HemGrupperDiskuteraUtforskaTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The Collectors av Jacqueline West
Laddar...

The Collectors (urspr publ 2018; utgåvan 2018)

av Jacqueline West (Författare)

Serier: The Collectors (1)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
8810247,994 (4)4
2019 Schneider Family Book Award Honor Book Even the smallest wish can be dangerous. That's why the Collectors are always keeping watch. The Collectors sweeps readers into a hidden world where wishes are stolen and dreams have a price. Fast-paced, witty, and riveting, this contemporary fantasy adventure has magic woven through every page. It's the first book in a two-book series from Jacqueline West, the New York Times-bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere series. For fans of Serafina and the Black Cloak, The Isle of the Lost, and The Secret Keepers. Van has always been an outsider. Most people don't notice him. But he notices them. And he notices the small trinkets they drop, or lose, or throw away--that's why his collection is full of treasures. Then one day, Van notices a girl stealing pennies from a fountain, and everything changes. He follows the girl, Pebble, and uncovers an underground world full of wishes and the people who collect them. Apparently not all wishes are good and even good wishes often have unintended consequences--and the Collectors have made it their duty to protect us. But they aren't the only ones who have their eyes on the world's wishes--and they may not be the good guys, after all.   Jacqueline West, author of the New York Times-bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, draws readers into a story about friendship, magic, and the gray area between good and evil. The Collectors is for fans of Cassie Beasley's Circus Mirandus and Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener.… (mer)
Medlem:Completely_Melanie
Titel:The Collectors
Författare:Jacqueline West (Författare)
Info:Greenwillow Books (2018), 384 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:to-read

Verksinformation

The Collectors av Jacqueline West (2018)

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 4 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 10 (nästa | visa alla)
I really enjoyed this book. It felt magical from the first page, and it was quite creative and unique in its premise. What I especially enjoyed what the way you, like Van, the main character, which side was bad and which side was good. It seemed like there were good people, who thought they were doing right on both sides and Van was stuck in the middle. One minute he would think one particular side was right, and then the other, then back again. He came to realize that one shouldn't just take a position without really learning more and investigating into ALL the facts behind certain positions. Things aren't always what they seem, nor are people, which Van learns as he finds out more about the family life of another boy.

It's a story that can make a child think and ponder, and that's a good thing. Even wishes that seem all good could come true in bad ways. Sometimes when you get what you think you want, you discover it's not really that great. Life is never as simple as it seems. I look forward to reading the next book in the series and have already ordered it. ( )
  LongDogMom | Jan 29, 2021 |
Interesting concept. Pretty good story. ( )
  pmichaud | Dec 21, 2020 |
Van likes to collect little unnoticed trinkets. He's small and usually goes unnoticed, so his hobby fits right in. Until one day, when a girl notices him- one who has a squirrel on her shoulder and leads him into an adventure where this hearing impaired boy can hear animals talk and hold a magical creature called a wish-eater in the palms of his hands. He learns there are consequences of making a real wish, and sometimes these are not what the wish-maker intended. Van also gets caught in the middle as 2 groups discover his special abilities and want him to help them, and there's no telling which group is more dangerous. This is a great fantasy adventure for grades 4-7. ( )
  sgrame | Jan 30, 2020 |
I loved West's Books of Elsewhere, but they've never circulated as much as I've wanted them to. Most of the kids I've tried them on have told me they're too scary! Still, the description of this book lured me in and I decided to enjoy it myself, even if the kids don't appreciate it.

Van is the new kid, the small kid, easy to overlook - but he sees things nobody else sees. Usually these are small treasures he carries back to his toy theater, wherever he and his opera-singer mother are currently living. But one day he sees - and hears - something different. He sees a strange girl and he hears a talking squirrel. This is unusual not only because, well, talking animals but also because Van can't hear too well anyways. But he doesn't have adjust his hearing aids or make any effort, he just... hears a squirrel.

The mystery deepens as Van pursues the Pebble, the girl, and Barnavelt, the squirrel, and discovers a hidden world of captured wishes and strange collectors, mysterious animals and magic both glorious and terrifying. Eventually, he will be torn between his new friends and his own wishes, trying to find the right path when everyone seems to be lying to him.

This fantasy builds slowly, but when it finally gets going it's a powerful book. Van encounters the power of wishes and also how that power corrupts. He meets friends who turn out to be enemies, and learns that not everything is black and white. West handles Van's hearing loss carefully, weaving its effects into the narrative of his everyday life and building it into the climactic final as Van makes his own choices about his destiny, reminding those who try to change his life that can make his own decisions.

This reminded me of the film Nocturna, with the blend of magic and the strange creatures flitting through the night. It has an open ending, leaving room for a sequel, but not ending on a cliffhanger (the second and last title came out in October 2019, A storm of wishes)

Verdict: I thoroughly enjoyed this beautifully written and gorgeously imagined magical world, and the smooth integration of Van's impaired hearing was extremely well done. However, its length (almost 400 pages) and the slow, reflective beginning, as well as the emphasis on the urban setting and the opera world, make this something unlikely to check out in my library. Happily, there are several copies available in my consortium and I plan to use it in forthcoming book clubs and see if there is enough interest to justify the purchase.

ISBN: 9780062691699; Published 2018 by Greenwillow; Borrowed from another library in my consortium
  JeanLittleLibrary | Dec 1, 2019 |
Weird, and quite good. A very good presentation of the idea that there's not always a right side - Van has to deal with multiple conflicting truths. I was annoyed by the (omnipresent in YA books, it seems) refusal to actually _talk_ to the other person. Pebble apparently thought her locust or termite simile conveyed something - it didn't much to me, and it didn't seem to convey anything at all to Van, for one example. There's a great deal of rushing around and pushing Van around, and flat no _explanation_ of either side (on the other side, there's a great deal of kindly talk, but it's more persuasive than explanatory). Lucky for the Collectors that Van encountered Pebble first. Still, it was an interesting story and several neat new concepts - I hope there will be a sequel. ( )
  jjmcgaffey | Sep 4, 2019 |
Visa 1-5 av 10 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

2019 Schneider Family Book Award Honor Book Even the smallest wish can be dangerous. That's why the Collectors are always keeping watch. The Collectors sweeps readers into a hidden world where wishes are stolen and dreams have a price. Fast-paced, witty, and riveting, this contemporary fantasy adventure has magic woven through every page. It's the first book in a two-book series from Jacqueline West, the New York Times-bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere series. For fans of Serafina and the Black Cloak, The Isle of the Lost, and The Secret Keepers. Van has always been an outsider. Most people don't notice him. But he notices them. And he notices the small trinkets they drop, or lose, or throw away--that's why his collection is full of treasures. Then one day, Van notices a girl stealing pennies from a fountain, and everything changes. He follows the girl, Pebble, and uncovers an underground world full of wishes and the people who collect them. Apparently not all wishes are good and even good wishes often have unintended consequences--and the Collectors have made it their duty to protect us. But they aren't the only ones who have their eyes on the world's wishes--and they may not be the good guys, after all.   Jacqueline West, author of the New York Times-bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, draws readers into a story about friendship, magic, and the gray area between good and evil. The Collectors is for fans of Cassie Beasley's Circus Mirandus and Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3 1
3.5 1
4 3
4.5 2
5 2

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 164,447,421 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig