HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

The Lost Girl of Astor Street (Blink)

av Stephanie Morrill

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
191921,929 (3.75)Ingen/inga
When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia's disappearance. Given that Piper's tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society's expectations of her, it's no surprise that she doesn't give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia's abduction from their privileged neighborhood. As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago--and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood--she must decide how deep she's willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she's willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill's atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.… (mer)
Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

3.5 stars.

I don't even know what to rate this! Or say about it . . . . Goodness!

The setting for this story, 1920s Chicago, was a ton of fun! I haven't read a lot in this timeperiod, so it was even more interesting. I liked Morrill's writing style a lot. Simplistic, but pretty and heartfelt.

The characters were all pretty spot-on. Piper was fantastic. (And I am seriously in love with her name! 'Piper Sail'? Really? L.O.V.E.) Her struggle and emotions throughout were very well portrayed, and I was able to emathize a lot with her character. I also loved Mariano! He was just too sweet! His character was just as fantastic! I also loved Lydia, Piper's father and brother, Emma, and even that other dude . . . I'm blanking on his name right now. And Walter too! Sweetness! THANK YOU SO MUCH to Stephanie Morrill for NOTTTTTTTTT making Walter and Piper an item! Ugh! That would have been terrible!

So, mystery isn't my favorite genre. There are a TON of mysteries I really really enjoy, but it's not a genre I would chose to read exlucsively. So I think that fact made me like this a little less. The mystery just didn't make a ton of sense to me. And why did we know what happened to Lydia less than halfway through the story? That just ruined it for me. I basically didn't have any reason to keep reading more. Also, if felt like there were a few elements of the mystery that just didn't make sense or get wrapped up. And the middle section (shortly after it was revealed what happened to Lydia) just flopped for me. I wasn't really that interested anymore. That being said, I really enjoyed the ending! I stayed up way to late, and woke up too early just to finish it. (Seriously, I was up before 6:30 am to read it - and also cause I couldn't sleep. :P) I would say the last 5 maybe chapters were the best part of the book. I'd give those chapters alone 5 stars. I just really liked them.

All in all, this was a bit of a let-down. I was worth a read, but I wouldn't read it again. I would recommend it for ages 16 due to elements of kidnapping, rape - very briefly mentioned - clubs, alcohol, men being unfaithful to their wives, etc. ( )
  SarahGraceGrzy | Oct 2, 2018 |
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia's disappearance. Given that Piper's tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society's expectations of her, it's no surprise that she doesn't give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia's abduction from their privileged neighborhood. As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago--and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood--she must decide how deep she's willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she's willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill's atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.75)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 3
4.5
5

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 160,310,341 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig