HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

Beneath a Scarlet Sky (2017)

av Mark Sullivan

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
2,6031185,675 (4.14)59
In 1940s Italy, teenager Pino Lella joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps and falls for a beautiful widow, he also becomes the personal driver of one of the Third Reich's most powerful commanders.
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 59 omnämnanden

engelska (112)  tyska (2)  spanska (1)  italienska (1)  katalanska (1)  Alla språk (117)
Visa 1-5 av 117 (nästa | visa alla)
Fabulous book! Set in Milan Italy, a historical fiction recount of a virtually unknown, completely unsung hero, Peno Lella, and his time as a youth in the resistance during WW2. It is filled with vivid imagery, thought provoking dialogue and young love; the book filled my cup in all aspects.

I can say, as a voracious reader of the time period, this one was refreshing and educational. ( )
  LyndaWolters1 | Apr 3, 2024 |
Goodreads: Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man?s incredible courage and resilience during one of history?s darkest hours.Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He?s a normal Italian teenagerobsessed with music, food, and girls¥but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.In an attempt to protect him, Pino?s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier¥a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler?s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich?s most mysterious and powerful commanders.Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.
  bentstoker | Jan 26, 2024 |
Like all the pharoahs, emperors, and tyrants before him, Il Duce had seen his empire rise only to crumble. The Fascist dictator's battered armies had retreated from North Africa. Allied forces were poised off Sicily. And every day, Adolf Hitler was sending more troops and supplies south to fortify the boot of Italy.
Pino Lella knew all of this from BBC reports he listened to on his shortwave radio nightly. He'd seen with his own eyes the rising numbers of Nazis everywhere he went. But as he strolled through the medieval streets of Milan, Pino was blissfully ignoring the forces of conflict spiraling his way. World War Ii was a news dispatch, nothing more, listened to and gone in the very next moment.
  taurus27 | Dec 12, 2023 |
Simply stated...one of the best books that I have ever read. ( )
  BenM2023 | Nov 22, 2023 |
Couldn't finish. Poorly written. Unbelievable. Boring. ( )
  MahanaU | Nov 21, 2023 |
Visa 1-5 av 117 (nästa | visa alla)
Negative, snarky (but without knowledge at the time that the book is in essence a literary fraud - a fact that is, unfortunately, not yet widely known).
tillagd av CatCaliban | ändraPublishers Weekly (Mar 13, 2017)
 
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For the eight thousand Italian Jews who could not be saved.
For the millions taken slave by the Nazi war machine, and the countless who did not make it home.
And for Robert Dehlendorf, who heard the tale first, and rescued me.
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
June 9, 1943
Milan, Italy
Like all the pharaohs, emperors, and tyrants before him, Il Duce had seen his empire rise only to crumble.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den katalanska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

In 1940s Italy, teenager Pino Lella joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps and falls for a beautiful widow, he also becomes the personal driver of one of the Third Reich's most powerful commanders.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.14)
0.5 1
1 9
1.5 3
2 15
2.5 4
3 63
3.5 31
4 188
4.5 40
5 211

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 206,327,386 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig