HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The Final Six av Alexandra Monir
Laddar...

The Final Six (utgåvan 2018)

av Alexandra Monir (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1709122,807 (3.97)10
Set in the near future, this action-packed YA novel--already optioned by Sony Pictures--will take readers out of this world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter's moon. This is the next must-read for fans of Illuminae and The Martian. When Leo and Naomi are drafted, along with twenty-two of the world's brightest teenagers, into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever changed. Overnight, they become global celebrities in contention for one of the six slots to travel to Europa--Jupiter's moon--and establish a new colony, leaving their planet forever. With Earth irreparably damaged, the future of the human race rests on their shoulders. For Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, this kind of purpose is a reason to go on after losing his family. But Naomi, an Iranian-American science genius, is suspicious of the ISTC and the fact that a similar mission failed under mysterious circumstances, killing the astronauts onboard. She fears something equally sinister awaiting the Final Six beneath Europa's surface. In this cutthroat atmosphere, surrounded by strangers from around the world, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo. As the training tests their limits, Naomi and Leo's relationship deepens with each life-altering experience they encounter. But it's only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.… (mer)
Medlem:dragons-are-cats
Titel:The Final Six
Författare:Alexandra Monir (Författare)
Info:HarperTeen (2018), 352 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

The Final Six av Alexandra Monir

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 10 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 9 (nästa | visa alla)
After reading the plotline for The Final Six’s sequel, The Life Below, on Facebook, I was immediately drawn to the novel. Taking place in a self-destructing Earth, twenty-four of the smartest, most athletic, and technical teens are chosen to compete in a series of tests that could qualify them for one of the six seats on a ship that will take them to Europa, where they will begin to colonize Jupiter’s moon so that the human race can leave Earth for good. Focusing on Naomi Ardalan of the United States and Leo Danieli of Italy, Monir tells the point of view of two teens and their experience during Space Training Camp. Personally, as much as I love this book and its whole concept, it was a bit predictable. I feel like, as soon as the contestants were assigned groups, you could easily foretell Leo and Naomi’s fate. Despite this, the story was very well written and engaging. I loved how readers got to go through each and every test which showed each and every contestants’ strengths. Overall, I would give this book, 4.5 out of 5 stars. If you like this book, I would recommend "Zodiac" by Romina Russell. ( )
  mtnemazi | Nov 5, 2020 |
Looking to escape an increasingly devastated earth, the international community selects Europa as a site for future colonization. And who better to colonize a distant moon and save humanity than six teenagers? NASA teams up with the International Space Training Camp to recruit the top 24 teens in the world in a competition to save mankind. The 24 teens will train, learn and push themselves to the limits, until the final six are chosen to go on the space journey. But surviving the mission to Europa is not a given. Astronauts from the Athena crew have already died on its surface.

This book focuses primarily on Leonardo Danieli from Italy and Naomi Ardalan of the United States. Leo lost his family in the flooding of Rome, but because his strong swimming abilities, Leo will compete to serve as the mission’s underwater specialist.Naomi, an Iranian-American from Los Angeles has a command of computers and her ability to think on her feet would make her an important asset to the team. She doesn't want to leave her family and her brother is too ill for them to join her on Europa if the mission is successful. She also suspects there’s something deeper going on, and she’s determined to expose it, both to protect the other finalists and to get herself kicked out of the program so that she can return to her family.

The Final Six is a fast-paced book that would definitely appeal to teens and pre-teens. I was disappointed that it ended in a cliffhanger but at least the second book has been published so I'll pick it up and continue the story.




TBR 1475 ( )
  Olivermagnus | Jul 2, 2020 |
What had me sceptical at first , has made me a fan of this series. Thought I say it reminds me a lot of INSIGNIA ( )
  MrNattania72 | Mar 17, 2020 |
Loved it. What a cute story. Cannot wait for the second part. Please be there soon. ( )
  CK31 | Sep 22, 2019 |
I loved this book! I'm really into books centered around a competition so I was happy that this book had that element, along with sci-fi and smart girls! Naomi was a great character. She was smart and independent, but still obviously loved her family so much and was torn about what her future should be. Leo was sweet and supportive of Naomi. They are couple goals for sure. I would've liked to get to know some of the side characters more, but that's what book 2 is for I guess.
The idea of our earth turning against us because we damaged it and ignored climate change is so realistic, you can easily see how that could happen. This book was interesting from the very beginning and I highly recommend it. Already (im)patiently waiting for the sequel!! ( )
  AlyP59 | Apr 25, 2019 |
Visa 1-5 av 9 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Set in the near future, this action-packed YA novel--already optioned by Sony Pictures--will take readers out of this world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter's moon. This is the next must-read for fans of Illuminae and The Martian. When Leo and Naomi are drafted, along with twenty-two of the world's brightest teenagers, into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever changed. Overnight, they become global celebrities in contention for one of the six slots to travel to Europa--Jupiter's moon--and establish a new colony, leaving their planet forever. With Earth irreparably damaged, the future of the human race rests on their shoulders. For Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, this kind of purpose is a reason to go on after losing his family. But Naomi, an Iranian-American science genius, is suspicious of the ISTC and the fact that a similar mission failed under mysterious circumstances, killing the astronauts onboard. She fears something equally sinister awaiting the Final Six beneath Europa's surface. In this cutthroat atmosphere, surrounded by strangers from around the world, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo. As the training tests their limits, Naomi and Leo's relationship deepens with each life-altering experience they encounter. But it's only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.97)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 2
3.5 2
4 5
4.5 1
5 6

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 157,912,633 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig