HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Hei ethän unohda minua av Mhairi McFarlane
Laddar...

Hei ethän unohda minua (urspr publ 2019; utgåvan 2019)

av Mhairi McFarlane, Sanna Majuri (Lukija.), Hanna Arvonen (Översättare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
4172959,514 (3.81)15
Fiction. Literature. Romance. Humor (Fiction.) HTML:

"Don't You Forget About Me is one of those books I couldn't put down. Crackling with energy and wit, I lost count of how many times I laughed out loud. Mhairi McFarlane's voice is as clear as a bell??she makes you laugh, but she also makes you feel. I adore her!" ?? Sally Thorne

Internationally bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane delivers a funny, romantic, heartfelt novel perfect for fans of Josie Silver or Sally Thorne, and anyone who loves Bridget Jones or Fleabag!

You always remember your first love... don't you?

If there's anything worse than being fired from the worst restaurant in town, it's coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else. Reeling from the humiliation of a double dumping in one day, Georgina takes the next job that comes her way??bartender in a newly opened pub. There's only one problem: it's run by the guy she fell in love with years ago. And??make that two problems??he doesn't remember her. At all. But she has fabulous friends and her signature hot pink fur coat... what more could a girl really need?

Lucas McCarthy has not only grown into a broodingly handsome man, but he's also turned into an actual grown-up, with a thriving business and a dog along the way. Crossing paths with him again throws Georgina's rocky present into sharp relief??and brings a secret from her past bubbling to the surface. Only she knows what happened twelve years ago, and why she's allowed the memories to chase her ever since. But maybe it's not too late for the truth... or a second chance with the one t… (mer)

Medlem:Odena
Titel:Hei ethän unohda minua
Författare:Mhairi McFarlane
Andra författare:Sanna Majuri (Lukija.), Hanna Arvonen (Översättare)
Info:[Tukholma] : HarperCollins Nordic, [2019]
Samlingar:Lästa men inte ägda
Betyg:****
Taggar:romantiikka

Verksinformation

Don't You Forget About Me av Mhairi McFarlane (2019)

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 15 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 28 (nästa | visa alla)
I did not like this one. Long and mostly dull about a woman who turns 30 and is a little bit lost in her life: no great job, no great love, strained relationship with her family. She gets a job she loves but a boy (who she had a secret romance with in high school and who broke her heart) is one of the owners and he.....doesn’t remember her.

They form a bit of a friendship at the bar and she’s still in love with him but there’s not really enough to show me why she loves modern Lucas. He’s nice enough but most of their interactions are about Georgina and other actively terrible men she encounters. She flashes back a tiny bit to how she knew him in high school but we don’t get a ton there either.

There’s a lot going on about her personal growth and that’s all good and we watch her find herself and make some progress in self confidence. All good but I found myself skipping some of it and just wanting the whole thing to be over. Eventually she gets a happily ever after and I really wish that it felt more earned than it did.

As I write this if I didn’t walk into it thinking it was a standard romance I think I’d have liked it a whole lot more. ( )
  hmonkeyreads | Jan 25, 2024 |
I feel a tad misguided by the blurb/cover for this one—Don't You Forget About Me isn't a light, fluffy romance. It's more in the vein of women's fiction with some one-liners and funny bits, but also some weightier topics like sexual assault and emotionally abusive relationships. The female lead, Georgina, was also far more developed than the male lead, Lucas. I really liked Georgina, and thought her coming into her own and her reckoning with her past experiences was really well done, it was all just a tad heavier than I was expecting. Lucas, however, didn't get that much development beyond being a bit of a passive ass (and that's even when excluding his behaviour as a teenager, which was at least developmentally understandable).

Tl;dr: liked the characters and the humour, mostly; didn't find myself rooting for the romantic leads to get together. ( )
  siriaeve | Jun 6, 2023 |
Georgina's having a rough go of it: she got fired from her waitressing job at the worst restaurant in Sheffield, then found her boyfriend in bed with another woman. Her family is on her case because she's 30 and still working dead-end jobs. And then, to top it off, she meets Lucas, her high school almost-boyfriend, and he doesn't even recognize her. When his brother offers her a bartending job, she doesn't want to turn it down, even though things might be complicated. Is it possible that the sparks are still there, or is it too late for a second chance with Lucas?

I liked the writing, characters, and setting of this story. It's a lot more about Georgina coming to terms with some of the things that have happened to her in the past than it is about romance, so don't expect the romance to be always at the forefront of the narrative. Georgina's friends are terrific and her family is believably complicated, and I found the ending satisfying. All in all, enjoyable for fans of this genre. ( )
  foggidawn | May 17, 2023 |
Ugh. I saw what was coming, but it didn't make it any easier to read. McFarlane deals with some gritty topics in here and a part of me did feel like it was jumping on a trend, but it doesn't negate its importance. And gosh! It was a way to explain a distance in time that was believable and made sense (unlike in the Christina Lauren book I read last week) so kudos for that, too.

I really liked Georgina as a main character, and I adored her friends, and Robin was hilarious (as a fictional device, not in reality), and this was a lovely read. ( )
  whakaora | Mar 5, 2023 |
Honestly, I was hooked from the start as we tagged along with Esme through shades of the past, only to land in a present that was nothing short of newsworthy...only in the worst ways possible (think AWFUL job ended on their terms PLUS a scuzbag boyfriend caught in the act...eww). Let's face it, she's had a time of it, and while she openly accepts the blame big girl style for her part in things, the majority truly was anything but her fault...not that her FAMILY could have recognized that fact...gheesh! My heart ached for her with the lack of support she received for practically anything, but swelled in delight as she tackled life one crazy obstacle at a time in her own way, with her own fashion sense, and with heart. It was a terrible blow when the beau from yesteryear didn't seem to acknowledge their past in any way (WTH?!), when the more recent former beau wouldn't TAKE A HINT (and a hike), and life seemed intent on giving her more lemons than anyone would wish to make lemonade with, but SHE NEVER GAVE UP...which made her revelations during the Share Your Shame contest THAT much more freeing.

So, if you're looking for the possibility of a romance, a female lead with more strength than she knows, a male lead that doesn't know the power he truly holds, and a whole lot of ups, downs, and in-betweens with shock, humor, heart, and a hug worthy pupper...this one is TOTALLY for you!


**ARC received for review; opinions are my own ( )
  GRgenius | Jul 31, 2022 |
Visa 1-5 av 28 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den finska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den finska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Information från den finska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Fiction. Literature. Romance. Humor (Fiction.) HTML:

"Don't You Forget About Me is one of those books I couldn't put down. Crackling with energy and wit, I lost count of how many times I laughed out loud. Mhairi McFarlane's voice is as clear as a bell??she makes you laugh, but she also makes you feel. I adore her!" ?? Sally Thorne

Internationally bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane delivers a funny, romantic, heartfelt novel perfect for fans of Josie Silver or Sally Thorne, and anyone who loves Bridget Jones or Fleabag!

You always remember your first love... don't you?

If there's anything worse than being fired from the worst restaurant in town, it's coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else. Reeling from the humiliation of a double dumping in one day, Georgina takes the next job that comes her way??bartender in a newly opened pub. There's only one problem: it's run by the guy she fell in love with years ago. And??make that two problems??he doesn't remember her. At all. But she has fabulous friends and her signature hot pink fur coat... what more could a girl really need?

Lucas McCarthy has not only grown into a broodingly handsome man, but he's also turned into an actual grown-up, with a thriving business and a dog along the way. Crossing paths with him again throws Georgina's rocky present into sharp relief??and brings a secret from her past bubbling to the surface. Only she knows what happened twelve years ago, and why she's allowed the memories to chase her ever since. But maybe it's not too late for the truth... or a second chance with the one t

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.81)
0.5
1 3
1.5 1
2 4
2.5
3 16
3.5 9
4 55
4.5 4
5 17

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 202,114,037 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig