HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Other Words for Home av Jasmine Warga
Laddar...

Other Words for Home (utgåvan 2019)

av Jasmine Warga (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
4162545,115 (4.42)4
Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.… (mer)
Medlem:aparker6787
Titel:Other Words for Home
Författare:Jasmine Warga (Författare)
Info:Balzer Bray (2019), Edition: 1, 352 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:multicultural, immigration

Verkdetaljer

Other Words for Home av Jasmine Warga

Senast inlagd avArina42, Emma.June.Lyon, ridan, Duobond, privat bibliotek, angbon, Kimberly.s12

Ingen/inga.

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 4 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 25 (nästa | visa alla)
An amazing children’s book about the hardships and inspiration of a refugee who comes to start a new life in America. It is a great book for students to read to learn about Muslim culture and immigration. I love how the main character looks at America as her new home but still honors her family and old home. ( )
  emwalker97 | Nov 22, 2020 |
Jude, a girl who leaves her family behind and travels across the seas to America with her mother when things start to get out of hand, this causes her to become sad because she has to leave her father and brother behind during everything that is happening. Her and her mother settle in Cincinnati for a new life that will be safer, especially since her mother is pregnant. When Jude starts her new life there are many changes she goes through, she makes new friends, she has a new label, and she has a whole new family. With these changes Jude finally finds herself and feels she can finally be seen. This is a very good book to use in the classroom because it touches on diversity and talks about the hardships of having to live a new life when things got tough back in her home country. It shows that change can be good, and it is a very relatable story for kids to read in any content. ( )
  ashleyhollway | Nov 20, 2020 |
This is a beautiful book. Jude's comes with her pregnant mom to the United States to stay with family, leaving her dad and brother behind in Syria which is has increasing levels of violence and unrest. Her brother, Issa, is involved in trying to move the country to increased freedoms and rights which puts him in danger.
Jude tries to adjust to a new place, a new language, new culture. It's a struggle. She has an amazing support in her mom who is going through her own journey. She meets friends and tries to carve out her own path, find her voice and place in her new home. ( )
  ewyatt | Nov 18, 2020 |
Every Sunday in my household is cleaning day, so while I do my part of the work, I listen to an audiobook.
I picked up "Other Words for Home" because it is the book for August that one of my book clubs is reading. I found the audiobook on Scribd and enjoyed it very much.
Jude's story is a moving story told in verse of a Syrian girl and her mother fleeing from their home in their war-torn country. It's impossible not to feel empathetic towards the family as they split up over the turmoil.
Friends all the while worrying about the welfare of her father and brother.
With a unique lyrical writing style, the author has crafted a lovely story. The big-hearted main character is so brave and strong and endearing. You can't help but like her. I think this is a great story and not only for middle-grade readers. I think everyone could benefit from this moving tale that reminds us to not only accept our differences but to celebrate them and will help foster a better understanding of different cultures. ( )
  AvigailRGRIL | Nov 3, 2020 |
A novel in verse, that very quickly allowed me to forget it was in verse.
Jude grows up in Syria, happy most of the time, loving her family (mother, father, and older brother) and her best friend. But when war in Syria begins to spread to areas near her town, her brother goes towards the war, to fight against oppression, and her father sends Jude and her mother to America to live with her uncle (maternal) and his wife and daughter in Cincinnati, Ohio.
At first, Jude thinks they are visiting. But soon enough, she realizes that they have come to stay, and she needs to try to make a home in the United States. She is an upbeat and friendly girl, but naturally anxious about her new home, and whether she will be accepted. There are ups and downs of course, but in the end, mostly ups. ( )
  fingerpost | Sep 8, 2020 |
Visa 1-5 av 25 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (2 möjliga)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Jasmine Wargaprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Stempel-Lobell, JennaOmslagsformgivaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Syed, AnooshaOmslagmedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.42)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 5
3.5 6
4 22
4.5 3
5 41

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 155,577,046 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig