HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

The Comeback

av Bernard Taylor

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
822,198,800 (4.25)Ingen/inga
Rosemary Paul used to be a celebrated singer, but now she is aging and past her prime. Living an isolated life, her only companion is Carrie Markham, her live-in assistant who panders to Rosemary's every need and looks up to her older mentor. When Rosemary hears news from London that one of her albums is getting an unexpected re-release the old hunger for fame and success is reignited, and with Carrie's help she plans her big comeback to relaunch herself into the public stratosphere. But as preparations commence, long buried secrets begin to resurface and signs of strain show in Rosemary and Carrie's relationship, until reaching its dramatic breaking-point... Slowly building its uneasy tension throughout until revealing its shocking twist, The Comeback is an eerie psychological thriller with strong female characters; ideal for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins, it is perfect for book clubs, and will leave readers on the edge of their seats.… (mer)
Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

Visar 2 av 2
3.5/5 stars

As a big fan of Bernard Taylor, I thought I'd give this one a go and I'm so glad I did!

THE COMEBACK is listed as a thriller, but it has some horrific aspects to it. I noted what I thought was a bit of similarity to All About Eve, but I'll admit I turned out to be wrong on that count.

On a few other things I was right though, so there were some predictable bits.

Overall, I enjoyed myself and now I have another Bernard Taylor book under my belt.

Recommended!

*I downloaded this audio from Audible with a free code from this site: https://freeaudiobookcodes.com/index.php
I promised nothing in exchange.* ( )
  Charrlygirl | Apr 15, 2020 |
Bernard Taylor is a wonderful author. His delicate and articulate style creates a setting that deceitfully snares an unsuspecting reader and lulls him into a false sense of security.
Rosemary Paul is a fading star, with an adoring public, long forgotten. She lives out her remaining years as a recluse in New York ably supported by her good friend and companion Carrie Markham. A limited record release of her back catalogue has resulted in a small resurgence of the singer's popularity. Rejuvenated and aided by some close theatrical friends she comes to believe that the unthinkable might now be possible, namely a return to performing in front of her fans. London has been chosen as the venue for this momentous occasion. With financial support guaranteed and the new slim remodelled star about to be unveiled, it seems that nothing can stop the expected rebirth of an iconic legend....

I was ambushed and totally astonished not once but twice by the direction this story took in the closing chapters. To reveal anymore dear reader would destroy the delights and twists that remain to be discovered by you. The black and white cover for The Comeback reflected a very "noir" and old Hollywood feel to the novel. The character of Rosemary reminds me so much of such faded legends as Bette Davis and Joan Crawford and in particular their casting in that classic 1962 movie "Whatever happened to Baby Jane" Finally the scene is set and the world is about to meet and greet the once much loved Rosemary Paul. As she prepares to step out on the London stage the tension and anticipation is unbearable......"All at once the curtain no longer separated the stage from the audience. And the lights were changing, getting ready to illuminate her the second she stepped out. And the music, too-now playing the melody for her entrance. She couldn't move. Her hoarse breath loud in her ears, she stood there, rigid, as if her feet were fastened to the floor. Heart pounding, she reached out, her hand groping for support, and felt her fingers touch the wall of the proscenium arch. As best she could she grasped it and remained there, trembling, fixed to the spot....."

A story simply told but utterly absorbing in its unveiling, a masterpiece of the understated and highly recommended. ( )
  runner56 | Feb 2, 2018 |
Visar 2 av 2
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Rosemary Paul used to be a celebrated singer, but now she is aging and past her prime. Living an isolated life, her only companion is Carrie Markham, her live-in assistant who panders to Rosemary's every need and looks up to her older mentor. When Rosemary hears news from London that one of her albums is getting an unexpected re-release the old hunger for fame and success is reignited, and with Carrie's help she plans her big comeback to relaunch herself into the public stratosphere. But as preparations commence, long buried secrets begin to resurface and signs of strain show in Rosemary and Carrie's relationship, until reaching its dramatic breaking-point... Slowly building its uneasy tension throughout until revealing its shocking twist, The Comeback is an eerie psychological thriller with strong female characters; ideal for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins, it is perfect for book clubs, and will leave readers on the edge of their seats.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.25)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5 1
4
4.5
5 1

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 208,368,536 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig