HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The City of Brass: A Novel av S. A.…
Laddar...

The City of Brass: A Novel (utgåvan 2017)

av S. A. Chakraborty (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
3,8201343,271 (3.97)189
"Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty--an imaginative alchemy of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts. Nahri has never believed in magic. Certainly, she has power; on the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, she's a con woman of unsurpassed talent. But she knows better than anyone that the trade she uses to get by--palm readings, zars, healings--are all tricks, sleights of hand, learned skills; a means to the delightful end of swindling Ottoman nobles and a reliable way to survive. But when Nahri accidentally summons an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior to her side during one of her cons, she's forced to question all she believes. For the warrior tells her an extraordinary tale: across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire, and rivers where the mythical marid sleep; past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises, and mountains where the circling birds of prey are not what they seem, lies Daevabad, the legendary city of brass--a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound. In Daevabad, behind gilded brass walls laced with enchantments, behind the six gates of the six djinn tribes, old resentments are simmering. A young prince dreams of rebellion. And when Nahri decides to enter this world, she learns that true power is fierce and brutal. That magic cannot shield her from the dangerous web of court politics. That even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences. After all, there is a reason they say to be careful what you wish for"-- "A brilliantly imagined historical fantasy in which a young con artist in eighteenth century Cairo discovers she's the last descendant of a powerful family of djinn healers. With the help of an outcast immortal warrior and a rebellious prince, she must claim her magical birthright in order to prevent a war that threatens to destroy the entire djinn kingdom. Perfect for fans of The Grace of Kings, The Golem and the Jinni, and The Queen of the Tearling"--… (mer)
Medlem:mlmazza13
Titel:The City of Brass: A Novel
Författare:S. A. Chakraborty (Författare)
Info:HarperAudio (2017)
Samlingar:Physical Library, Ditt bibliotek, Ska läsas
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verksinformation

The City of Brass av S. A. Chakraborty

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 189 omnämnanden

engelska (130)  nederländska (1)  Alla språk (131)
Visa 1-5 av 131 (nästa | visa alla)
società, fanatismo e politica delle varie tribù Jiin ( )
  LLonaVahine | May 22, 2024 |
Loved it!
I hadn't come across anything in this genre, so it's quite welcome. It's like an Islamic (magical djinn) Harry Potter story, but not. The plot is completely different, it is only in how it pulls you in to an entirely new and intricate world that it is similar. As with Harry Potter, for those who know the myths, legends, and folklore, the stories are based on, the construct probably isn't *as* entirely new as it seems to one with far less exposure, like me.
The inspiration to listen to this well narrated (Soneela Nankani) book was actually the very attractive book cover of the 2nd in the series, "The Kingdom of Copper". (Who says you shouldn't judge a book by its cover?) I'd coveted it upon seeing it in Barnes and Noble, so snatched it up when my favorite Friends of the Library bookshop was selling it for $8.00. BUT, you can't read the 2nd book of a series without having first read the first, so I downloaded the audio from Overdrive.
Now I can dig out that beautifully covered Book 2 from my tower of "please read me NOW" books next to my bed and find out what happens next! ( )
  TraSea | Apr 29, 2024 |
An absolutely decadent and luminous fantasy novel- I loved every single page! Nahri is one of my new favorite characters and she really carries the novel so well. Ali became more interesting as the story went on, and I'm super curious to know what happens next with his plot. Super hyped that the third and final book in this trilogy comes out this summer so I can binge the second one and be ready for the finale. :) ( )
  deborahee | Feb 23, 2024 |
Kinda confusing but merman ending so what’s not to like ( )
  salllamander | Feb 11, 2024 |
I love this book. It has been while since I've read a good epic fantasy and I thoroughly enjoyed this one. I can't wait for book 2. ( )
  Woodardja | Jan 30, 2024 |
Visa 1-5 av 131 (nästa | visa alla)
At the moment, speculative fiction has an exciting relationship with protest fiction and feminist narratives, and while “The City of Brass” doesn’t blow away cultural notions of difference or reconfigure the male-female divide, it does exploit the genre’s penchant for inclusion. In fact, the novel feels like a friendly hand held out across the world. (I hope very much that it will be translated into Arabic and Farsi.) It reads like an invitation for readers from Baghdad to Fairbanks to meet across impossibly divergent worlds through the shared language and images of the fantastical.
 
The expected first-novel flaws—a few character inconsistencies, plot swirls that peter out, the odd patch where the author assumes facts not in evidence—matter little. Best of all, the narrative feels rounded and complete yet poised to deliver still more.

Highly impressive and exceptionally promising.
tillagd av melmore | ändraKirkus Reivews (Aug 21, 2017)
 

» Lägg till fler författare (1 möjlig)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Chakraborty, S. A.primär författarealla utgåvorbekräftat
Alcaino, MicaelaOmslagsformgivaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Nankani, SoneelaBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Information från den nederländska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Wees voorzichtig met wat je wenst
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For Alia, the light of my life
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
He was an easy mark.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty--an imaginative alchemy of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts. Nahri has never believed in magic. Certainly, she has power; on the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, she's a con woman of unsurpassed talent. But she knows better than anyone that the trade she uses to get by--palm readings, zars, healings--are all tricks, sleights of hand, learned skills; a means to the delightful end of swindling Ottoman nobles and a reliable way to survive. But when Nahri accidentally summons an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior to her side during one of her cons, she's forced to question all she believes. For the warrior tells her an extraordinary tale: across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire, and rivers where the mythical marid sleep; past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises, and mountains where the circling birds of prey are not what they seem, lies Daevabad, the legendary city of brass--a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound. In Daevabad, behind gilded brass walls laced with enchantments, behind the six gates of the six djinn tribes, old resentments are simmering. A young prince dreams of rebellion. And when Nahri decides to enter this world, she learns that true power is fierce and brutal. That magic cannot shield her from the dangerous web of court politics. That even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences. After all, there is a reason they say to be careful what you wish for"-- "A brilliantly imagined historical fantasy in which a young con artist in eighteenth century Cairo discovers she's the last descendant of a powerful family of djinn healers. With the help of an outcast immortal warrior and a rebellious prince, she must claim her magical birthright in order to prevent a war that threatens to destroy the entire djinn kingdom. Perfect for fans of The Grace of Kings, The Golem and the Jinni, and The Queen of the Tearling"--

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.97)
0.5 1
1 8
1.5 3
2 28
2.5 9
3 118
3.5 37
4 270
4.5 44
5 197

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 206,090,934 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig