HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Känner du till SantaThing, LibraryThings julklappsbyte?
avfärda
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

A good kind of trouble av Lisa Moore Ramée
Laddar...

A good kind of trouble (utgåvan 2019)

av Lisa Moore Ramée

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1668122,106 (4.02)2
From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds. Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what? Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum. Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.… (mer)
Medlem:ltfl_isulaan
Titel:A good kind of trouble
Författare:Lisa Moore Ramée
Info:New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

A Good Kind of Trouble av Lisa Moore Ramée

Ingen/inga.

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 2 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 8 (nästa | visa alla)
After attending a powerful protest, Shayla starts wearing an armband to school to support the Black Lives Matter movement, but when the school gives her an ultimatum, she is forced to choose between her education and her identity. ( )
  ShellyPYA | Aug 24, 2020 |
Shayla is a twelve-year-old African American girl who likes to follow the rules, and becomes very uncomfortable if she is put in a position to do 'the wrong thing'. Her older sister is active in Black Lives Matter, and Shay attends a protest that changes her feelings about challenging the rules. She works through her inner struggles to stand up for what she believes in, even if it may not be popular or may cause her to get into a 'good kind' of trouble.
  mweinmeister | Jul 24, 2020 |
This book was available for free and so I picked it up since the title intrigued me and the premise was relatable. Shayla has entered junior high and is just trying to figure things out: managing her friendships, getting through classes, trying to get good reads, what to do about her crushes and more. She avoids trouble for the most part, but sadly, trouble is not far away. Her older sister Hana is involved with Black Lives Matter and as this close to home Shayla learns for what it means to create the "good kind of trouble."

A middle grade book is out of my reading range but I was curious to see how this (vs. 'The Hate You Give' which is often mentioned in comparison) to handle it. The book is important. But I will agree with the negative reviews.

The action is "slow" and revolves around Shayla and 7th grade/preteen troubles. Which is fine, but don't expect or want this to be like 'Hate'. The issues here that might have been more obvious in that book are more of a background plotlines here.

That said, this can be a good way to introduce someone to it or to read from a different perspective. While overall the book wasn't for me, I could recognize that I never ever had to deal with issues Shayla and her family faces. Protesting as she and her sister do and did in the book would have never crossed my mind. So while in the end the text won't stay with me, Shayla's story will.

For the right person it can be the right read. Teens/pre-teens not ready for books like 'Hate' might find this easier and perhaps more relateable. A good gift for the right person and would probably be a great addition to a middle school or even 5th/6th grade level classroom at an elementary school, depending on the students' maturity.

Got it for free but would definitely recommend at least a library borrow if not a purchase for the right person. ( )
  HoldMyBook | Jun 27, 2020 |
12-year-old Shayla is a typical middle schooler: crushes on boys, hanging out with best friends Isabella and Julia, doesn't like getting into trouble. But life is not trouble-free for Shayla: Her friendship with Julia is wavering. The Black Lives Matter movement forces Shayla to confront unpleasant truths. And the black community is tense as it awaits the verdict of a police shooting trial. Shayla realizes that standing up for one’s beliefs and what’s right can be “a good kind of trouble.” “The Hate U Give” for upper elementary and middle school. Makes relevant for that age group the issues and significance of Black Lives Matter. Readable, well-paced, informally voiced. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Mar 2, 2020 |
A 2020 Lone Star selection, A Good Kind of Trouble reflects on perceptions.

Shayla's life changes more than she believes it would. She assumes nothing will change as they enter junior high, believing that with her two best friends, they will remain a threesome. Junior high, however, offers more opportunities and one friend, Julia, really enjoys hanging out with a new group. Isabelle changes her looks when her braces are removed and she's now beautiful. Shayla also dislikes not having classes with her friends and ends up with Bernard, a boy who scares her, as a lab partner. She also gets to know Yolanda with whom she has a couple of classes. Shayla spends so much time upset with Julia for not always being with them that she doesn't appreciate the time Julia is there. Shayla also fails to notice the true Isabelle--Shayla makes assumptions.

As I said, this is a novel about perceptions. Shayla's perceptions of her friends do not represent the truth because she isn't honest (or brave) enough to seek out the answers. Her perceptions about Bernard are also unfair, as there is more to him than she's willing to see. Ironically, Shayla gets upset when her sister asks why Shayla doesn't have any black friends, although now she can say she knows Yolanda. Shayla believes color doesn't matter. Her sister, however, believes strongly in the movement, Black Lives Matter. As a trial ends in town for a white officer who killed a black person, and the officer is found not guilty, Shayla recognizes the injustices afforded to black people. She absolutely hates causing trouble, but she feels that wearing an armband in protest brings attention to an unfair situation.

This novel speaks more to middle school than other books about the same subject. It's very accessible and appropriate to this age group, especially for those not ready for The Hate U Give or Dear Martin. Her conversations with her friends and the prejudices against them for their cultures are discussed adding a broader comment on people's perceptions of others based on their race or ethnicity. It's a well-written and good book about learned bias and the need to acknowledge the wrongs and fight for what's right. ( )
  acargile | Jan 6, 2020 |
Visa 1-5 av 8 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds. Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what? Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum. Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.02)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 4
3.5 1
4 14
4.5
5 5

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 152,738,061 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig