HemGrupperDiskuteraUtforskaTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The Astonishing Color of After av Emily X.…
Laddar...

The Astonishing Color of After (utgåvan 2018)

av Emily X. R. Pan (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
8183120,759 (4.04)3
"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng. An APALA Honor Book A Walter Award Honor Book Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.… (mer)
Medlem:bigpicture
Titel:The Astonishing Color of After
Författare:Emily X. R. Pan (Författare)
Info:Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (2018), 480 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Joshua Medaris

Verksinformation

The Astonishing Color of After av Emily X. R. Pan

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 3 omnämnanden

engelska (30)  spanska (1)  Alla språk (31)
Visa 1-5 av 31 (nästa | visa alla)
Leigh is a teenager whose mother commits suicide. 95% of the book is about Leigh’s grief, anger, & attempts to understand why. She travels to Taiwan to meet her mother’s parents for the first time. It’s an emotionally draining book, told by an angry teenager with attitude, who was like that before her mother’s death. The main character isn’t likeable. It had a magical realism angle, which was necessary to tell the story, but there were logical gaps that bothered me throughout. The main character experiences these “magical” moments but almost never questions how or why. It kept jarring me out of the story because I kept wanting to ask the main character: “Don’t you wonder why you can see back in time?” just as an example. I definitely enjoyed the descriptions of Taiwan. ( )
  KarenMonsen | Dec 3, 2021 |
Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.

Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.

Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.
  CarolBurrows | Nov 17, 2021 |
This book was not for me. Leigh Sanders Chen has a Caucasian father and a Chinese mother. Her mother suffers from depression, and eventually takes her own life, leaving the two bereft. Together, they travel to Taiwan to meet her grandparents, from whom they were estranged following the mother's decision to marry an American. I did not much care for the chapters about Leigh and her male BFF, which were a little too much YA. I was also aghast that the father abandoned the daughter with the maternal grandparents when she needed him. I liked the Chinese setting, and the backstory, especially when told during dreams occasioned by incense/smoke from various character's memories. And, I liked the twist about one of the grandmother's friends towards the end of the book. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
diverse teen fiction (magical realism mental health; character-driven story returning to roots/visiting grandparents in China)
It's unclear whether or not you can trust the narrator (it's not inconceivable that she, too, could suffer from mental illness) until 100 or so pages in when her dad also witnesses the unnatural phenomena surrounding her mother's reincarnation as a bird. Also, I couldn't figure out if she was supposed to have synesthesia (experiencing emotions as color) or if she was just really, really, annoyingly artsy.

Aside from that, I liked that the story had diverse characters, and also appreciated that they were coping with and struggling to understand the mother's unexplained depression/suicide. I feel that this could be really helpful for some readers out there. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
4*
This was a beautifully written book dealing with grief after a suicide. I felt a strong connection to Leigh, the main character, having just dealt with a suicide in my own extended family this past summer. The language in this was definitely flowery and there were spots in the middle that started to feel a little drawn out. The presence of family in this was wonderful and I loved that Leigh was able to connect with her Grandparents in Taiwan after the death of her mother. I was nervous about the magical realism aspect of this book but it wasn't too much. The flowery nature of the writing and the whimsical feel of the characters made the minor magical realism just enough for me to handle. ( )
  courty4189 | Mar 24, 2021 |
Visa 1-5 av 31 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
If I should see a single bird --Emily Dickinson
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
My mother is a bird.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng. An APALA Honor Book A Walter Award Honor Book Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.04)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 3
2.5 1
3 9
3.5 3
4 44
4.5 6
5 24

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 164,526,762 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig