HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Crowfall (Raven's Mark Book 3) av Ed…
Laddar...

Crowfall (Raven's Mark Book 3) (urspr publ 2019; utgåvan 2019)

av Ed McDonald (Författare)

Serier: The Raven's Mark (3)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
602346,095 (4.43)Ingen/inga
Crowfall is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky. A sorceress cataclysm has hit the Range, the final defensive line between the Republic and the immortal Deep Kings. Tormenting red rains sweep the land, new monstrosities feed on fear in the darkness, and the power of the Nameless, the gods who protect the Republic, lies broken. The Blackwing captains who serve them are being picked off one by one, and even immortals have learned what it means to die. Meanwhile the Deep Kings have only grown stronger, and are poised to deliver a blow that will finally end the war. Ryhalt Galharrow stands apart from it all. He has been deeper into the wasteland known as the Misery than ever before. It has grown within him - changed him - but all power comes with a price, and now the ghosts of his past, formerly confined to the Misery, walk with him everywhere. They will even follow him, and the few surviving Blackwing captains, on one final mission into the darkness. Praise for Ed McDonald: 'One of the best books I read this year' FANTASY BOOK REVIEW 'A real fantastical page-turner' SciFiNow 'This story moves at an (ahem) spellbinding pace' SFX MAGAZINE 'Fabulously inventive and at times horrifyingly funny and action packed' MORNING STAR 'One of the biggest fantasy debuts of the year' THE BOOK BAG 'A very impressive debut, with complex characters and an imaginative setting' SFF WORLD 'Ed McDonald has taken something old and made it new . . . it's epic' FANTASY BOOK CRITIC… (mer)
Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

Visar 2 av 2
Crowfall is the third book in the Raven’s Mark series and it was a truly visceral read filled with raw emotion, schemes, and double-crosses. This story picks up six years after the end of Ravencry and much has changed over the years since Ryhalt Galharrow chose to live in isolation in the wastelands of the Misery. Spending time there was not safe or healthy and to willingly subject oneself to such a sentence was pure insanity. Which was exactly what was taking place with Ryhalt. The writing describing his decent into madness was enthralling because, through it all, there remained an awareness that Ryhalt was holding firm, staying just sane enough, to follow through on a bigger picture plan that he committed to years ago. Which coincidentally made choices, made on Ryhalt’s part, in the previous book, make much more sense.

Ryhalt chose to descend into the Misery, come what may, but he always held a part of himself back from her, a part which she wanted. The relationship between Ryhalt and the Misery was well written and complex. She had always been on the periphery but in this story, there is a true understanding of the Misery’s place in all things which was fascinating and horrific. I loved that! With time spent in the Misery, Ryhalt was a changed man, barely fit for society, which led to complications when he returned to town. Despite the challenges, he knew the time for action was drawing near and he had to make the most of the moments he had left. I loved how he used his time to settle some old scores, make amends for past transgressions, and to finally have some closure. A lot was unpacked in this story and tied together. I did not think that all the questions I had would be handled but they were and it was stunningly done!

What makes this series memorable is Ryhalt Galharrow. His character’s development was nothing short of a deep-seated and impactful journey. To hear his story told through his narrative adds a depth of feeling filled with remorse, honor, and resignation. Everything he did was to make whatever difference he could for the existence of others but never for himself. He counted himself out a long time ago but still carried on to do what he could in the time he had left. He was admirable but not in a way that most would see. For so many reasons I loved his character but above all else it was his commitment to what held his heart that endeared me to him. Crowfall is by no means a love story but there is an element of love and commitment that would make any romantic swoon, it is just buried under layers of blood, sacrifice, and dystopia. Which happens to appeal to me, so there you go. If you have not started this series, then I urge you start today. There is nothing to lose and everything to gain!

This review is based on a complimentary book I received from Penguin Random House. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no way affected my review or rating. ( )
  TheGenreMinx | Jul 1, 2019 |
Visar 2 av 2
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (2 möjliga)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Ed McDonaldprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Auerbach, AdamOmslagsformgivaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Gram, AnaCover imagemedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Mulcahey, StephenCover imagemedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Crowfall is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky. A sorceress cataclysm has hit the Range, the final defensive line between the Republic and the immortal Deep Kings. Tormenting red rains sweep the land, new monstrosities feed on fear in the darkness, and the power of the Nameless, the gods who protect the Republic, lies broken. The Blackwing captains who serve them are being picked off one by one, and even immortals have learned what it means to die. Meanwhile the Deep Kings have only grown stronger, and are poised to deliver a blow that will finally end the war. Ryhalt Galharrow stands apart from it all. He has been deeper into the wasteland known as the Misery than ever before. It has grown within him - changed him - but all power comes with a price, and now the ghosts of his past, formerly confined to the Misery, walk with him everywhere. They will even follow him, and the few surviving Blackwing captains, on one final mission into the darkness. Praise for Ed McDonald: 'One of the best books I read this year' FANTASY BOOK REVIEW 'A real fantastical page-turner' SciFiNow 'This story moves at an (ahem) spellbinding pace' SFX MAGAZINE 'Fabulously inventive and at times horrifyingly funny and action packed' MORNING STAR 'One of the biggest fantasy debuts of the year' THE BOOK BAG 'A very impressive debut, with complex characters and an imaginative setting' SFF WORLD 'Ed McDonald has taken something old and made it new . . . it's epic' FANTASY BOOK CRITIC

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.43)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 2
3.5
4 4
4.5 2
5 12

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 160,512,725 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig