HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

Lögnen

av Jacqueline Winspear

Andra författare: Se under Andra författare.

Serier: Maisie Dobbs (3)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
2,3661106,647 (3.91)256
A deathbed plea from his wife leads Sir Cecil Lawton to seek the aid of Maisie Dobbs, psychologist and investigator. As Maisie soon learns, Agnes Lawton never accepted that her aviator son was killed in the Great War, a torment that led her not only to the edge of madness but to the doors of those who practice the dark arts and commune with the spirit world. In accepting the assignment, Maisie finds her spiritual strength tested, as well as her regard for her mentor, Maurice Blanche. The mission also brings her together once again with her college friend Priscilla Evernden, who served in France and who lost three brothers to the war-one of whom, it turns out, had an intriguing connection to the missing Ralph Lawton. Following on the heels of the triumphant Birds of a Feather, Pardonable lies is the most compelling installment yet in the chronicles of Maisie Dobbs.… (mer)
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 256 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 109 (nästa | visa alla)
Third installment in this well-crafted mystery series set in post WW1 England. Maisie is an interesting heroine, and in this outing she faces danger from many directions. The author is really good at building tension and providing satisfying resolutions to tie up all the loose ends in the final pages. ( )
  Octavia78 | Jul 6, 2024 |
Londres, 1930. Maisie Dobbs tiene su propia agencia de detectives en Londres y no le faltan los clientes. Por una parte, Scotland Yard le pide su colaboración para la resolución de un asesinato del que acusan a una joven campesina, y sir Cecil Lawton, un afamado abogado que acaba de enviudar, le encomienda a Maisie una delicada misión: confirmar la muerte de su hijo, desaparecido durante la Gran Guerra. Una nueva entrega del mejor cozy crime internacional. ( )
  fewbach | Oct 20, 2023 |
This one would have gotten 4 stars except for a killer that came completely out of left field. Insufficient foreshadowing left the villain feeling like a last minute addition and part of an unrelated story, altogether. ( )
  AMKitty | Aug 23, 2023 |
Third installment in this well-crafted mystery series set in post WW1 England. Maisie is an interesting heroine, and in this outing she faces danger from many directions. The author is really good at building tension and providing satisfying resolutions to tie up all the loose ends in the final pages. ( )
  Octavia78 | Jul 26, 2023 |
I absolutely love the Maisie Dobbs books. She is such an intriguing character that each book leaves you wanting to know her a little bit better. I enjoyed how the author managed to link together the primary plot with two smaller subplots without it seeming to be forced. ( )
  Fish_Witch | Jul 4, 2023 |
Visa 1-5 av 109 (nästa | visa alla)
Fans of Miss Marple and Precious Ramotswe are sure to embrace Maisie, a pitch-perfect blend of compassion and panache
tillagd av khuggard | ändraBooklist
 
A thought-provoking series entry, the story contains revelations of secret missions, homosexuality, the lives of persons from all layers of society, and a winning heroine who is not perfect and is willing to learn from her mistakes
tillagd av khuggard | ändraSchool Library Journal
 
Winspear writes seamlessly, enriching the whole with vivid details of English life on a variety of social levels.
tillagd av khuggard | ändraPublishers Weekly
 

» Lägg till fler författare (6 möjliga)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Winspear, Jacquelineprimär författarealla utgåvorbekräftat
Bronswijk, Ineke vanÖversättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Davidson, AndrewOmslagmedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Jaramillo, RaquelOmslagsformgivaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Truly, to tell lies is not honorable;
but when the truth entails tremendous ruin,
to speak dishonorably is pardonable.

--Sophocles (c. 496-406 B.C.), Creusa
Pile the bodies high at Austerlitz and Waterloo.
Shovel them under and let me work--
I am the grass; I cover all.
And pile them high at Gettysburg
And pile them high at Ypres and Verdun.
Shovel them under and let me work.
Two years, ten years, and passengers ask the conductor:
What place is this?
Where are we now?

I am the grass.
Let me work.

--Carl Sandburg (1878-1967), Grass
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For Anne-Marie
With much love and gratitude
for our lifetime friendship.
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
The young policewoman stood in the corner of the room.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

A deathbed plea from his wife leads Sir Cecil Lawton to seek the aid of Maisie Dobbs, psychologist and investigator. As Maisie soon learns, Agnes Lawton never accepted that her aviator son was killed in the Great War, a torment that led her not only to the edge of madness but to the doors of those who practice the dark arts and commune with the spirit world. In accepting the assignment, Maisie finds her spiritual strength tested, as well as her regard for her mentor, Maurice Blanche. The mission also brings her together once again with her college friend Priscilla Evernden, who served in France and who lost three brothers to the war-one of whom, it turns out, had an intriguing connection to the missing Ralph Lawton. Following on the heels of the triumphant Birds of a Feather, Pardonable lies is the most compelling installment yet in the chronicles of Maisie Dobbs.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.91)
0.5
1 1
1.5 2
2 16
2.5 7
3 151
3.5 70
4 367
4.5 31
5 149

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 208,645,296 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig