HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

August Isle av Ali Standish
Laddar...

August Isle (utgåvan 2019)

av Ali Standish (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
503514,925 (3.89)Ingen/inga
Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Mystery. HTML:

*A Junior Library Guild Selection*

From critically acclaimed author Ali Standish (The Ethan I Was Before), the story of one girl's journey to a magical seaside town, where she uncovers her family's long hidden secrets and ultimately finds truth and redemption.

Fans of Sharon Creech and Rebecca Stead will be captivated by this story filled with warm humor, mystery, whimsy, and characters you can't let go. A modern classic in the making!

For years, Miranda has stared at postcards of August Isle, Florida. The town where her mother spent her summers as a girl. The town that Miranda has always ached to visit. She just never wanted it to happen this way.

When she arrives on the Isle, alone and uncertain, to stay the summer with an old friend of her mother's, Miranda discovers a place even more perfect than she imagined. And she finds a new friend in Sammy, "Aunt" Clare's daughter.

But there is more to August Isle than its bright streets and sandy beaches, and soon Miranda is tangled in a web of mysteries. A haunted lighthouse. An old seafarer with something to hide. A name reaching out from her mother's shadowy past.

As she closes in on answers, Miranda must reckon with the biggest question of all: Is she brave enough to face the truth she might uncover?

"A beautifully written story. An emotional journey of family, friendship, loss, and healing." ??Kirkus… (mer)

Medlem:kevindseal
Titel:August Isle
Författare:Ali Standish (Författare)
Info:HarperCollins (2019), 368 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verksinformation

August Isle av Ali Standish

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

Visar 3 av 3
Miranda feels like there is something wrong with her, and that is the reason her mom keeps taking photojournalist assignments all over the world for months at a time. Miranda is very sensitive to her mom's moods, and she wonders why she won’t talk to her. When her mom gets another big assignment and her dad has an important legal case, they tell her she’s going to spend the next month in August Isle, Florida with her mom’s childhood friend Clare and her family. Miranda wants to go see August Isle where her mom and Clare played together, and she once met Clare’s daughter Sammy and had fun with her, but she still feels abandoned. When she gets there, she finds a beautiful beach community with lots of mysteries and fun adventures if she can stop being afraid and worried about her mom. There are a lot of different themes in this story, and they touch on what children can experience as they reach their teenage years and begin to discover who they will become as adults. I like the way Ali Standish writes and her writing reminds me of some of the reasons I loved reading as a kid. ( )
  PamelaBarrett | Jan 27, 2023 |
Loses a bit of my esteem for unnecessary romance, but mostly this is a wonderful book about the complexity of emotion and family (both found and not). Theres a cool bird in the story and it made me cry a lot. ( )
  mutantpudding | Dec 26, 2021 |
Miranda’s mother works as a traveling photographer. Miranda feels that their relationship has changed since she was young, that her mother doesn’t love her as much as she did and isn’t happy with her. When her mother gets a primo assignment in Argentina, and her father is working on an important case in Chicago, they send Miranda to live with Aunt Clare on August Isle in Florida. Miranda decides she will find out more about her mother there. Not sure what direction this book wants to take: A mystery about Keeper’s Island? A coming-of-age story? A mother/daughter reconciliation? ( )
  Salsabrarian | Mar 17, 2020 |
Visar 3 av 3
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For Mom, who wrote me into her story
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
She was going to leave me again.
Citat
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
This is sankofa: the symbol for a proverb that says it is not wrong to go back and remember our past. In fact, to move forward, we must honor our history, and learn from it. Sankofa reminds us that it is always better to remember, even when remembering is the hardest thing to do.
Real love is something you feel, but it's not something you can touch or hold. Which means nothing can take it from you, see? Not even death.
I didn't want to be the sandpiper, zigzagging back and forth, always on the move, unable to make up its mind.
I wanted to be like the August Oak, silently stretching its roots deeper and farther into the ground and gripping the earth, listening and watching, feeling m branches blowing in the wind but never floating away on it.
Sometimes things just happen in life. Things that we can't control or predict.
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Mystery. HTML:

*A Junior Library Guild Selection*

From critically acclaimed author Ali Standish (The Ethan I Was Before), the story of one girl's journey to a magical seaside town, where she uncovers her family's long hidden secrets and ultimately finds truth and redemption.

Fans of Sharon Creech and Rebecca Stead will be captivated by this story filled with warm humor, mystery, whimsy, and characters you can't let go. A modern classic in the making!

For years, Miranda has stared at postcards of August Isle, Florida. The town where her mother spent her summers as a girl. The town that Miranda has always ached to visit. She just never wanted it to happen this way.

When she arrives on the Isle, alone and uncertain, to stay the summer with an old friend of her mother's, Miranda discovers a place even more perfect than she imagined. And she finds a new friend in Sammy, "Aunt" Clare's daughter.

But there is more to August Isle than its bright streets and sandy beaches, and soon Miranda is tangled in a web of mysteries. A haunted lighthouse. An old seafarer with something to hide. A name reaching out from her mother's shadowy past.

As she closes in on answers, Miranda must reckon with the biggest question of all: Is she brave enough to face the truth she might uncover?

"A beautifully written story. An emotional journey of family, friendship, loss, and healing." ??Kirkus

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.89)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 4
4.5
5 2

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 205,734,606 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig