HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural…
Laddar...

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution (urspr publ 1997; utgåvan 2018)

av Ji-li Jiang (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1,859506,573 (3.91)14
Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl's courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author. It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution--and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart. Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life. Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.… (mer)
Medlem:HWISPANJ
Titel:Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution
Författare:Ji-li Jiang (Författare)
Info:HarperCollins (2018), Edition: Reprint, 320 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution av Ji-li Jiang (1997)

  1. 10
    A Daughter of Han: The Autobiography of a Chinese Working Woman av Ida Pruitt (cammykitty)
    cammykitty: This predates the Cultural Revolution and is not suitable for young adult readers as Red Scarf Girl is, but it does give a great look at the experiences that were part of the "Four Olds" that the revolution wanted to destroy.
  2. 00
    God Is Red: The Secret Story of How Christianity Survived and Flourished in Communist China av Liao Yiwu (kathleen.morrow)
  3. 00
    Chinese Cinderella: The True Story of an Unwanted Daughter av Adeline Yen Mah (meggyweg)
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 14 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 50 (nästa | visa alla)
Excellent Memoir of a Turbulent Time

"Red Scarf Girl" by Jiang Ji-Li covers the two years of Jiang's life in which the Cultural Revolution most effects her family. It is an intense and emotional book. The target audience is middle-school and junior high students but the book can be read quickly by adult readers.

As the book opens, Jiang is a wide-eyed member of the Red Guard, promising to uphold Mao's ideas of communism. She is a model student in Shanghai with expectations of going to an elite junior high. Quickly, however, the Cultural Revolution turns on her own family and her family falls victim.

The book is not a comprehensive history of the Cultural Revolution. It is a simple, jarring account of one girl's tragic experience. We do not learn about the political struggles in Beijing, cow sheds, or "sent down youth," but there are insights into work units and their factions, house raids, and daily life. ( )
  mvblair | Aug 8, 2020 |
It was amazing, well-written, and touching. I'm really glad to have read it. ( )
  barajash29 | Jan 22, 2020 |
This was a difficult book. The author recounts her experiences as a 12–14-year old during the Cultural Revolution in China. She tells the story in a very matter-of-fact way. I'm sure things were different in different places, but my recollections of the time is that things sounded pretty horrible, and, of course, I wasn't even there. But, this helps confirm my recollections.

We did, however, have some sense of the cultural revolution even here in the U.S. We had a group of nitwits running around with Mao's little red book. I know their hearts were in the right place, but they were clearly not very bright. They thought that if they brought down "the system", everyone would suddenly become moral and holy and get along like lions with lambs. Likely those nitwits have turned into libertarians now: same kind of naive stupidity. [But I digress....sorry].

I read this, in part, because the parents of my soon-to-be, son-in-law, Victor, were swept up in the Cultural Revolution. They had been teachers who were sent into the country side to be agricultural workers for ten years (nope! they were teachers in the countryside). This process was to reeducate them in some way. I'm not sure how, and Victor wasn't much interested in telling me more. Unlike Jiang Ji-li, the author, who still espouses a strong affection for the country of her birth, our Victor's parents aren't much interested in going back, and Victor himself has zero interest in ever visiting the country of his parents' birth. [According to Victor's father, the greatest horror was in having no sense that a decent future was possible, no idea what might happen next. Fortunately, they did have a future: after 10 or so years, they came here and prospered.]

I dunno, there's a lesson in all this. When a charismatic leader, who is also a supreme narcissist with little interest in effective governance, takes control of things, bad things are bound to ensue. And so they did; and so they always have, and so, I fear, they will again.
( )
  lgpiper | Jun 21, 2019 |
The gender difference is an important issue of investigation in Chinese Cultural Revolution research, and it arises from the different accounts of personal encounters during the Cultural Revolution period. The Red Scarf Girl is an engaging memoir of a bright girl whose life was hugely impacted by the Cultural Revolution, with her father imprisoned and once close neighbors becoming enemies. She had to choose, absurdly, between to save her father and herself, and to follow the instructions of Chairman Mao. ( )
  WillowMa | Apr 1, 2017 |
It was so sad, I hated when she had to work in the rice fields. ( )
  Brinlie.Jill.Searle | Nov 22, 2016 |
Visa 1-5 av 50 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
I was born on Chinese New Year.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska (2)

Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl's courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author. It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution--and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart. Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life. Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.91)
0.5 1
1
1.5
2 8
2.5 4
3 43
3.5 17
4 82
4.5 5
5 55

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 155,756,005 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig