HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

City of Ghosts (1) av Victoria Schwab
Laddar...

City of Ghosts (1) (urspr publ 2018; utgåvan 2019)

av Victoria Schwab (Författare)

Serier: Cassidy Blake (1)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
7874421,613 (3.96)4
From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost. So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger. When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil -- and herself. And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined. NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost . . .).… (mer)
Medlem:Megan_Emerson
Titel:City of Ghosts (1)
Författare:Victoria Schwab (Författare)
Info:Scholastic Inc. (2019), Edition: Reprint, 320 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

City of Ghosts av Victoria Schwab (2018)

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 4 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 43 (nästa | visa alla)
When ghost, Jacob, saves Cassidy after she drowns, she can now see ghosts and Jacob becomes her best friend. Her parents don't really believe in Cassidy's ability even though they are authors of several books about haunted places, which worries Cass, especially when they are offered the opportunity to travel around the world to different places that have a reputation for being haunted and film a reality series. Their first location shoot is in Edinburgh, Scotland, putting Cass in danger as she is unwittingly pulled into the Veil where she may never find her way back out.

City of Ghosts is the first book in the Cassidy Blake series and does a good job of introducing the characters and the situation that Cass finds herself in. The characters in this book are well developed and the situations are filled with suspense. Several scary moments make this a fast paced enjoyable read from beginning to end. Cassidy is a likable character, while several other characters in the story are ambiguous enough to add a layer of enjoyment to the story. Overall, City of Ghosts is a very good scary story for the middle grade reader. ( )
  ftbooklover | Oct 12, 2021 |
When ghost, Jacob, saves Cassidy after she drowns, she can now see ghosts and Jacob becomes her best friend. Her parents don't really believe in Cassidy's ability even though they are authors of several books about haunted places, which worries Cass, especially when they are offered the opportunity to travel around the world to different places that have a reputation for being haunted and film a reality series. Their first location shoot is in Edinburgh, Scotland, putting Cass in danger as she is unwittingly pulled into the Veil where she may never find her way back out.

City of Ghosts is the first book in the Cassidy Blake series and does a good job of introducing the characters and the situation that Cass finds herself in. The characters in this book are well developed and the situations are filled with suspense. Several scary moments make this a fast paced enjoyable read from beginning to end. Cassidy is a likable character, while several other characters in the story are ambiguous enough to add a layer of enjoyment to the story. Overall, City of Ghosts is a very good scary story for the middle grade reader. ( )
  ftbooklover | Oct 12, 2021 |
This review was originally posted on Once Upon a Chapter



I have to giggle a little bit when it comes to City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab. You see I first took interest in it because the book community was all abuzz pre-release day. Then after it was released all of that intensified. I giggle because I own seven, yes seven, books by Schwab that are currently unread. City of Ghosts comes along and BOOM! I've read my first Victoria Schwab book. (It helps that it was a gift. :))

I really, really enjoyed Cassidy Blake, her parents (who yes! are an active part of the book!!), Jacob, and the people they meet while in Edinburgh. Schwab had this way of effortlessly writing characters. I'm almost two weeks removed from finishing the book and there were no awkward character introductions and I remember each one. Her characters were full-bodied and memorable. It made the story flow so well.

And what a story it was! City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab was original without being too far out there. I've really been into the ghost type stories lately and this book fit in nicely. Middle grade is not my typical go to but I really enjoyed this one. So much so that I have pre-ordered the second book in the series.

I liked the local lore that Schwab injected into City of Ghosts. Cassidy and Jacob had a great friendship and it was nice to see a book for children showing a male/female friendship without romance or a crush confusing it. I liked how the Blakes were active parts in the book and in their daughter's life and not relegated to spending the entire book off page.

If you have a tween in your life who needs a good book (heck even if you're a 34 year old married woman!) City of Ghosts is a fantastic place to start! Now if Schwab's young adult/adult novels are as good as her middle grade, I have a few treasures in the TBR waiting! ( )
  stephaniedloves2read | Aug 8, 2021 |
This review was originally posted on Once Upon a Chapter



I have to giggle a little bit when it comes to City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab. You see I first took interest in it because the book community was all abuzz pre-release day. Then after it was released all of that intensified. I giggle because I own seven, yes seven, books by Schwab that are currently unread. City of Ghosts comes along and BOOM! I've read my first Victoria Schwab book. (It helps that it was a gift. :))

I really, really enjoyed Cassidy Blake, her parents (who yes! are an active part of the book!!), Jacob, and the people they meet while in Edinburgh. Schwab had this way of effortlessly writing characters. I'm almost two weeks removed from finishing the book and there were no awkward character introductions and I remember each one. Her characters were full-bodied and memorable. It made the story flow so well.

And what a story it was! City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab was original without being too far out there. I've really been into the ghost type stories lately and this book fit in nicely. Middle grade is not my typical go to but I really enjoyed this one. So much so that I have pre-ordered the second book in the series.

I liked the local lore that Schwab injected into City of Ghosts. Cassidy and Jacob had a great friendship and it was nice to see a book for children showing a male/female friendship without romance or a crush confusing it. I liked how the Blakes were active parts in the book and in their daughter's life and not relegated to spending the entire book off page.

If you have a tween in your life who needs a good book (heck even if you're a 34 year old married woman!) City of Ghosts is a fantastic place to start! Now if Schwab's young adult/adult novels are as good as her middle grade, I have a few treasures in the TBR waiting! ( )
  stephaniedloves2read | Aug 8, 2021 |
3.5-3.75 ( )
  MagpieBricolage | Jul 17, 2021 |
Visa 1-5 av 43 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
To Die will be an awfully big adventure. ~J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
People think that ghosts only come out at night, or on Halloween, when the world is dark and the walls are thin.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost. So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger. When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil -- and herself. And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined. NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost . . .).

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.96)
0.5
1
1.5
2 7
2.5 1
3 22
3.5 13
4 88
4.5 7
5 33

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 163,369,412 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig