HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Anguished English: An Anthology of…
Laddar...

Anguished English: An Anthology of Accidental Assaults upon Our Language (utgåvan 1989)

av Richard Lederer (Författare)

Serier: Anguished English (1)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1,0831413,731 (3.95)29
Anguished English is the impossibly funny anthology of accidental assaults upon our common language. From bloopers and blunders to Signs of the Times to Mixed-Up Metaphors . . . from Two-Headed Headlines to Mangling Modifiers . . . it's a collection that will leave you roaring with delight and laughter.… (mer)
Medlem:samsimoes
Titel:Anguished English: An Anthology of Accidental Assaults upon Our Language
Författare:Richard Lederer (Författare)
Info:Dell (1989), Edition: Reprint, 192 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verkdetaljer

Anguished English av Richard Lederer

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 29 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 14 (nästa | visa alla)
Wonderful discussion of the world of misusages
, typos and errors of English. I laughed out loud throughout the entire book. ( )
  LindaLeeJacobs | Feb 15, 2020 |
First published in 1987, Lederer chronicles the many and various ways in which the English language has been abused, misused and generally massacred. I first read it years ago but in the rereading now, I would say it holds up pretty well. There are parts that are truly laugh-out-loud hilarious. Some are familiar because they are famous (think Yogi Berra-isms); others are just plain priceless.

Want some examples?

From student bloopers in essays:
- (reversing a g and a q): "When a boy and a girl are deeply I love, there is no quilt felt between them."
- "In 1957, Eugene O'Neill won a Pullet Surprise"
- "Necessity is the mother of convention."
- "Writing at the same time as Shakespeare was Miguel Cervantes. He wrote Donkey Hote. The next great author was John Milton. Milton wrote Paradise Lost. Then his wife died and he wrote Paradise Regained."

From Modern Day Malapropisms:
- "He is a wealthy typhoon."
- "They call it PMS - Pre-Minstrel Syndrome."
- "I wish someone would make a decision around here. I am tired of just hanging around in libido."

From Mixed-up Metaphors:

- "I'm not going to be side-tracked into a tangent."
- "Let's hope that Steve Carlton gets his curve ball straightened out."
- "It's time to grab the bull by the tail and look it in the eye."

From Lost in Translation:

- "Our nylons cost more than common, but you'll find they are best in the long run"
- (sign in Majorcan shop entrance): "English well talking" and "Here Speeching American."

From Laffing at Misspellings:

- "Many people believe he was a Satin worshipper."
- "Today's special: barely soup"
- "Drop your ballet in the ballet box."

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I love stuff like this. I will admit to owning several other books by Lederer, who is nothing if not prolific, though goodness knows, there seems to be a never-ending supply of examples to draw from! ( )
  jessibud2 | May 16, 2018 |
Hilarious, and what's more, consistently hilarious. My high school English teacher and I bonded over this book. ( )
  satyridae | Apr 5, 2013 |
This is a FUNNY book. I've read it, over the years, a few times. ( )
  drmarymccormack | Jul 20, 2011 |
I first stumbled across this humorous little volume in the late 1980s (it was published in 1987), and it hasn't lost any of its humor since then. Lederer has gathered together a hilarious collection of misuses of the English language. The book is divided into sections -- Schoolishness, The Blunderful World of Bloopers, Inspired Gibberish, and Grammar Gaffes. The first deals with young students' mangling of words in school papers. The second features the kinds of errors or misuses that were popular on the talk shows with Jay Leno and David Letterman, where goof-ups from newspapers would be highlighted. The third section deals with misunderstand phrases or sayings, and seques into the bizarre kinds of misguided statements made by famed malapropters Samuel Goldwyn and Yogi Berra. The final section deals with common misspellings or incorrect definitions, and/or badly placed modifiers. Fans of books like Eats, Shoots and Leaves will enjoy this one, too! Lederer has come out with a whole series of language-inspired humor books, but most of those are very focused in nature. It was not until The Bride of Anguished English in 2000 that he returned to this more general format. Fun for any student of language or for anyone who is "whorrified" and the mis-use of the English language in today's publications and on the internet.

Originally reviewed for my local library's website: http://www.lincolnlibraries.org/depts/bookguide/srec/staffrec09-08.htm ( )
2 rösta cannellfan | Jan 16, 2011 |
Visa 1-5 av 14 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (1 möjlig)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Richard Ledererprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Thompson, BillIllustratörmedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
One of the fringe benefits of being an English or history teacher is receiving the occasional jewel of a student blooper in an essay or test paper.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På baksidan citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Anguished English is the impossibly funny anthology of accidental assaults upon our common language. From bloopers and blunders to Signs of the Times to Mixed-Up Metaphors . . . from Two-Headed Headlines to Mangling Modifiers . . . it's a collection that will leave you roaring with delight and laughter.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.95)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 11
2.5 3
3 28
3.5 8
4 60
4.5 4
5 54

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 157,879,176 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig