HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Hello, Universe av Erin Entrada Kelly
Laddar...

Hello, Universe (urspr publ 2017; utgåvan 2020)

av Erin Entrada Kelly (Författare), Isabel Roxas (Illustratör)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
8625218,509 (4.03)38
Winner of the Newbery Medal "A charming, intriguingly plotted novel."--Washington Post Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view--two boys and two girls--the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). "Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits."--Booklist In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball. They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed and award-winning author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia. "Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone--humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending."--School Library Journal… (mer)
Medlem:MadisonDarr
Titel:Hello, Universe
Författare:Erin Entrada Kelly (Författare)
Andra författare:Isabel Roxas (Illustratör)
Info:Greenwillow Books (2020), Edition: Illustrated, 352 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:*****
Taggar:friendship, bullying, special needs, shyness, deafness, courage

Verkdetaljer

Hello, Universe av Erin Entrada Kelly (2017)

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 38 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 52 (nästa | visa alla)
This book is such a good book for middle grades age students. This book is about 4 middle grades age kids who come together despite their differences to help one of them out of a well, stop a bully, and build a friendship. I would definitely recommend this book!! ( )
  Shelby_Walker | Apr 30, 2021 |
This book is good! This book focuses on that although the four main characters are different and unlikely to be friend, something bonds them together and they go on an adventure together. ( )
  andreawilliams12 | Apr 29, 2021 |
  BeckyatAPL | Jan 28, 2021 |
I hesitate giving this 3 stars because it is a Newberry winner but I felt the character development was weak for some of the characters and there was the use of a very derogatory term used by the bully in the story. Just my opinion but even if characterizing a bully, out of date, derogatory terms referring to individuals with disabilities should not be part of the 2018 lexicon. ( )
  AR_bookbird | Dec 17, 2020 |
This book follows the adventure of four kids from different perspectives. One kid who is utterly shy and looking for friendship tries to solve his problem by searching for something a psychic told him to get in the woods. He ends up in a well in the woods and some of the people he wanted to be friends with, search for him. This would be great for students in 5th and 6th grade to read. I feel like a lot of students that age could relate to this book. Would be great for an English class to study. ( )
  MadisonDarr | Nov 20, 2020 |
Visa 1-5 av 52 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Winner of the Newbery Medal "A charming, intriguingly plotted novel."--Washington Post Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view--two boys and two girls--the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). "Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits."--Booklist In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball. They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed and award-winning author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia. "Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone--humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending."--School Library Journal

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.03)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 24
3.5 14
4 71
4.5 9
5 49

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 157,850,791 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig