob einem Bücher durch wahlloses Herausgreifen eines Satzes wirklich den Weg weisen oder bei Entscheidungen helfen können. DIe Hauptfigur Niall ist ganz gut charakterisiert, ihn schwul sein zu lassen und sein Commingout zu thematisieren ist eimal etwas anderes. Aber das Buch wird mit zunehmender Länge immer unspannender, die Spannungsbögen können nicht aufrecht erhalten werden und der Schluss ist sehr konfus und scheint wenig überlegt. Dem ganzen Roman hätten wohl 150 Seiten weniger ganz gut getan. ( )
  koanmi | Jun 11, 2010 |
Visa 1-5 av 14 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

Ingår i förlagsserien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den tyska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Information från den tyska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den tyska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Für Ludovico
Inledande ord
Information från den tyska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Schliesslich gab ich mein neues Leben und die Menschen auf, die mir geholfen hatten, es aufzubauen, und kehrte zurück in die Welt der rätselhaften Spiele und geheimen Systeme, aus der sie mich zuvor befreit hatten.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den tyska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den tyska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska (1)

This memorable debut novel explores Dublin's every corner, including a first-of-its-kind portrayal of its thriving gay nightlife, through the eyes of a young man seduced by a secret society's ancient reading rituals, based on the sortes virgilianae. In brilliant prose, author Barry McCrea gives readers a psychologically gripping tale set within the intertwining worlds of literature and the living. When freshman Niall Lenihan moves to Trinity College, he dives into unfamiliar social scenes, quickly becoming fascinated by a reclusive pair of students--literary "mystics" who let signs and symbols from books determine their actions. Reluctantly, they admit him to their private sessions, and what begins as an intriguing game for Niall becomes increasingly esoteric, dramatic, and addictive. As Niall discovers the true nature of the pursuits in which he has become entangled, The First Verse traces a young man's search for identity, companionship, and a cult's shadowy origins in the pages of literature and the people of a city. Fans of Donna Tartt's The Secret History or Patricia Highsmith's The Talented Mr. Ripley will be mesmerized by the strange, page-turning world of this astonishing first novel from a dazzling new literary voice.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.41)
0.5
1 3
1.5 1
2 2
2.5 2
3 10
3.5 2
4 13
4.5 2
5 5

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 159,030,685 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig