HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

The Story of Arthur Truluv (2017)

av Elizabeth Berg

Serier: Mason, Missouri (1)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
9108623,304 (4)38
Fiction. Literature. HTML:I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.Fannie Flagg
An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Bergs previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers heartstrings.Booklist
For the past six months, Arthur Mosess days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life. 
Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthura gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthurs kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname Truluv. As Arthurs neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew.
Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.
Praise for The Story of Arthur Truluv
For several days after [finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv], I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book. Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder were all neighbors here.Chicago Tribune
Not since Paul Zindels classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life. This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should.People, Book of the Week.
… (mer)
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 38 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 84 (nästa | visa alla)
Sweet book about loneliness and the old and young coming together.

I’d probably rate it higher if I didn’t feel like I’d read this exact story before (a man called ove)

This is totally the sort of book you could give your Mom as a gift. ( )
  hmonkeyreads | Jan 25, 2024 |
I remember now why I used to love reading Elizabeth Berg. She just makes me feel so deeply, expansively and joyfully ... human. ( )
  Kim.Sasso | Aug 27, 2023 |
The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg is touchingly sweet story. We follow the lives of Arthur, recently widowed, as he makes a daily visit to the cemetary visiting his wife. He meets a young girl Maddy and their friendship is the crust of this tear jerker. Neighbor Lucille also enters into this gorgeously written novel. Although we’ve heard this tale before, Berg is able to take us out of the predictable clichés that are the downfall of these type of novels. ( )
  GordonPrescottWiener | Aug 24, 2023 |
Read this sweet, funny and heart-warming book in one setting. An 85-year old widowed man named Arthur meets a 18 year old girl named Maddy in the cemetery one day and a unique friendship is born.
Arthur's next door neighbor, a bossy widowed woman named Lucille enters the picture and these three become a family of sorts. They bring happiness and fulfillment into each other lives. for fans of "A Man Called Ove." loved it. pulled all the heart strings. ( )
  dawnlovesbooks | May 9, 2023 |
A sweet book that reminds us of how life can be between age groups. ( )
  EllenH | Mar 27, 2023 |
Visa 1-5 av 84 (nästa | visa alla)
The life-affirming messages are far from subtle, and the fine line between sensitivity and sentimentality is often breached.

Aims for profound but settles for pleasant.
tillagd av countrylife | ändraKirkus Reviews (May 2, 2017)
 

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
We all know that something is eternal. And it ain't houses and it ain't names, and it ain't earth, and it ain't even the stars---everybody knows in their bones that something is eternal, and that something has to do with human beings.
---THORNTON WILDER, Our Town
Act well your part, there all the honour lies.
---ALEXANDER POPE, "An Essay on Man"
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For my daughters, Julie Krintzman and Jennifer Berta
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
In the six months since the November day that his wife, Nola was buried, Arthur Moses has been having lunch with her every day.
Citat
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
It is in people, to be entertained by cruelty.
People who don't feel cared for are not always comfortable being cared for.
What is it that makes a family? Certainly no document does, no legal pronouncement or accident of birth. No, real families come from choices we make about who we want to be bound to, and the ties to such families live in our hearts.
A man doesn't always make room in his life for appreciating certain things that seem to be under women's auspices, but there's a satisfaction in some of them.
A promise is a promise, even if it's only one you made to yourself.
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Fiction. Literature. HTML:I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.Fannie Flagg
An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Bergs previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers heartstrings.Booklist
For the past six months, Arthur Mosess days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life. 
Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthura gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthurs kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname Truluv. As Arthurs neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew.
Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.
Praise for The Story of Arthur Truluv
For several days after [finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv], I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book. Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder were all neighbors here.Chicago Tribune
Not since Paul Zindels classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life. This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should.People, Book of the Week.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 9
2.5
3 54
3.5 36
4 106
4.5 19
5 88

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 204,183,528 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig