HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Then She Was Gone: A Novel av Lisa Jewell
Laddar...

Then She Was Gone: A Novel (urspr publ 2018; utgåvan 2018)

av Lisa Jewell (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
4,0631682,979 (3.85)52
"Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell--perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty. Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her. And then she was gone. Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It's been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie's case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a cafe, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she's meeting Floyd's daughters--and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel's breath away. Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she's tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?"--… (mer)
Medlem:bentstoker
Titel:Then She Was Gone: A Novel
Författare:Lisa Jewell (Författare)
Info:Atria Books (2018), Edition: Reprint, 384 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:***
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verksinformation

Then She Was Gone av Lisa Jewell (2018)

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 52 omnämnanden

engelska (164)  spanska (1)  Alla språk (165)
Visa 1-5 av 165 (nästa | visa alla)
Wow.. just wow! I've been hearing talk about this book on Facebook and around the blogosphere, but honestly, as a mother of 2 teen girls, I was wary of picking it up. I am always hesitant to read any psychological thrillers, normally I end up not liking them, or figuring out the "culprit" early on and then it's all meh to me. But this book caught me off guard, I had an inkling of an idea of what happened.
There were so many twists for me in this book. I stayed interested and couldn't put it down until I knew exactly what happened.

The story and writing kept me needing to know what was in the next chapter and what exactly had happened to poor Ellie. ( )
  chaoticmel | May 18, 2024 |
Unsolved cold case mystery. Characters with obsessive love disorders or neurotic personality traits. Sinister plot. Predictable. ( )
  Headinherbooks_27 | Apr 20, 2024 |
Those months, the months before she disappeared, were the best months. Really. Just the best. Every moment presented itself to her like a gift and said, Here I am, another perfect moment, just look at me, can you believe how lovely I am? Every morning was a flurry of mascara and butterflies, quickening pulse as she neared the school gates, blooming joy as her eyes found him. School was no longer a cage, it was the bustling, spotlight film set for her love story.
  taurus27 | Apr 16, 2024 |
Then She Was Gone had the makings of a fantastic book, and it was, mostly.

Extremely well-written, good plot, nicely defined characters, and overall I have nothing to point a finger at - but it just wasn’t a home run, maybe more like a triple.

Ms. Jewell is an incredibly accomplished author, and I only wish to be anywhere near her status, but from a reader’s perspective, Then She Was Gone just didn’t feel original enough to pique my interest to a ten, eight point five, maybe.

I would recommend this book for really anyone looking for a good thriller, just don’t expect to remember it for years to come. ( )
  LyndaWolters1 | Apr 3, 2024 |
Creepy story. A bit improbable. Story of 15 yr old girl who goes missing and her body is not found until 10 yrs later. We learn that she was taken and held captive by her math tutor. This tutor has the girl impregnated and then pawns her off her "boyfriend" as his baby. He ends up keeping the child and 9 yrs later has a relationship with the kidnapped girl's mom. He does this on purpose because he knows the child is not his and this lady his the girl's grandmother. The story ends with him disappearing and guiding her to his message on his computer telling her the story of how he came to have her granddaughter.
Quick read and a lot of drama. KIRKUS: Ten years after her teenage daughter went missing, a mother begins a new relationship only to discover she can't truly move on until she answers lingering questions about the past.

Laurel Mack’s life stopped in many ways the day her 15-year-old daughter, Ellie, left the house to study at the library and never returned. She drifted away from her other two children, Hanna and Jake, and eventually she and her husband, Paul, divorced. Ten years later, Ellie’s remains and her backpack are found, though the police are unable to determine the reasons for her disappearance and death. After Ellie’s funeral, Laurel begins a relationship with Floyd, a man she meets in a cafe. She's disarmed by Floyd’s charm, but when she meets his young daughter, Poppy, Laurel is startled by her resemblance to Ellie. As the novel progresses, Laurel becomes increasingly determined to learn what happened to Ellie, especially after discovering an odd connection between Poppy’s mother and her daughter even as her relationship with Floyd is becoming more serious. Jewell’s (I Found You, 2017, etc.) latest thriller moves at a brisk pace even as she plays with narrative structure: The book is split into three sections, including a first one which alternates chapters between the time of Ellie’s disappearance and the present and a second section that begins as Laurel and Floyd meet. Both of these sections primarily focus on Laurel. In the third section, Jewell alternates narrators and moments in time: The narrator switches to alternating first-person points of view (told by Poppy’s mother and Floyd) interspersed with third-person narration of Ellie’s experiences and Laurel’s discoveries in the present. All of these devices serve to build palpable tension, but the structure also contributes to how deeply disturbing the story becomes. At times, the characters and the emotional core of the events are almost obscured by such quick maneuvering through the weighty plot.

Dark and unsettling, this novel’s end arrives abruptly even as readers are still moving at a breakneck speed. ( )
  bentstoker | Mar 8, 2024 |
Visa 1-5 av 165 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (12 möjliga)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Lisa Jewellprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Duff, HelenBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For Lor
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Those months, before she disappeared, were the best months.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell--perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty. Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her. And then she was gone. Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It's been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie's case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a cafe, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she's meeting Floyd's daughters--and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel's breath away. Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she's tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?"--

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.85)
0.5
1 8
1.5 2
2 41
2.5 6
3 161
3.5 45
4 332
4.5 28
5 168

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 205,919,399 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig