HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Gearbreakers (Gearbreakers, 1) av Zoe Hana…
Laddar...

Gearbreakers (Gearbreakers, 1) (utgåvan 2022)

av Zoe Hana Mikuta (Författare)

Serier: Gearbreakers (1)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
342775,504 (3.45)2
Science Fiction. Science Fiction & Fantasy. Young Adult Fiction. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're fighting for a common purpose?and falling for each other?in Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown's Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu's Legend series. We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead... The shadow of Godolia's tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the people of the Badlands, who live under the thumb of their cruel Godolia overlords. Eris Shindanai is a Gearbreaker, a brash young rebel who specializes in taking down Windups from the inside. When one of her missions goes awry and she finds herself in a Godolia prison, Eris meets Sona Steelcrest, a cybernetically enhanced Windup pilot. At first Eris sees Sona as her mortal enemy, but Sona has a secret: She has intentionally infiltrated the Windup program to destroy Godolia from within. As the clock ticks down to their deadliest mission yet, a direct attack to end Godolia's reign once and for all, Eris and Sona grow closer?as comrades, friends, and perhaps something more... Praise for Gearbreakers: "An absolute joyride of a story set in a vivid, arresting world. Gearbreakers is sci-fi at its very finest, combining the grandeur of mecha fighting machines with the intimacy of (splendidly feral) found family. Zoe Hana Mikuta is a talent to be in awe of." ?Chloe Gong, New York Times-bestselling author of These Violent Delights.… (mer)
Medlem:KatieTheFae
Titel:Gearbreakers (Gearbreakers, 1)
Författare:Zoe Hana Mikuta (Författare)
Info:Square Fish (2022), 432 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek, Läser just nu
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verksinformation

Gearbreakers av Zoe Hana Mikuta

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 2 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 7 (nästa | visa alla)
"Gearbreakers" biggest strength is delivering on the "Pacific Rim"-style mechas and mecha fights that it promises; reading about these giant robot weapons provides a very cinematic reading experience. The cast of characters is a little too quickly introduced and somewhat too one-dimensional to really get attached to, except Eris and Sona, especially Sona. She really steals the show and feels like the most fully-realized of them all. She was interesting to read whether she was alone or in a group or being seen through another character's POV.

The main aspect that was lacking in this book was worldbuilding. We get a lot of names, vague explanations of past wars, skirmishes between countries, but nothing concrete that explains how Godolia came to be, or really how it operates. There's just this plot of "bad Academy/Godolia VS the rebels" that feels like the framework of a story rather than a fully fleshed-out book. The physical world felt empty too: all I could picture was a big blank map with the Academy at one end and the Hollows at the other. Because of the lack of worldbuilding things ended up feeling fairly low stakes, even through the climactic fight.

All in all a pretty fun read, and I'm tempted to read the sequel when it comes out. With just a little polishing on the writing and more worldbuilding I think the next book could really be a blast! ( )
  deborahee | Feb 23, 2024 |
Post-apocalyptic YA novel about a small group of resistance fighters living in the wastelands vs. the people in charge, who modify young people into living bots who can't feel pain and who pilot the giant mech that goes out to destroy the resistance. One of the pilot bots is a young woman who is secretly wanting to smash the system from the inside, and when she helps another young woman, who's been captured as a resistance fighter, to escape, they form an unlikely partnership to bring down the mech and the whole ruling establishment. They've been trained their whole lives to hate each other, but something stronger keeps pulling them toward one another.

A Juliet and Juliet story set amongst a group of excellent characters and an interesting plot. This one ends on a cliffhanger, so be prepared to want the second book right away. ( )
  electrascaife | Oct 19, 2022 |
DNF'D. Overly dramatic prose. ( )
  awesomejen2 | Jun 21, 2022 |
No worldbuilding, flat characters, no plot to speak of. ( )
  Dairyqueen84 | Mar 15, 2022 |
teen sci-fi (leader of rebellion falls in love with the beautiful cyborg trained by her enemy; with giant mecha battles and a found family of misfit rebels)

tons of action/fighting scenes, but also a surprising amount of lovesick pining, with a cliff-hanger ending in which the two women are parted (but expected to reunite in the next book). I'm not a huge fan of either of those things, but I did appreciate the diversity (queer reps, an Asian protagonist) and I do think others would enjoy it.

I'm not a fan of the ending, especially since Eris would have KNOWN FROM EXPERIENCE that the enemy's recapture of Sona would result in her "corruption" and torture (especially since she spent the last hundred pages pining after her), but the whole world in which they inhabit is pretty dark--unending war, servitude, inhumane treatment, abuses of power, and conditions which would validate a massacre in the capital city. ( )
  reader1009 | Aug 24, 2021 |
Visa 1-5 av 7 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
To the reckless, lovestruck kids. (The former may be lethal, but the latter makes it worth it.)
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
It makes sense that, when the times were desperate enough, when the people were frenzied enough, at a certain point we went past praying to deities and started to build them instead.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Science Fiction. Science Fiction & Fantasy. Young Adult Fiction. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're fighting for a common purpose?and falling for each other?in Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown's Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu's Legend series. We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead... The shadow of Godolia's tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the people of the Badlands, who live under the thumb of their cruel Godolia overlords. Eris Shindanai is a Gearbreaker, a brash young rebel who specializes in taking down Windups from the inside. When one of her missions goes awry and she finds herself in a Godolia prison, Eris meets Sona Steelcrest, a cybernetically enhanced Windup pilot. At first Eris sees Sona as her mortal enemy, but Sona has a secret: She has intentionally infiltrated the Windup program to destroy Godolia from within. As the clock ticks down to their deadliest mission yet, a direct attack to end Godolia's reign once and for all, Eris and Sona grow closer?as comrades, friends, and perhaps something more... Praise for Gearbreakers: "An absolute joyride of a story set in a vivid, arresting world. Gearbreakers is sci-fi at its very finest, combining the grandeur of mecha fighting machines with the intimacy of (splendidly feral) found family. Zoe Hana Mikuta is a talent to be in awe of." ?Chloe Gong, New York Times-bestselling author of These Violent Delights.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.45)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 4
2.5 1
3 3
3.5
4 8
4.5
5 4

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 204,175,115 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig