HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The Appeal: The smash-hit bestseller av…
Laddar...

The Appeal: The smash-hit bestseller (utgåvan 2021)

av Janice Hallett (Författare)

Serier: Fairway Players (1)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1,0654419,380 (3.92)57
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER "[W]itty, original...a delight." --Th​e New York Times Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and "dazzlingly clever" (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child--but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect. The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play's star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival. But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment's efficacy--nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material--emails, messages, letters--with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered. A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a "daring...clever, and funny" (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.… (mer)
Medlem:cgard72
Titel:The Appeal: The smash-hit bestseller
Författare:Janice Hallett (Författare)
Info:Viper (2021), Edition: Main, 464 pages
Samlingar:Read, Lästa men inte ägda
Betyg:**
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verksinformation

The Appeal av Janice Hallett

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 57 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 42 (nästa | visa alla)
This is not your usual who-dun-it with buildup, murder, and fierce interviews. Instead, the reader reads the documents in the case, along with the investigators, who are commissioned to discover the real murderer after a person has been convicted. So we are in the same position as the investigators, complete with text messages between them and the appeals attorney (barrister? I forget), nudges to go back and read parts of the evidence, extra information as it arises, and some amazing characters. No 'live' dialog, no suspects in the same room, none of that, and yet completely captivating. The end is satisfying and then chilling. Highly recommended. ( )
1 rösta ffortsa | May 15, 2024 |
I had a lot of fun with this whodunnit, told exclusively through emails, text messages, transcripts, and other documents. Hallett does a great job developing her characters and giving the reader a real sense of them without relying on standard descriptions and interactions.

The story is slightly convoluted and I had a bit of an issue in the beginning keeping track of who was who, but it didn't take long to get it all sorted in my head. The novel focuses on a community theater group in a small English village; the leader of the group has a granddaughter recently diagnosed with cancer, and the community rallies around to raise money for a life-saving treatment. But something isn't right... And then one of the actors is killed... dun dun DUN! I won't say more because you deserve to experience the fun for yourself.

4 stars ( )
1 rösta katiekrug | Apr 29, 2024 |
This is a cozy mystery revolving around the Fairway Players Theater Group managed by Martin and Helen Hayward. They are very selective about who is allowed into their exclusive group of amateur actors. Each year they work on one play which they take very seriously demanding dedication from the group members. There is an eclectic cast of characters involved with these productions. This year they are working on All My Sons by Arthur Miller and have deemed it a fundraiser with the proceeds to benefit the Haywards' granddaughter, Poppy who has a rare form of cancer and eligible for experimental treatment.

Samantha Greenwood and her husband are new members to the group this year having returned from their volunteer work in Africa for the past 8 years. Isabel Beck is an interesting and needy player who finds an immediate connection with Samantha as she is also a nurse. There are many text messages and emails exchanged throughout the course of this book alternating between the characters which provide insight into their true motives as opposed to those which they want others to believe. Unfortunately, a dead body being found before rehearsals for opening night throws a wrench in the once tightly scheduled event. Alternating chapters have attorneys who have been assigned to gather information regarding the death are also emailing and texting furiously to determine who is responsible for this apparent crime.

There are many twists in the story to keep you guessing as well as some shady but humorous characters. ( )
1 rösta marquis784 | Mar 5, 2024 |
The best written epistolary mystery I've read! I feel like this format could get annoying very quickly, yet Hallett does such a strong job weaving everything together and creating a super intriguing cast of characters that it is easy to fall right into the story. I also think "The Appeal" is, at least partly, very solvable by the reader, which always bumps up a mystery rating for me. All in all, a very unique and engaging novel; I'm impressed that this is a debut and would love to read more from Hallett. ( )
1 rösta deborahee | Feb 23, 2024 |
3.75 stars. this was way more fun than it should have been. it's such a soap opera and gossip mill but i couldn't tear myself away, for probably more than 300 pages. the solving of the crime was actually way less fun for me, but everything up until then was just great. it's intricate and just so so clever. and more about relationships and family and class and the way insular communities work than about the mystery, actually. which was really fun for me.

i have always loved everything epistolary and epistolary adjacent and this is no exception. it does seem wild how many emails are sent that i would have thought would just be texts, but maybe i underuse email more than i realized. (although really making these texts would just make the book so much longer, so that's probably why it was done this way.) i don't think the structure of the lead lawyer withholding info and giving riddles for femi and charlotte to solve works, but i'm more than willing to put that aside for the fun of it all. this will be so fun to talk about in book group.

i love that "the appeal" is the courtroom appeal, not the fundraising appeal. just brilliant. i think femi realizing the truth, though, was a huge leap that didn't make sense to take. that wasn't something that works, in my opinion. but again, i'm not sure how much i care. the entire solving of the crime, the realizing helen's son didn't die of meningitis seemed to have no basis. so this isn't perfect, but it was otherwise so good that i can overlook something that normally would be pretty big. i thought she handled so many different voices and so many threads so well. there is a lot more going on here than at first glance, and she makes it seem effortless. this is really just so well done. ( )
  overlycriticalelisa | Jan 12, 2024 |
Visa 1-5 av 42 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For the Raglan Players
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Sandra, please deliver to Femi and Charlotte
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER "[W]itty, original...a delight." --Th​e New York Times Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and "dazzlingly clever" (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child--but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect. The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play's star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival. But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment's efficacy--nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material--emails, messages, letters--with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered. A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a "daring...clever, and funny" (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.92)
0.5 1
1 4
1.5
2 9
2.5 3
3 33
3.5 27
4 110
4.5 17
5 56

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 207,124,000 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig