HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Playing with Matches: A Novel av Hannah…
Laddar...

Playing with Matches: A Novel (utgåvan 2018)

av Hannah Orenstein (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
633327,909 (3.15)Ingen/inga
Named a Best Book of Summer by Refinery29, Bustle, and PopSugar "The best rom-com of the season...overflowing with charm and heart." --Bustle "The perfect Summer read--smart, funny, escapist, and bursting with charm." --PopSugar In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients. Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her family's darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York City's elite at the dating service Bliss. Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets up a TV exec who wanted kids five years ago, a forty-year-old baseball-loving virgin, and a consultant with a rigorous five-page checklist for her ideal match. Sasha hopes to find her clients The One, like she did. But when Jonathan betrays her, she spirals out of control--and right into the arms of a writer with a charming Southern drawl, who she had previously set up with one of her clients. He's strictly off-limits, but with her relationship on the rocks, all bets are off. Fresh, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny, Playing with Matches is the addictive story about dating in today's swipe-heavy society, and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world.… (mer)
Medlem:angeljmartin
Titel:Playing with Matches: A Novel
Författare:Hannah Orenstein (Författare)
Info:Atria Books (2018), 320 pages
Samlingar:Purchased, Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:***
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

Playing with Matches: A Novel av Hannah Orenstein

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

Visar 3 av 3
When I finished Head Over Heels, I immediately bought Orenstein's other books. I was most excited for this one considering the cover is so cute, with it being pink and just overall an aesthetically pleasing cover. The concept was also something I hadn't heard of, so I was intrigued.

I really liked the first bit of the book. I couldn't stop reading it, and I was completely invested in it. I love Orenstein's writing, and this book didn't change that. However, I eventually lost interest in the book.

Sasha was relatable, and I really liked her. However, she was the only character I really liked. The rest of them were either obnoxious or just sort of uninteresting. Even so, Sasha was annoying at times, too. Her crush on Adam was a little weird at times, especially at first.

This book felt more like something I'd have enjoyed when I was a couple years younger. It seemed more like a coming-of-age, young adult romance, so if you like that type of book, I think you'd like this one. It was good, just not my favorite. ( )
  angeljmartin | Mar 12, 2021 |
After reading this I suppose I can see why so many people have enjoyed it but unfortunately, I wasn't one of them. The cover and title both caught my attention, but the overall story just didn't work for me.

*ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  maebri | Mar 10, 2020 |
Ummm can I please be a matchmaker for my job so I can just date cute boys all day and my husband has to let me cause um hello - it's my JOB! OK that sounds weird, and I think I'm a bit old saying "cute boys" but hey, I'm just dreaming right?!

Sasha Goldberg is young, pretty, fresh out of NYU, has a gorgeous boyfriend working in finance, and an amazing roommate who is basically a sister to her. When her dream job working for People.com falls though, she applies to work at Bliss. An elite matchmaking service for those who can afford such a thing. With ZERO experience in the match making business (and almost equally the same amount in dating in general) - she gets hired because of a family secret she reveals, that makes her stand out.

She soon realizes matchmaking is hard work! It's definitely a full time job pairing up the desperate, the picky, the insane! But she is all in - swiping on Tinder for matches for her clients, setting up unique dates, wrangling and fielding calls and texts, giving "advice" to women twice her age!

Her boyfriend Jonathan is perfect and perfect FOR her. She initially thinks, 'hey I've found my forever guy - how hard could it be to help find someone else their one and only?' Until something happens that makes her question if Jonathan really is THAT guy. And question basically every life choice she makes.

I really wish there was a bit more matchmaking stories in this - they were so fun and interesting. But we mostly delve into Sasha and what's going on in her life - and some really horrible choices she makes. I found a lot of her choices a bit unbelievable and her struggle to make them a bit annoying. It's mostly probably because I found her a bit unlikeable and snooty - same with most of the other characters. The storyline was fairly predictable but I zipped through it one day. It was well-structured and easy flowing and fun to follow. The concept and the way the story unfolded was fun as well, and I enjoyed reading it.

Thanks to NetGalley and Touchstone for the opportunity to read and review! ( )
  Bookapotamus | Jun 27, 2018 |
Visar 3 av 3
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Named a Best Book of Summer by Refinery29, Bustle, and PopSugar "The best rom-com of the season...overflowing with charm and heart." --Bustle "The perfect Summer read--smart, funny, escapist, and bursting with charm." --PopSugar In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients. Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her family's darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York City's elite at the dating service Bliss. Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets up a TV exec who wanted kids five years ago, a forty-year-old baseball-loving virgin, and a consultant with a rigorous five-page checklist for her ideal match. Sasha hopes to find her clients The One, like she did. But when Jonathan betrays her, she spirals out of control--and right into the arms of a writer with a charming Southern drawl, who she had previously set up with one of her clients. He's strictly off-limits, but with her relationship on the rocks, all bets are off. Fresh, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny, Playing with Matches is the addictive story about dating in today's swipe-heavy society, and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.15)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 4
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 2

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 158,948,186 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig