HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

This Census-Taker

av China Miéville

Andra författare: Se under Andra författare.

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
9156122,226 (3.35)63
Fantasy. Fiction. Literature. HTML:For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miville.
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR
In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He triesand failsto flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape.
When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over.
But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether?
Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity.
Praise for This Census-Taker
China Miville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, its like hes writing with diamonds.NPR
The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision.Los Angeles Review of Books
[Mievilles] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so.The Huffington Post
Marvellous.The Guardian
Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream.Financial Times
A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser.Booklist
Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul.Kirkus Reviews.
… (mer)
  1. 20
    Oceanen vid vägens slut av Neil Gaiman (Euryale)
    Euryale: Another short novel with a similar atmosphere (although a very different structure and voice)
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 63 omnämnanden

engelska (60)  franska (1)  Alla språk (61)
Visa 1-5 av 61 (nästa | visa alla)
Absolutely beautifully crafted, sinister, and ambiguous. ( )
  Helen.Callaghan | Aug 28, 2023 |
"weird" seems to be the word to describe this book. When I was a kid, there was a restaurant that set up these miniature tableaus that you could view through an eye viewer. I'm super short, so I could only stand on my tiptoes and catch glimpses of the edges of the scene. That's how this novella made me feel: Mieville created an expansive world and showed us slivers of it. There was no clear setting, the thinnest characters and definitely no plot. But there was atmosphere in spades. There will be fragments and passages that stick with me for such a long time.

In your life, you write three books. This is the one for a reader because some things can't NOT be written. But you can still have secrets.

This is the book that reminded me that reading is in and of itself a skill. This was challenging to follow and catch snippets, but so rewarding to read. ( )
  settingshadow | Aug 19, 2023 |
A slim novella, where China Miéville expertly crafts a dream-like atmosphere for a kid growing up in the dangerous shadow of his father.

I thought it took a while to get the main narrative going, but after that it didn't take me long to read. It has a lot of run-on sentences, perhaps to indicate the child's mood, and the prose sometimes took me a few passes to understand, but I liked this. The narrator's viewpoint shifts to third person and even to second person when he's under duress, a kind of playing with the form of writing that I don't think I've seen before.

Intense and affecting, loved it. ( )
  finlaaaay | Aug 1, 2023 |
I love Mieville. This was engrossing, the rhythms of the pacing brilliant. A great amount implied about the world but not explained. It was a fast, thrilling read without the plot moving quickly. The world was cruel and unjust in a way that demonstrates Mieville understands our world's cruelty and injustice deeply. ( )
  Afriendlyhorse | Mar 15, 2023 |
a novella using terrifically evocative but very simple language to tell starkly and without explication a not-so-simple story, about a boy, his father, his mother, a town. which also touches upon the limitations of language, the trauma of unbearable memories, the legacy of war, the exact point at which law breaks down into the viscerally unjust, and the impossible parsing of empathy and love. ( )
2 rösta macha | Nov 29, 2022 |
Visa 1-5 av 61 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (1 möjlig)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Miéville, Chinaprimär författarealla utgåvorbekräftat
Chong, VincentIllustratörmedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Stein, ChrisAuthor photographmedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Torberg, PeterÖversättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat

Har som referensvägledning/bredvidläsningsbok

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
'Like all these long low squat houses, it had been built not for but against. They were built against the forest, against the sea, against the elements, against the world. They had roof-beams and doors and hatred—as though in this part of the world an architect always included hatred among his tools, and said to his apprentice: "Mind you've brought along enough hatred today."' 
—Jane Gaskell, Some Summer Lands
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
To Mic
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
A boy ran down a hill path screaming.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska (1)

Fantasy. Fiction. Literature. HTML:For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miville.
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR
In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He triesand failsto flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape.
When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over.
But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether?
Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity.
Praise for This Census-Taker
China Miville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, its like hes writing with diamonds.NPR
The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision.Los Angeles Review of Books
[Mievilles] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so.The Huffington Post
Marvellous.The Guardian
Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream.Financial Times
A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser.Booklist
Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul.Kirkus Reviews.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.35)
0.5
1 8
1.5
2 32
2.5 8
3 90
3.5 24
4 78
4.5 7
5 23

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 197,493,404 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig