HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

The Toy Taker

av Luke Delaney

Andra författare: Se under Andra författare.

Serier: DI Sean Corrigan (3)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
602440,195 (3.67)Ingen/inga
The third novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series - authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride. Your child has been taken... Snatched in the dead of night from the safety of the family home. There's no sign of forced entry, no one heard or saw a thing. DI Sean Corrigan investigates. He needs to find four-year-old George Bridgeman before abduction becomes murder. But his ability to see into dark minds, to think like those he hunts, has deserted him - just when he needs it most. Another child vanishes. What kind of monster is Corrigan hunting? And will he work it out in time to save the children?… (mer)
Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

Visar 2 av 2
I have to start my review by saying that The Toy Taker is a fast paced crime thriller that had me on the edge of my seat. I actually have The Keeper, which is the second in the series, but I did not realize it until I was already immersed in this one.

As the book opens, we get inside the kidnappers head as he breaks into the home of an affluent couple in London and kidnaps four-year-old George Bridgeman while the family is asleep.
His mother doesn’t realize her son is missing until the next morning. There is no sign of forced entry or of a struggle and police are stumped as to who entered and exited the house without leaving a trace.

Just when Detective Corrigan thinks he has the person who did it in custody, another child is taken and Corrigan and his team find themselves at square one again with time running out.

As the story flows you get alternating POV’s of different characters. I found this worked particularly well here because as the police work the case, find different leads and uncover clues, it feels like you are in on the investigation as well.

I liked Sean Corrigan from the start, he’s meant to be a detective, thrives on the hunt for bad guys and wants to help the victims. He’s a multi faceted character as he struggles to juggle home life with working long, stressful hours. I like the London/Scotland Yard backdrop and found this one to be a gritty, suspenseful read.

I had my concerns about reading a book revolving around children being kidnapped and possibly abused because that is not subject matter I read. I figured I would have to skip a few passages if anything got too detailed, which I did. My skipping parts was more towards the latter half of the book.

The side characters added to the intensity of story, like the sets of parents and their reactions to their children being taken as well as how they treated the cops. Corrigan's team are trying everything they can to catch the kidnapper and he himself is under intense pressure as the clock ticks. On top of that, the case gathers alot of public attention as the media reports on it.
I found that Luke Delaney has a knack for creating suspense and for revealing layers of the story slowly enough to keep you drawn in and guessing. The author has a background as a police officer and his knowledge on procedures and the investigation is evident. There is a bit of a twist as far as who took the children and I hoped the kids would be brought back safely. I myself did not figure out who did it, until I began to read the story from the kidnappers POV.

Overall, a thrilling and suspenseful book that had me hooked.
Disclaimer: This review is my honest opinion. I did not receive any kind of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I am under no obligation to write a positive review. My free review copy of The Toy Taker (D.I. Sean Corrigan #3) by Luke Delaney arrived via HarperCollins.

read my full review here
https://bookwormnai.wordpress.com/2015/08/07/the-toy-taker-d-i-sean-corrigan-3-b... ( )
  bookworm_naida | Aug 6, 2015 |
The Return of the Brilliant DI Corrigan

Luke Delaney has written another brilliant crime thriller in the DI Sean Corrigan series and takes him to yet another level and more importantly leave the reader guessing all the way to the end of the book. With all crime novels we always get the who, what and the why, in this novel you have to discover whether those are answered fully and only you can make that decision.

The Toy Taker is six months on for DI Sean Corrigan from his previous outing in The Keeper and his team have not had any real action for those six months, still based in Peckham his team are happy but in serious need of some action and more importantly some overtime to help with the cost of London living. That is until Assistant Commissioner Addis decides they need to move to Scotland Yard and become his Special Investigations Unit, and he hands them a case that looks like a missing persons case and applies the pressure for the case to be solved quickly and quietly as possible, not everything goes towards Addis’ plan.

Someone is breaking in to houses at night, by being able to pick locks avoid alarms walk through the house and take a child, lock up behind and leave no trace of him being there. This someone is taking children from the rich and affluent of Hampstead and Primrose Hill and leaving nothing for Corrigan to use his skills to crack the case. With every missing child the pressure is cranked up on Corrigan even more so when one child turns up dead on the grave of a former Met Police Officer and VC hero.

Will Corrigan be able to crack the case from what little he has? What is clear that it is driving him to distraction he cannot focus and he cannot see any link between the abductions. He needs a lucky break and whether he can get it depends on what he can read from all the crime scenes and he is worried that he just cannot see what is in front of him.

This book is an excellent crime thriller which really keeps you on the edge of the seat and turning pages because you want to know who will succeed Corrigan or The Toy Taker. It is touch and go all the way to the end of the book and only then do you discover the answer, whether you are satisfied with that answer is a different matter. ( )
  atticusfinch1048 | Feb 5, 2014 |
Visar 2 av 2
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (3 möjliga)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Luke Delaneyprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Bowerman, RobinBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den tyska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Information från den tyska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den tyska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

The third novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series - authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride. Your child has been taken... Snatched in the dead of night from the safety of the family home. There's no sign of forced entry, no one heard or saw a thing. DI Sean Corrigan investigates. He needs to find four-year-old George Bridgeman before abduction becomes murder. But his ability to see into dark minds, to think like those he hunts, has deserted him - just when he needs it most. Another child vanishes. What kind of monster is Corrigan hunting? And will he work it out in time to save the children?

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.67)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 2
4 3
4.5
5 1

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 206,941,024 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig