HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

A Closed and Common Orbit av Becky Chambers
Laddar...

A Closed and Common Orbit (utgåvan 2017)

av Becky Chambers (Författare)

Serier: Wayfarers (2)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
2,7861735,180 (4.26)252
Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

National Bestseller!

Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Series!

A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!

Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!

Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!

Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera??the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who's determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for??and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel, and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars… (mer)

Medlem:secondfloorlibrary
Titel:A Closed and Common Orbit
Författare:Becky Chambers (Författare)
Info:Harper Voyager (2017), 384 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Auxiliary

Verksinformation

A Closed and Common Orbit av Becky Chambers

  1. 60
    All Systems Red av Martha Wells (2wonderY)
    2wonderY: The ethical dilemmas and questions on the meaning of humanity inform both stories.
  2. 00
    Lock In av John Scalzi (g33kgrrl)
    g33kgrrl: Lock In deals with humans using adaptive technology and what that means; A Closed and Common Orbit deals with humans and AIs and AIs using adaptive technology and what that means.
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 252 omnämnanden

engelska (170)  italienska (1)  Alla språk (171)
Visa 1-5 av 171 (nästa | visa alla)
Didn't read the first book in the series (yet) so this read as a stand-alone for me, and I loved it.

Re-reading the series 2023 and still loving it. ( )
  Abcdarian | May 18, 2024 |
I quite enjoyed the first Wayfarer's entry, A Long Way to An Angry Planet, especially the large cast of well-drawn out and distinctive characters. Common Orbit draws out two minor characters from Book 1. I was initially saddened to realize I wouldn't spend time with any of the main crew from the first series installment, but in the end, I was impressed by what Chambers did with fewer characters "at home" versus a big group of beings making their way across the universe. Chambers delivers again, as long as you're not expecting conventional storytelling where, which is also true of Angry Planet. Her books are very much in the slice-of-life vein, with the journey granted more importance than the destination. However, while Angry Planet was positioned amidst a "road trip", Common Orbit's journeys are primarily interior ones rooted in survival and resilience. In both books, Chambers expresses a diversity of gender, sexuality, and cultural or societal norms in a matter-of-fact way that bucks the tradition of violence and denunciation that dominates headlines. All in all, I find it refreshing to spend time in the world's Chambers has created. There's a reason some have taken to describing her books as "comfort" or "cozy" sci fi, even if sometimes meant disparagingly. Readers who prefer to be discomfited or seeking something less character driven should look elsewhere. ( )
  mpho3 | May 17, 2024 |
My review of this book can be found on my YouTube Vlog at:

https://youtu.be/pKMV6JYCJX8

Enjoy! ( )
  booklover3258 | May 14, 2024 |
A Closed and Common Orbit is the second book in Becky Chambers' Wayfarer series. I absolutely loved the first book (A Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet), but I was lukewarm about its sequel.

This book follows technician Pepper, and an AI unit from the Wayfarer ship whose name is Sidra. The book goes back and forth in time: in one chapter we are reading about Pepper (then known as Jane) from her tenth year to her nineteenth, and in the next chapter we follow Sidra as she struggles to get used to her human-like appearance and to understand how life and social interaction works in Port Coriol. The changes of time and character are well-marked and caused me no confusion.

The first half, approximately, of the book was really absorbing and fun. I don't know when it stopped being enjoyable and turned into just a random book I was reading. I do know that I was dissatisfied with the ending of the book, and with some of the decisions that the characters made in the chapters leading up to the finale. I thought that the characters acted in ways that would not be typical for them, and although their choices could be construed as bravery, I saw it as an attempt to find roles for all the main characters in the denoument. I had to read the last two chapters two times apiece to try to sort out what the various parties were doing.

Reading the book wasn't a waste of my time, and I am curious to find out where Chambers goes next in her writing. There is a sequel available, which I plan to read. I hope it is more satisfying than this installment was. ( )
  ahef1963 | May 5, 2024 |
An "equel" (not prequel or sequel) to The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. Focuses on a secondary character that makes a brief appearance in the first book and none of the main characters.

This is a quiet, well-written novel tracking the earlier lives of two characters (in flashback) after they have met. It is one of the better books I have read that models how we would navigate tolerance of/coexistence with other (alien) races. Doesn't delve much into what it means to be "a person" as I would have expected. ( )
  Dorothy2012 | Apr 22, 2024 |
Visa 1-5 av 171 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (1 möjlig)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Chambers, Beckyprimär författarealla utgåvorbekräftat
Aquan, Richard L.Omslagsformgivaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Doll, ChristopherOmslagmedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Dulude, RachelBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Rodríguez, PatriciaBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Szafranski, Paula RussellFormgivaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For my parents and for Berlaug, respectively
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Lovelace had been in a body for twenty-eight minutes, and it still felt every bit as wrong as it had the second she woke up inside it.
Citat
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Jane let out a sob she hadn't known was there. Oouoh sat up with a start. 'Oh - oh, what the fuck, he said. 'Shit, let's get you to the med ward, come on -'
Jane stared at him, 'What? Why? I'm fine.'
'Uh, no, you're ...your eyes are leaking.'
Jane laughed, which was heard to do while crying. 'No, no, this' she sniffed hard - 'it's just tears. It's okay.'
Oouoh was distraught. 'What about this is okay?'
'We do this. Humans do this when - when we're feeling a lot of things.'
'You leak?'
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

National Bestseller!

Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Series!

A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!

Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!

Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!

Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera??the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who's determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for??and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel, and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.26)
0.5 1
1 1
1.5
2 13
2.5 5
3 102
3.5 27
4 396
4.5 78
5 378

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 205,894,413 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig