HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Across The Void av S. K. Vaughn
Laddar...

Across The Void (utgåvan 2019)

av S. K. Vaughn (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
424469,464 (3.38)Ingen/inga
"A visceral space thriller--perfect for fans of Arrival and The Martian--following the sole survivor of a catastrophic accident in space that leaves her drifting in the void with only the voice of her estranged husband, a NASA scientist, to guide her back to Earth"--
Medlem:Scathach42
Titel:Across The Void
Författare:S. K. Vaughn (Författare)
Info:Sphere (2019), Edition: 1st Edition
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

Across the Void: A Novel av S. K. Vaughn

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

Visar 4 av 4
One of the reviews that I saw before starting to listen to the audio of this mentioned that it was like The Martian, and yes, I can see that. This is a story about an astronaut pilot who has been marooned in her ship far from home, and the lengths that are required to even attempt to bring her home. But there's another plot-line simultaneously being worked through about her emotional life and her relationships. That secondary plot-line reminded me a lot of another sci-fi that I listened to a while back, The Space Between the Stars by Anne Corlette. Overall, this story had me on the edge quite a bit and I really had a good time with it, but I'd liked to have seen more of the universe ,the discoveries from Europa, what happens after that final showdown and they head home because it's kindof a big deal the whole Ian thing. ( )
  Noeshia | Oct 23, 2020 |
This was supposed to be the story of May Knox, an astronaut who was making the first trip of its kind to Europa, and what happens after she wakes up from a coma she can't remember being in. She has only the ship's female AI to help her and keep her company and then, shockingly, she discovers she's pregnant. This was supposed to be a book about May and it could have been a fascinating look at isolation, fear, and hope. Instead it was more about May's ex-husband and billionaire former boyfriend and various other men working on the project and it became vastly uninteresting.
[I received this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.] ( )
  tldegray | Jan 4, 2020 |
I started out liking this book but the implausibilities started piling up and I finally just finished it to find out how bad the ending was going to be.

Commander May Knox, returning from a historic making trip to the Jupiter satellite Europa, wakes up in the ship infirmary. Apparently she'd been sick but she can't remember what happened to her. To add to the mystery, the infirmary appears to have been trashed. And the rest of the crew (not clear how many, 10-20 maybe) are gone. She's all alone with only the ship's AI (who seems ill equipped) to keep her company. OK, so the book jacket compares this to "The Martian" and I guess it gets off to a similar start. But it's all downhill from there.

I had a lot of problems with this book.

First, the ship, the "Hawking II". I would expect with such a name interstellar travel or something about relativity or something exotic would be involved. No. The ship is described as perhaps a sphere with multiple decks which spin for gravity. That sounds like a rotating ball with the decks on the interior. But wouldn't different decks need to spin a different rates to keep a constant gravity? Sounds like it would be complicated to move around it but apparently not. Also there appear to be parts of the ship, like the dock, where gravity can be switched off. Doesn't make sense.

I'm afraid there are some spoilers ahead.

May finds out that she's pregnant. Oh, maybe some European virus has impregnated her. The point of this mission was to discover if there was life in the Europa frozen oceans. No, she had sex with her husband just days before leaving on the 3-month trip. Why is the infirmary stocked with pregnancy tests and abortion pills? I guess humans will be humans.

It becomes clear that the ship was the subject of some sabotage. The book makes little attempt to explain the motives behind the sabotage. Several ideas are floated (barely) but still motivation is severely missing.

Then the soap opera. Is the baby the child of her husband or her former lover whom she slept with a couple of weeks before the flight to spite her husband? I really could have done with out this subplot. Then her husband (who had designed the science portion of the ship) and her ex-lover (who was a billionaire wannabe space explore) team up to save her in an experimental spacecraft which the NASA program director in charge of May's mission tries to shoot down as it is launched. None of this makes a lick of sense.

I only gave it 2 stars because I was able to finish it. ( )
  capewood | Nov 10, 2019 |
As others, when I started reading this book, my first thought was The Martian. But it is such a different story. May, the commander of an expedition to Europa (one of Jupiter’s moons) is the only survivor of a catastrophe aboard her ship. She awakens from a coma, with amnesia and slowly tries to get the ship on course to home (well, at least to Mars). She has her trusty AI computer, Eve to help her and Eve is also the comic relief at points. There are flashbacks to show how May got there and her relationships to those who want to rescue her. I enjoyed it because there were some plot twists, enough humor and enough action to whet my appetite. ( )
  grumpydan | Apr 22, 2019 |
Visar 4 av 4
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"A visceral space thriller--perfect for fans of Arrival and The Martian--following the sole survivor of a catastrophic accident in space that leaves her drifting in the void with only the voice of her estranged husband, a NASA scientist, to guide her back to Earth"--

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.38)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 1
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4 3
4.5
5 1

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 157,906,685 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig