HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The Sumage Solution: The San Andreas…
Laddar...

The Sumage Solution: The San Andreas Shifters (utgåvan 2017)

av G. L. Carriger (Författare), Gail Carriger (Författare), Kirt Graves (Berättare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1638168,471 (3.85)13
Fantasy. Fiction. Romance. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) HTML:

Max needs 3 things - magic, a boyfriend, and a wolf. Bad boy mage with an attitude problem meets a hot werewolf with a white knight complex in this charming gay romance from a New York Times bestselling comedy author. SUMAGEMax fails at magic, relationships, and life. So he works as a sumage, cleaning up other mages' messes. The job sucks and he's in no mood to cope with redneck werewolves. Unfortunately, there's something irresistible about the sexy muscled Beta visiting his office.WEREWOLFBryan is Beta to a new pack in a new city. He's also closeted. Except, there's a good chance Max might be reason enough to come out, if Bryan can only get the snarky sumage to go on a date.Everyone knows werewolves hate mages. Bryan is determined to prove everyone wrong, even the mage himself. Sparks (and other things) fly."This might be the closest my Kindle Fire has ever come to, well, catching fire." ~ Rally the ReadersDelicate Sensibilities? This story contains M/M sexitimes and horrible puns. If you get offended easily, then you probably will. The San Andreas Shifter stories include awkward but sweet muscled shapeshifters, hilarious blue language, dirty deeds, and outright admiration for the San Francisco Bay Area. Not for the faint of heart (or mouth or tongue).Perfect for fans of Amber Kell or TJ Klune, the humorous San Andreas Shifter books stand alone and do not have to be read in any order. However, this one comes after Marine Biology and before The Omega Objection.

Also by G L Carriger

The 5th Gender

As Gail Carriger

The Curious Case of the Werewolf that Wasn't The Finishing School series (start with Etiquette & Espionage)The Delightfully Deadly novellasThe Parasol Protectorate series (start with Soulless)The Supernatural Society novellasThe Custard Protocol series (start with Prudence)The Claw & Courtship novellasCrudrat

.
… (mer)
Medlem:scraps
Titel:The Sumage Solution: The San Andreas Shifters
Författare:G. L. Carriger (Författare)
Andra författare:Gail Carriger (Författare), Kirt Graves (Berättare)
Info:GAIL CARRIGER LLC (2017),
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek, Audio book
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verksinformation

The Sumage Solution av G. L. Carriger

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 13 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 8 (nästa | visa alla)
Not only have I finished this, I have reread it multiple times. It's a go-to book now.

I liked the novella this springs from, Marine Biology, so I was intrigued to see a novel length sequel.

Then I read it, and my head exploded.

The characters are fantastic and well-developed, the world-building is fascinating, the interpersonal relationships are genuine, the snark is both hilarious and meaningful...I cannot gush enough. I'm excited that this begins a series, and impatient (in the way of awaiting a holiday) to read the next one. ( )
  Bookladycma | May 18, 2024 |
I enjoyed this, even though I had a slight culture shock. For a while I thought that the author had incongruously enough created a second world with werewolves, separate from her first. Turns out that it's sort of the same world after all (that's not what the book is about, so I don't think that's much of a spoiler), although it's different enough that it might as well be a completely different one. The world building was a bit unclear, I have to say. I'm not quite sure how the magic of the old world relates to this one, and I only vaguely understand how this one works. The different types of magic and mages are not really explained. Some of it becomes clear over time, but not all. Didn't matter too much to me, though. You can follow the story without it.

I gave this only 3 stars mostly because I didn't like Max. Well, I was ok with him up until that asshole move in the last quarter of the book. It didn't make any sense to me. Issues, sure, the guy had issues, I get that. But he also supposedly worked on them before, and to not even try to find a better solution, make just a bit of an effort? No.

Also, just a loose thought, I imagine certain sexual acts would be a whole lot more pleasurable to perform if everyone's skin tasted like rum and caramel, or whatever wildly unlikely flavour combination it was again. Particularly those parts of the body that are usually associated with a different type of fragrance. (And I'm sorry, Max acted offended when Bryan wanted him to shower before touching said body parts with his tongue? What, no basic hygiene in this world?) ( )
  zjakkelien | Jan 2, 2024 |
To my vast amusement apparently I am reading a lot of books with explicit gay wolf sex lately. This one is a were-magician romance with a lot of snarky yet tender dialogue and a wicked damaged drama queen working out his issues. The world is good, the dialogue is funny and well done, the characters are appealing and the magic is very interesting. I had, as it turns out, read the short story that preceded this book and was quite delighted to read the further adventures of the San Andreas pack. Also, let's hear it for kitsune!

Holds up well to second reading, and I love the connection to the previous parasol world, however mildly referred to. ( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
The author has created a fun, amazing, world with the start of this series. The supernatural is commonplace occurrence with shifters...magicians...and kitsune all sharing space in a modern-day San Francisco. We learn about the laws that bind the place and how magic works as we go along. Not a lot of time is wasted on exposition. The ending is telegraphed far ahead, but this was a case where even if you knew where you're going...I guarantee that you're still going to enjoy the ride. This is a wonderful book that doesn't take itself too seriously and I hope the rest of the series is the same. In spite of the “shifter/fantasy” theme, the reader needs to be aware that they are gay shifters. ( )
  Carol420 | Sep 6, 2021 |
Not sure why I haven't read this one earlier. One the one hand I've been missing out, so I'm kicking myself, but on the other... with the next one in the series not scheduled until late this year, at least I don't have to wait quite as long for the sequel. And that should tell you something.

This is a very cleverly written story. It contains it all: strong characters, fantastic story telling, understated humour and outright snark. It gives us "fizzy" and "spicy like hot sauce" jizz. However, it's not all just silly writing; there is a fantastic story being told, in such a way as to grab hold of you and not let go. There is a depth to the writing and the characters that doesn't necessarily seem to be there at first glance. But as you get to know these boys you learn about what they have had to endure to get where they are and to grow into the men they are supposed to be.

There is a lot going on, a lot of information being thrown at you, and at times you could have a "what the" kind of feeling, but in the end you learn about the world and what has happened to it. There is always a balance that needs to be found between throwing all the world building at a reader first and not about the characters, or as in this case, giving us information when it needs to be given. Or explaining things after the fact to help the story itself along. I don't mind this style, but I can understand that others feel differently.

This is one of those books that leave you, well at least it's left me, with a book hangover. I can't wait for the next one to come out! ( )
  ShazOV | Feb 10, 2021 |
Visa 1-5 av 8 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
G. L. Carrigerprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Graves, KirtBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
“Barker!” The shout cut through Maximillian Barker’s eardrum, making him jump.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Fantasy. Fiction. Romance. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) HTML:

Max needs 3 things - magic, a boyfriend, and a wolf. Bad boy mage with an attitude problem meets a hot werewolf with a white knight complex in this charming gay romance from a New York Times bestselling comedy author. SUMAGEMax fails at magic, relationships, and life. So he works as a sumage, cleaning up other mages' messes. The job sucks and he's in no mood to cope with redneck werewolves. Unfortunately, there's something irresistible about the sexy muscled Beta visiting his office.WEREWOLFBryan is Beta to a new pack in a new city. He's also closeted. Except, there's a good chance Max might be reason enough to come out, if Bryan can only get the snarky sumage to go on a date.Everyone knows werewolves hate mages. Bryan is determined to prove everyone wrong, even the mage himself. Sparks (and other things) fly."This might be the closest my Kindle Fire has ever come to, well, catching fire." ~ Rally the ReadersDelicate Sensibilities? This story contains M/M sexitimes and horrible puns. If you get offended easily, then you probably will. The San Andreas Shifter stories include awkward but sweet muscled shapeshifters, hilarious blue language, dirty deeds, and outright admiration for the San Francisco Bay Area. Not for the faint of heart (or mouth or tongue).Perfect for fans of Amber Kell or TJ Klune, the humorous San Andreas Shifter books stand alone and do not have to be read in any order. However, this one comes after Marine Biology and before The Omega Objection.

Also by G L Carriger

The 5th Gender

As Gail Carriger

The Curious Case of the Werewolf that Wasn't The Finishing School series (start with Etiquette & Espionage)The Delightfully Deadly novellasThe Parasol Protectorate series (start with Soulless)The Supernatural Society novellasThe Custard Protocol series (start with Prudence)The Claw & Courtship novellasCrudrat

.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.85)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 9
3.5 2
4 29
4.5 1
5 8

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 205,947,072 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig