HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Monday's Not Coming av Tiffany D. Jackson
Laddar...

Monday's Not Coming (utgåvan 2018)

av Tiffany D. Jackson (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
5143235,965 (4.13)4
From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl's disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth. Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable--more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn't turn up for the first day of school, Claudia's worried. When she doesn't show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn't just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year's rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best--and only--friend more than ever. But Monday's mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday's sister April is even less help. As Claudia digs deeper into her friend's disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she's gone?… (mer)
Medlem:ksmedberg
Titel:Monday's Not Coming
Författare:Tiffany D. Jackson (Författare)
Info:Katherine Tegen Books (2018), Edition: Reprint, 432 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:*****
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

Monday's Not Coming av Tiffany D. Jackson

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 4 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 32 (nästa | visa alla)
diverse realistic fiction (7th grade and up); suspense/mystery; mental health/dealing with loss; bullying.
Wow, this had so much more going on than I expected. A riveting read and one I'll not soon forget. And all the teens I know are going to want to read it for sure. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
Again, another amazingly sad story. So much truth to it, but so sad. I like the way the character went back-and-forth in time and I found it easy to follow. Guessing the outcome wasn’t hard but it didn’t make it any easier. The little twist toward the end of the book regarding Claudia’s memory was brilliant! I totally did not see that coming. In fact I was expecting something completely different. ( )
  purple_pisces22 | Mar 14, 2021 |
Friendships during your teen years can often feel like a lifeline when you’re navigating home, school, hormones, and the rest that comes with transitioning from a kid to a young adult. That is absolutely the reality for Claudia and Monday, best friends who are on the brink of 8th grade. Although their home lives are markedly different, the two are kindred spirits facing life together.

That changes when Claudia returns to Washington, D.C. from her annual summer vacation to Georgia. Despite promises, Monday hasn’t written a single letter and doesn’t show up for school for months. No one notices, no one looks, and no one cares about Monday’s disappearance except Claudia. Early in the book, Claudia asks: “How can a whole person, a kid, disappear and no one say a word?” This is central to the plot of the book, which follows Claudia in her pursuit of the truth about where Monday’s been.

With Monday’s Not Coming, Jackson has given a voice to stories that often go unheard. Missing black girls and women do not get the same media coverage as other demographics, though their absence is no less troubling. I found it poignant that this story is set in Washington, D.C., which has had several high profile incidents of missing black girls, so much so that it sparked a hashtag, #missingDCgirls in 2017. Jackson’s careful examination of what happened to Monday was like peeling an onion, showing how someone can fall through the cracks, even when seemingly under heightened scrutiny. She sheds light not just on school officials, but also social services, law enforcement, and local communities’ roles in addressing issues around child welfare.

Jackson’s writing style in Monday’s Not Coming can be confusing, but is clearer on a second read. She tells the story chronologically, but hops back and forth in time by month and year. In so doing, she sheds light on the girls’ friendship, Monday’s disappearance and the search for her, and Claudia’s response to the truth. Admittedly, I didn’t understand it completely on the first read. But going back with clarity allowed me to see the skill in Jackson’s approach. Things I hadn’t picked up on the first time were glaring, and the theme of “breadcrumbs” became even more apparent.

Monday’s Not Coming strikes close to home — as a parent of a young black girl approaching Claudia and Monday’s age, I couldn’t help but put myself in the shoes of people throughout this book. I constantly asked myself how I would respond in a similar scenario. This isn’t an easy read by any stretch of the imagination. It was frustrating, angering, and heartbreaking. Nonetheless, it is a story that needs to be more widespread and is so critical in highlighting what is not uncommon in communities around the world.

Monday’s Not Coming is an emotional read, but so necessary. It is filled with suspense and angst about how a child could disappear with so little attention called to them. But more than that, it offers a critique of systems put in place to protect children and how they can so readily fail at their purpose. As with her previous release, Allegedly, Jackson has presented a book that lacks a neat, happily-ever-after but instead forces you to open your eyes and think. ( )
  lenabean84 | Jan 10, 2021 |
The idea of the story line is really heart breaking and good buttttt the timeline was very confusing to follow with the Before, the after, and the before the before. I had to consciously remind myself of where in the story I was reading when he new section started. Aside from the timeline, just the thought of not not knowing what everyone is going through especially kids is horrible to think about and this book helps to put thoughts in perspective. ( )
  jastay | Jan 7, 2021 |
Visa 1-5 av 32 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl's disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth. Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable--more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn't turn up for the first day of school, Claudia's worried. When she doesn't show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn't just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year's rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best--and only--friend more than ever. But Monday's mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday's sister April is even less help. As Claudia digs deeper into her friend's disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she's gone?

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.13)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5 1
3 15
3.5 3
4 28
4.5 8
5 34

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 160,490,634 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig