HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The 2084 Report: An Oral History of the…
Laddar...

The 2084 Report: An Oral History of the Great Warming (utgåvan 2020)

av James Lawrence Powell (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
353688,537 (3.3)Ingen/inga
"This vivid, terrifying, and galvanizing novel reveals our future world after previous generations failed to halt climate change-perfect for fans of The Drowned World and World War Z. 2084: Global warming has proven worse than even the direst predictions scientists had made at the turn of the century. No country-and no one-has remained unscathed. Through interviews with scientists, political leaders, and citizens around the globe, this riveting oral history describes in graphic detail the irreversible effects the Great Warming has had on humankind and the planet. In short chapters about topics like sea level rise, drought, migration, war, and more, The 2084 Report brings global warming to life, revealing a new reality in which Rotterdam doesn't exist, Phoenix has no electricity, and Canada is part of the United States. From wars over limited resources to the en masse migrations of entire countries and the rising suicide rate, the characters describe other issues they are confronting in the world they share with the next two generations. Simultaneously fascinating and frightening, The 2084 Report will inspire you to start conversations and take action"--… (mer)
Medlem:mulderg
Titel:The 2084 Report: An Oral History of the Great Warming
Författare:James Lawrence Powell (Författare)
Info:Atria Books (2020), Edition: Revised, Expanded, 240 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verksinformation

The 2084 Report: An Oral History of the Great Warming av James Lawrence Powell

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

Visar 3 av 3
I was ready to rate this book one star, but it earned an extra one by the end.

My biggest issue with it was that every chapter was written in exactly the same voice. This book was supposed to be interviews with many different characters, but they all read exactly the same. Another big issue was that it was completely centered around the US and I guess I just find that boring. The racialized characters didn't feel any different from the white characters and that didn't sit well. On top of that a racial slur was used repeatedly in one chapter and I thought that for a researcher and professor the author maybe would have considered how to write about a culture respectfully...

I do think this book could still be a tool to promote change around climate issues, but it could have been so much better. ( )
  munchie13 | Aug 11, 2022 |
This book is "fiction" but reads more like "nonfiction" with a reflection of the past and why things went very wrong. My guess is that most readers picking up this book are informed of the horrors of climate change: the effects of what happens when we run out of water, a possible war, additional forest fires, hurricanes and floods. It's sad to think about what can happen in the eyes of the author. The book has an outline of subjects that are easy to understand taken from someone interviewing people in the year 2084. Those living in the future wonder what happened and why there wasn't a greater priority for climate change in the world. It seems the author wrote a fiction book as no one is listening to the facts - hoping that more people will read it. That's what we all hope. And if we could fast forward in to the future, would we change things now? ( )
  Jacsun | Oct 5, 2021 |
This is a fictional oral history of our climate change future.

As science, it reads pretty well, though he uses (understandably) an extreme scenario. There were a couple of blips--why so much focus on the loss of hydropower for Phoenix and not a single mention of solar?--but largely good. As history, it's a little weaker, with some of the speculation feeling implausible, even within the constraints of speculative futures.

As fiction.... not so much. The author is a scientist, not a writer. It's cleanly written and compelling, but there isn't really a plot or characters to hang things together. The fictional interviews don't flow into each other, and the interviewees lack distinct voices for the most part.

**spoiler alert -- not that it really matters**
The ending, though, read as a nuclear power rah-rah, which was weird and a little jarring. ( )
  arosoff | Jul 11, 2021 |
Visar 3 av 3
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"This vivid, terrifying, and galvanizing novel reveals our future world after previous generations failed to halt climate change-perfect for fans of The Drowned World and World War Z. 2084: Global warming has proven worse than even the direst predictions scientists had made at the turn of the century. No country-and no one-has remained unscathed. Through interviews with scientists, political leaders, and citizens around the globe, this riveting oral history describes in graphic detail the irreversible effects the Great Warming has had on humankind and the planet. In short chapters about topics like sea level rise, drought, migration, war, and more, The 2084 Report brings global warming to life, revealing a new reality in which Rotterdam doesn't exist, Phoenix has no electricity, and Canada is part of the United States. From wars over limited resources to the en masse migrations of entire countries and the rising suicide rate, the characters describe other issues they are confronting in the world they share with the next two generations. Simultaneously fascinating and frightening, The 2084 Report will inspire you to start conversations and take action"--

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.3)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4 4
4.5 1
5

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 201,796,174 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig