HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

New Kid av Jerry Craft
Laddar...

New Kid (urspr publ 2019; utgåvan 2019)

av Jerry Craft (Författare)

Serier: New Kid (1)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
8137920,375 (4.3)46
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?… (mer)
Medlem:lin.ryals
Titel:New Kid
Författare:Jerry Craft (Författare)
Info:Quill Tree Books (2019), Edition: 1, 256 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

New Kid av Jerry Craft (2019)

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 46 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 80 (nästa | visa alla)
This was a great book about the lower class, diversity, and stereotyping. It is about a kid named Jordan who is going to a more prestigious school because his parents think it will be better for him. But this school is not used to diversity, even a few of the teachers do not know how to act around them. It talks about his experience with being bully for his background. ( )
  kimmiestack | Jul 11, 2021 |
Jordan Banks is a seventh grader, living in the 'hood of Washington Heights, a very diverse neighborhood. His pushy mother and pushover father send him to Riverdale Academy Day School (RAD), where he struggles to fit in, find himself and a posse, eventually becoming fast friends with a lonely white kid (whose father travels) and a black athlete. He faces some racism, some blatant and some not. I especially enjoyed his daily metamorphosis on the bus where he goes from cool to nerd going to school and the reverse coming home. He also struggles to fit back in his 'hood as he becomes 'private school.' Good graphic art and an authentic feel about being accepted or ostracized racially, economically, socially. 3.5 stars. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
Really good. A must-read for librarians and teachers, but everyone else should read it too! ( )
  CaitlinMcC | Jul 11, 2021 |
diverse middlegrade graphic novel (Jordan is a light-skinned black kid starting 7th grade at a mostly-white private school on scholarship)

This story took me a little while to settle into (partly because I was just tired in general) but by the end of the story I'd really taken to Jordan and his funny new friends--J. grows quite a bit in his first year, learning to stand up for himself and others (while somehow not getting into trouble for the double-standards that teachers/administrators demonstrate for white students/black students) amidst various forms of microaggressions and bullying, and also trying to make things better for other classmates that he sees struggling to make friends.

Surprisingly sweet for a story about middle school. More, please! ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
This story is about a young boy named Jordan, who moved into a new school. He began to attend a private school that specialized in art. However, Jordan was one of the only students of color in the entire school. He lived in an urban area that lacked diversity. This book allows for readers to see how Jordan worked to fit in, in a society that had not been exposed to diverse cultures.
  Jessica0614 | Jun 2, 2021 |
Visa 1-5 av 80 (nästa | visa alla)
Don’t let the title fool you. Seventh-grader Jordan Banks may be the new kid at his upper-crust private school, but this remarkably honest and accessible story is not just about being new; it’s unabashedly about race. Example after uncomfortable example hits the mark: casual assumptions about black students’ families and financial status, black students being mistaken for one another, well-intentioned teachers awkwardly stumbling over language, competition over skin tones among the black students themselves. Yet it’s clear that everyone has a burden to bear, from the weird girl to the blond boy who lives in a mansion, and, indeed, Jordan only learns to navigate his new world by not falling back on his own assumptions. Craft’s easy-going art and ingenious use of visual metaphor loosen things up considerably, and excerpts from Jordan’s sketch book provide several funny, poignant, and insightful asides. It helps keep things light and approachable even as Jordan’s parents tussle over the question of what’s best for their son—to follow the world’s harsh rules so he can fit in or try to pave his own difficult road. A few climactic moments of resolution feel a touch too pat, but Craft’s voice rings urgent and empathetic. Speaking up about the unrepresented experience of so many students makes this a necessary book, particularly for this age group. Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.
 

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
To the Jordan Banks in all of us
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
This is how I feel every single day of my life, like I'm falling without a parachute.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.3)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 4
2.5
3 19
3.5 9
4 65
4.5 11
5 87

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 160,587,983 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig