HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The beekeeper of Aleppo av Christy Lefteri
Laddar...

The beekeeper of Aleppo (urspr publ 2019; utgåvan 2020)

av Christy Lefteri

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
5022936,188 (4.17)17
"Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo--until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape. But what Afra has seen is so terrible she has gone blind, and so they must embark on a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece towards an uncertain future in Britain. As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls. Above all, they must journey to find each other again. Moving, powerful, and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo brings home the idea that the most ordinary of lives can be completely upended in unimaginable ways"--… (mer)
Medlem:kafsmif
Titel:The beekeeper of Aleppo
Författare:Christy Lefteri
Info:London : Zaffre, 2020.
Samlingar:Read
Betyg:****
Taggar:2020

Verkdetaljer

The Beekeeper of Aleppo av Christy Lefteri (2019)

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 17 omnämnanden

engelska (26)  nederländska (2)  tyska (1)  Alla språk (29)
Visa 1-5 av 29 (nästa | visa alla)
All members of our book club loved The Beekeeper of Aleppo. They found it very enlightening, particularly regarding the mental and immigration difficulties. Some incidents that happened to Afra and Nuri were horrifying and members felt almost guilty for enjoying the book despite the gravity of the subject matter. All members loved the writing style, though some members found the single word connections between different scenes a little bit jarring. The characterisations and relationships in the book were well developed. All in all, members gave this book an 8/10. ( )
  Tofey | Mar 29, 2021 |
In the tradition of The Kite Runner, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a story of suffering and the remarkable ability of the human spirit to survive against a background of war, slaughter and heartache.
Nuri, his wife Afra, and their son Sami are residents in war torn Aleppo. By profession he is a beekeeper and carries out this dedicated vocation with his friend Mustafa. Running through this insightful story is a fond adoration of the daily life of the humble bee, the delicious honey they produce, and their importance in the ecological system. Life is irrevocably changed when a bomb explodes, killing Sami and blinding Afro. As the desperate situation in Syria/Aleppo disintegrates Nuri takes the decision together with his wife to make the perilous journey across Europe and obtain residency in the UK as an asylum seeker, and by so doing join his friend Mustafa who has already established a business in Yorkshire. What follow is not only the hardships of such and endeavour but a story of 2 people deeply traumatised attempting to save a relationship fractured by events in an escalating war...

….”But as the years passed, the dessert was slowly growing, the climate becoming harsh, rivers drying up, farmers struggling, only the bees were drought-resistant. Look at those little warriors Afra would say on the days when she came with Sami to visit the apiaries, a tiny bundle wrapped up in her arms. Look at them still working when everything else is dying”...”Nice to meet you he said...I wish you a day of morning light”....” How many tissues will people need to buy? Maybe this is a city of crying”....”Can you see the bees Nuri? Try to see them in your mind. Hundreds and thousands of them in the sunlight, on the flowers, the hives and the honeycomb. Can you see it?”.....”I am standing away from them by the glass doors, watching them, and I think about the little boy who never existed and how he had filled the black void that Sami had left. Sometimes we create such powerful illusions, so that we do not get lost in the darkness”.....

Provocative, thought provoking prose, make this a story long remembered. Highly recommended. ( )
  runner56 | Jan 9, 2021 |
Extremely well-written, a very well-told fictional story about a Syrian couple who escape their country and seek asylum in the UK. Alternating the waiting period in London with the long and traumatic story, their characters gradually shine through.

Horrific in places, yet without any gratuitous description; thought-provoking and powerful. Peppered with memories and descriptions of bees, their care and cycles, as the narrator of the book was a beekeeper in Aleppo before everything fell apart.

Not an easy read, emotionally, but well worth it. Based on the author's own experiences working in refugee centres and hearing people's stories first-hand.

Very highly recommended.

Longer review here: https://suesbookreviews.blogspot.com/2020/10/the-beekeeper-of-aleppo-by-christy.... ( )
  SueinCyprus | Nov 1, 2020 |
"Where there are bees there are flowers, and where there are flowers there is new life and hope."

Nuri is a beekeeper, working with his cousin Mustafa and living peacefully in Aleppo, Syria with his wife Afra, an artist, and their young son. Nuri and his family live a simple life, rich in family and friends until the unthinkable happens and civil war breaks out. When war destroys their home, their city and their lives, Nuri and Afra realise that they have no other choice than to leave their home and their country and undertake a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece towards an uncertain future in Britain.

Afra has lost her sight so Nuri must lead her as they travel across Europe, their only beacon of hope is the knowledge that Mustafa, who has successfully made the same journey and is now teaching bee-keeping to refugees in Yorkshire, is waiting for them. Along the way they must confront not only their own loss but must also make the difficult journey back to each other.

This novel is certainly a book of our times, where civil war and migration seems to be constantly in the news. For that reason this is a relatively easy but uncomfortable read. Through the beauty of Afra's art and the author's depiction of the countryside of Syria readers are reminded that beauty is still present even in war torn countries. This is a story of darkness and light, of hope and horror, one that is both moving and beautifully written, and as such I would certainly recommend it. ( )
  PilgrimJess | Sep 12, 2020 |
My heart is breaking over this book. ( )
  foxandbooks | Aug 19, 2020 |
Visa 1-5 av 29 (nästa | visa alla)
Lefteri’s slow-building narrative rarely veers into sentimentality or overwhelming bleakness.
tillagd av gypsysmom | ändraTIME magazine, Naina Bajekal (Aug 22, 2019)
 
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For Dad
Also, for S
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
I am scared of my wife's eyes.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo--until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape. But what Afra has seen is so terrible she has gone blind, and so they must embark on a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece towards an uncertain future in Britain. As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls. Above all, they must journey to find each other again. Moving, powerful, and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo brings home the idea that the most ordinary of lives can be completely upended in unimaginable ways"--

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.17)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5 2
3 11
3.5 7
4 48
4.5 6
5 43

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 157,744,349 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig